We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modera to your Saves list
Hotel Modera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very nice hotel! Clean, new, and very modern. Room was very comfortable. Excellent service and friendly employees. Nice bar/restaurant (Nel Centro) attached with fire pit outside. Easy to walk to restaurants. Public transportation close. When we go back to Portland, we'll stay here again. Mahalo!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    391
    126
    41
    15
See reviews for
199
599
128
325
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This review of the Hotel Modera is a little overdue as it's my favorite hotel when my partner and I come to town to run in the Portland Marathon. The last time we stayed at the Hotel Modera was October, 2012, but we choose Hotel Modera every time we visit Portland. It's a perfect Marathon hotel (close to the Marathon Expo in a generic high rise hotel close to the Modera) and close to the start and finish of the Marathon. It's also a perfect hotel for exploring Portland...walking distance to Portland State (which has certainly changed since I graduated from there 25 years ago!), Downtown, Powell's Bookstore, The Pearl, the Food Trucks, Old Town and two blocks away from the MAX. If you're driving, the Modera is centrally located to all the freeways so you can access fun stuff in the Portland area. Super friendly staff, great lobby and room decor and the restaurant and bar on site is delicious. We'll be back for the Marathon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Modera and thank you for taking the time to review your stay! No excellent review is ever overdue! I am thrilled you found our location convenient and our staff friendly. We hope to have you with us again for the next Marathon!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our first visit to Hotel Modera. We have stayed at Hotel Andra in Seattle and loved it and Modera did not disappoint! We upgraded to a suite and it was perfect. Gorgeous views of the city, close to the Keller Auditorium. We had dinner at Morton's Steakhouse and enjoyed dessert and cocktails fireside at Nel Centro to wind down the evening. All of the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, especially Brenden at the front desk! It was a perfect in town getaway! We will visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just spent 3 nights in this classy boutique hotel in downtown Portland. Loved the ambiance and very polite and helpful staff. The central location with easy access to the trolley/MET and bus just 2 minutes away made our stay fun. They had a lovely restaurant in the hotel (Nel Centro), and a pretty outside patio for drinks with fire pit going. Unfortunately, it rained the 3 nights we were there, but the fire was still going. And the bed was so comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent review of your stay with us! I am pleased to hear that you were able to dine at Nel Centro and you found your guestroom comfortable! We look forward to having you with us again on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the fourth time we've stayed at the Modera, and each time we have liked it more and more. The decor is modern and creative, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the amenities are excellent. But what makes the Modera exceptional is the attitude and friendliness of the staff. They are unfailingly helpful and generous with their time and efforts. On this trip we ended up returning to the hotel for about 5 hours later in the day we had checked out because our flight was canceled. The staff held our bags while we got lunch, they gave us passes to the health club down the street so we could use the facilities, and they checked in with us hour after hour while we were reading in the lobby to be sure we didn't need anything additional. With service like that we'll be sure to stay at the Modera any time we're in Portland!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and again! I am thrilled to hear that we continue to impress you and thankful you have taken the time to review our Hotel! We look forward to having you with us again!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everyone at reception and the valet was very friendly and helpful. It was nice having everyone greet you and just be nice every time you came into or left the lobby. The location was a bit far from sites than other hotels I saw. But, what you get is a nice boutique hotel that's clean and comfortable with a cool firepit outside where you could sit and have drinks and appetizers. It was pretty crowded when we arrived with guests mostly in their 20s/early 30s. I sometimes heard people from our room, but nothing that prevented me from getting sleep. The room tho, is on the smaller side including the bathroom. It's also really dark with just one bedside lamp (only one bedside table in the room), a desk lamp and one small ceiling light outside the bathroom.

My one gripe about the place is housekeeping takes a long time to get to your room. We were out from 10am - after 2pm and when we went back to the room at 3, the room was still unmade. It would have been nice to have a towel handy but I already put them on the tub to be cleaned. When we left close to 3:30pm again, they were still working on other rooms down the hall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're weary of the same old business hotel vibe, this is a great alternative in Portland. The facilities are very good, the location is convenient to World Trade Center and other downtown business destinations, and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

The restaurant is also very good - you're not settling for "not great but at least convenient" cuisine like you find in many hotel restaurants. The hotel does not have onsite fitness facilities, but there's a 24Hour Fitness right around the block that provides much much more than any hotel, and hotel guests enjoy free passes to use this fitness location.

I'd stay here again for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, beware the rooms that are above the outdoor patio/dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland! It is with pleasure to hear that you found our staff helpful and friendly and Nel Centro to your liking! Come back soon!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#10 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
#31 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include free wireless, passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, LCD TVs with HD premium channels, mini refrigerator, made-to-order amenity basket, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.