We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modera to your Saves list
Hotel Modera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park for $1!
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed one night at the Hotel Modera. Really loved it. Very nice lobby, great room, comfortable beds, great TV, good breakfast. No complaints here. Great value and in a good location for walking around the downtown area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, comfort and value
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    356
    105
    32
    14
See reviews for
181
545
121
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

Very new property with spotless room. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever stayed in. Staff very helpful and most accommodating. Breakfast not the best, but I'm not really a breakfast guy anyway. Could not have been happier, especially given the price for such a nice, modern, clean hotel.

  • Liked — Modern, clean, great colors, bed
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

This hotel is a jewel in Portland. It takes you away to another place. You feel from the moment you enter like you have walked into a hotel in Paris or London.The lobby is chic and so elegant yet so inviting. You just want to sit there and enjoy the moment.The staff is extremely friendly and professional, from the doorman to the valet to the front counter. Free computers and internet in the lobby. The rooms are spectacular! Refreshing soothing warm colors. The fur blanket adds a nice touch. The hotel has a courtyard with several open fireplaces and chairs around where we sat and got warm and had brillant conversations. Their complimentary European breakfast was delicious, fresh fruits, pastry, meats and cheese's and several different cold and hot beverages among other things that made this a great value.I would most definately stay here again.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

My recent stay (Dec 1-5) was for business, but every spare moment I spent at the hotel was fun and relaxing.

The atmosphere is fantastic and the beds very comfortable. The hotel is perfectly situated in the downtown area - I loved being close to the 24-Hour Fitness and nice restaurants/grocery shops and parks.

The staff, both at the desk and the valet attendants are extremely nice and welcoming!

  • Liked — The atmosphere/decor
  • Disliked — I would have liked a microwave along with the fridge provided.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia WA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

A beautifully appointed, wonderfully modern hotel in the University District with a super friendly and helpful staff. Loved the fur throw on the bed, sensational art on the walls, and quiet location within walking distance of the tram and lots of interesting stuff to see and do. They definitely pay attention to detail in their decor and amenities. The only things we were less than thrilled with were the music in the lobby and breakfast room, very annoying Muzak kind of sound, and the kind of a blah space where breakfast was served. It's just not up to the same level of fashionable decor that's found in the rest of the hotel. The breakfast buffet however was a plentiful and offered a yummy selection of items compared to other hotels I've stayed in recently. We'll definitely recommend this place to friends and return in the future ourselves.

  • Liked — beautiful decor, immaculately clean
  • Disliked — annoying music in lobby and breakfast room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

My boyfriend and I decided to do an improptu visit to Portland on our way home from Thanksgiving in Cali...Couldn't find a hotel anywhere that seemed close to all, without being too expensive. We accidentally came upon the Modera. By the look of it, we assumed it would be too expensive as well, but were surprised at the reasonable price (especially on a holiday weekend!)

The lobby, outside fire pits, and rooms were cozy, had personality, and were quite chic!

The staff was more than accomodating and helpful in directing us to restaurants and bars that were more our style, rather than tourist traps.

As long as the prices stay reasonable, I would probably not stay anywhere else while in Portland.

  • Liked — Service and coziness!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

Two friends and I spent a wonderful weekend in Portland at the Modera. It has been completely transformed from the previous venue into a thoroughly modern, well appointed and delightful botique hotel.

The service personnel at every level were helpful (beyond the norm), professional and courteous. They went out of their way to meet our needs and answered many questions without the slightest sense of being inconvenienced or just tolerant.

The room appointments far exceed those of most other Portland hotel accommodations. The beds are the best. The access to cyber connecting is abundant. The complimentary 'European' breakfast is diverse and the dining area is provided with free newspapers, low background music and no annoying television. It is a lovely place to converse about the day past and ahead. There is a spa though we didn't use it.

The hotel is in a perfect location, 2 blocks from the trolly, 2 blocks from the opera house, 2 blocks from major bus routes, easy walking to the art museum, the performing arts center, and to Pioneer Square and the light rail system. It is almost next door to PSU.

The staff continued to be helpful even after we had gotten home and were interested in finding out more about various products we had enjoyed.

I recommend it without hesitation and am looking forward to my next stay at the Modera.

  • Liked — the personnel, the bed, the ambiance and the location
  • Disliked — the modern clock radio we could never figure out and the closet door
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include free wireless, passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, LCD TVs with HD premium channels, mini refrigerator, made-to-order amenity basket, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.