We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice affordable hotel in downtown Portland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modera to your Saves list
Hotel Modera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park for $1!
Ranked #21 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice affordable hotel in downtown Portland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Hotel Modera is a nice hotel located in a central area in Portland. It was very easy to get to on public transportation, and has modern decor. The front desk service was great, we were given a map with nearby attractions as soon as we checked in. Our standard room was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and it was quiet at night. The hotel also had a restaurant, which we didn't eat at but had drinks there. There is also outdoor firepits, which were great on a dry, chilly evening in March. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    366
    111
    34
    14
See reviews for
182
560
124
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a nice hotel located fairly close to downtown with a good restaurant. It would be a perfect location for anyone having business at Portland State University, but it is also convenient to the art museum and Pioneer Square. Valet parking is expensive so we used a garage about a block away. The rooms are small, but comfortable and nicely furnished. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: quieter on the courtyard side but there is some noise from the outdoor restaurant area --
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed in the hotel as a solo traveler who booked the room through a name your price bid. Overall the stay at the hotel was very good. My room was a bit banged up but not in horrible condition. I was given a handicapped room which made for a unique bathroom which was basically a stall-less shower. The hotel was at near full capacity so I stayed with my room especially since I had gotten it at a reduced rate through a bid. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. All of their suggestions were good and useful. Parking through the valet while easy was pricey at $30 a night. I opted to park in a garage nearby for $20 a night. Granted, not a huge savings but it added up after five nights and the stroll back to my room was easy and safe. The location is good and fairly central. It does seem to be a tiny bit south of the main flow of the SW downtown but not by much and it is very close to stops for both the streetcar and light rail. Overall I had a good experience. The pics you see with the fire pits are actually part of the hotel restaurant and not the hotel itself. They are visible from the lobby and you can sit in the area across from them but there is a glass divider between. The wifi at the hotel was free, not secure but worked fairly well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We booked this hotel for its location in Portland and were very happy with our choice. We went to Portland for a reunion of sorts with former co-workers and were happy with our choice. There room was quiet for a large city hotel and was clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and accommodating as well,
We ate in the onsite restaurant and for the most part we happy with our choice, The only glitch was diner service as a result of having a "newby" waiter who had not been given sufficient training. But I would fault the restaurant management not the waiter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I cant believe the extreme of both good and bad I experienced in this hotel.

Amazingly gifted front desk staff-helpful and accomodating; I really loved the concierge named Johnny really would have garnered 5 -stars for his brilliance.

Then you are forced to deal with the restaurant., something that couldnt be a bigger nightmare!! Over-priced terrible food and the worst wait staff I have ever met. Other patrons in the bar starting fights with the rest of hotel guests for no reason. I have never seen anything like this in any city in my life!!!! So much drama just for some food that is only "meh" with 30.00 price tags per each course. One of the biggest rip- offs and wanna- be places in all of Portland. I wish this hotel could separate from the restaurant which is a complete disastrous mess. Not fair for the front desk clerks, amazing hotel staff and similar to suffer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room for the small upgrade fee....more like an apartment than a hotel room for just a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel has a great parking garage (valet parking) and is located near other parking garages if you don't mind a short walk. Its also about 300 feet from the Max stop, so you can get anywhere you want! The restaurant thats on location has a great menu and a very good happy hour. We stayed here for the Cher concert and it was fabulous! The staff are nice, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Good location, good room, genuinely helpful staff, excellent bar and restaurant area.
The very helpful, but unimposing staff, is a clear standout for this hotel.
The outdoor patio and bar area are very pleasant to be in.
We, a family of four, were all very impressed. Clear winner of all the hotels we stayed in for a week long travel around Oregon and a bit of Washington. If we were to go back to Portland, that's the hotel we would stay in, no question about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include free wireless, passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, LCD TVs with HD premium channels, mini refrigerator, made-to-order amenity basket, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.