We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at Hotel Modera” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modera to your Saves list
Hotel Modera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park for $1!
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
“My Stay at Hotel Modera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at your hotel for over two weeks, March 25-April 10.The beds and bedding were especially comfortable.The staff was very friendly and responded quickly to my every request. My only disappointment was my lack of a view.I had especially asked for a view when I booked my stay.My view was of the parking garage across the street.Overall,I felt very pampered and I do look forward to going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    357
    105
    32
    14
See reviews for
181
546
121
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I wanted to treat ourselves and stay in an upscale boutique hotel for the first time, and this was a fantastic choice. The concierge and front desk staff were excellent. The lounge and patio were lovely and had great happy hour deals (like everywhere else in Portland). We loved relaxing outside by the fire with a beer after a day of sightseeing. The valet parking seemed a bit pricey, but it was so convenient to park our car at the hotel when we arrived and leave it parked the whole time we were there. Everything we wanted to do and see was in walking distance from the hotel. The room was small but very clean and very well appointed. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I'm a former Portland resident and I go back a couple times a year for work and/or pleasure. I've stayed at Hotel Modera a few times and I think that it's a great place for the cost. The staff really is exceptionally nice and helpful and the space is very stylish. It's easy walking distance from all the happenings downtown but removed enough that you get to go to bed at a smaller hotel in a relatively quiet neighborhood. The rooms are small and there's no gym on the property. I give the restaurant a good++ in a town with a lot of great food options. If you want a crazy level of luxury closer to the center of everything, the Nines is a better choice but you'll pay 2-3x as much. If you have a car and don't want to pay the valet charge, ask the front desk staff and they can tell you about parking options close to the hotel that are less expensive and just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Garden side has pretty view of fire pits on bar patio but can be noisy on weekends. Choose a City V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

...so some of the amenities were missing. Good reason to book directly instead of with a third party! Nonetheless, comfy beds and a great stay. Good value, too. The front desk staff were hugely helpful, provided some great recommendations in the neighborhood, and attitude-less. Nice. The adjacent restaurant patio was great for Happy Hour with fire pits to take the chill off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Dear Hotel Modera:

The staff at your hotel was hands-down composed of the most efficient, friendly, welcoming, and knowledgeable individuals we've ever encountered at any hotel or inn. The professionalism was beyond compare, and they each went out of their way to ensure that our first-time stay in Oregon was one that we can brag to friends for a long time to come.

Among the staff, Brennon particularly stood out to us as someone we wished we could place in each of the hotels we visit. When we blindly inquired about wine tours, not only did Brennon find out the best-rated ones for us, after asking what kinds of wines we were interested in/regions we wanted to visit, Brennon made several calls to obtain more information from the tour, handled the back and forth transactions, and reported back several times to us (once while we were eating lunch outside the hotel) to let us know the details of the tour in order to make an informed decision. There was no pushing or impatience, no general "here's a wine tour" cookie-cutter approach; Brennon was careful to listen to what we liked and what we were looking for. The tour turned out to be a great experience. Furthermore, Brennon followed up with us the very next day to ask what we thought about the tour, in order to "make sure [he] was recommending the right tour" for future guests in light of our feedback. This kind of meticulous hotel servicing style struck us as rare and ought to be followed by any hotel that takes themselves seriously.

Hotel Modera was a huge part of the reason our first visit to Portland was spectacular, and as it was part of my 30th birthday present to a special person, it made me look pretty good, too. Thank you greatly for providing such first-rate take care of us.

Sincerely,
Two of many happy visitors

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amerikaner im Schweiz
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

First rate accommodations, comfortable Ed, ingenious closet storage and functional but small bathroom. Beautiful furnishings. Very quiet at night, but building engineering and housekeeping staffs can be readily heard through thin walls. Regardless, at night the place is as quiet as the inside of an empty cathedral. No city noise, either, creeps through the picture windows, even facing a busy downtown boulevard. Nel Centro, just off the beautiful lobby, is an added plus and an excellent restaurant.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I’m very happy to hear you found our accommodations to be comfortable and quiet. I’m also happy to hear you found the onsite restaurant, Nel Centro, also to your liking. Thank you for reviewing your stay. We hope to have you again soon.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a garden view room and it was very enjoyable. The staff was friendly and always asked if we needed any assistance. I'm not sure about the city view rooms but I know the garden view was pleasant to look at and the noise level was minimal (even with the restaurant only 3 floors below). Public transit was near by, we never had to walk more than a couple blocks to find the bus/streetcar/Max services we needed (buses and streetcar are right out front). The only criticism I offer is the $27/night parking. While we did not have a vehicle, it did persuade me not to get a rental car for half our trip because of the parking fee. It does have free valet though, so maybe those that do have a car will appreciate that. We also ordered breakfast room service from the hotel restaurant, Nel Centro and it was tasty and added to the experience at this hotel. I would stay again and recommend to friends.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#19 Business Hotel in Portland
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include free wireless, passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, LCD TVs with HD premium channels, mini refrigerator, made-to-order amenity basket, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.