We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modera to your Saves list
Hotel Modera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park for $1!
Ranked #19 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

A really lovely hotel.......very friendly service, not smarmy, just really friendly and helpful. The beds were so comfortable......we want to buy one. Easy to walk to the river and downtown shops and restaurants. The room has everything you need and I would definitely stay here again. We used the gym which is a block away when we arrived and my husband went back there in the morning to use the two lane lap poll which thankfully was quiet and he had a great swim. We had a night cap in the courtyard by the fire pits which was also very pleasant. Well done to all the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were up on the 5th floor but they may well all be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    356
    105
    32
    14
See reviews for
181
545
121
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermiston, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

3 years ago my husband had a long hospital stay and surgery at OHSU. I stayed in about 5 downtown hotels. The Modera was the place I finally landed after problems at the other places. I have stayed there about 4 times since then. The latest visit was March 3, 2013. The staff is wonderful! They are thoughtful, attentive, patient and kind. I have been there during some really stressful times and they have gone way beyond normal service to accom0
date my requests. The location is great, walking around downtown is always so interesting. Shopping is close, other restaraunts nearby, shows, theaters---really everything! Their restaurant is very good. They also give a hospital discount if you are there for that reason. I highly recommend Hotel Modera!

Room Tip: If you need a lot of sleep--you should ask for a room that is not one the side of the outdoor patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent stay in Portland. I’m sorry to hear it wasyou’re your husband’s necessary medical procedures, but am pleased that Hotel Modera was comfortable and accommodating during that time. We look forward to having you again on your next trip to Portland. Hopefully your next trip will be for leisure!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My girls and I went to Portland for four days and stayed at this modern, hipster joint (got a great deal through an online coupon site).
First we were greeted by the valets (Otto and Mustache), who were very friendly, helpful and super fun...something three girls looking for a good time in the city want (good time is relative...we are all married with kids, so it is a soccer mom good time...only slight debauchery). Our room was clean, great city view and comfortable beds. Loved the shower. Nice big rainfall-type shower head and lots of hot water. Honestly, we only slept and got ready in the room. Otherwise we were on the go! But this was a great place to use as home base.
We did visit the fire pits outside in the restaurant/bar and had happy hour drink and food specials that were outstanding. Nice atmosphere and yummy food and drinks. We also enjoyed Sunday brunch in the restaurant...so much so that we almost missed our flight home because we were being leisurely.
Bottom line is that we would all stay in this hotel again and were very happy with our choice. Close enough to Old Town to walk and far enough away to miss the riff raff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My work always puts us in Hilton properties, which while nice are all the exact same and lack any personality. This time I booked myself at the Modera which was actually cheaper than the Hilton in Portland, and I am so glad I did. The location was awesome, I had many chances to walk around the city and explore. My room was a little small, but it was just me and my king bed, so it was OK. I was actually sick one day and it was raining outside so I really enjoyed wrapping myself up in one of their comfy robes, snuggling up under their super soft blankets and sinking into their bed with all those pillows. It was a treat. Their restaurant/bar downstairs was full every night and they had nice happy hour specials. Everyone seemed to rave about the food, but I just had their beer specials and it was great. I just really enjoyed my stay here and was glad I switched away from the typical business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on a recent trip to Portland. I’m happy to hear you went against the grain and tried our property instead of the local Hilton. I’m glad you found your guestroom comfortable and Nel Centro happy hour to your liking. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My friend and I headed to Portland for the weekend and decided to give this place a try after reading all the good reviews. We were not disappointed. The service at the front desk and dining room were fantastic. Our room was small but reasonably priced, clean, and stylish. And don't get me started on the robes, so comfy! Also, the happy hour menu was delicious and affordable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I’m very happy to hear you found the staff exceptional, your room clean and stylish, and happy hour to your liking! Come back soon!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

has the feel of a posh niche hotel - modern, funky, new...
i was there for business - very convenient location of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and the room comfortable and a great place for a quite night sleep.
it's a good $40 for a taxi to the airport, that was the only downside..

Room Tip: downtown hotel, so the higher up the room the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I enjoy trying "hip and trendy" boutique hotels. I just find them to be more fun and especially enjoy for business travel.

Saw the extremely high ratings on TA for Hotel Modera as well as the very attractive room rates. Pictures of the property looked attractive so I booked for a 3 night stay this week. Just returned.

Review - extremely mixed but overall I probably will not return. Clearly a renovated older building in a predominately office area part of town.

Positives :

1. Very attractive lobby area.
2. Outdoor seating area - with multiple fireplaces and expansive seating. Just fun.
3. Very good restaurant.
4. Free Wi-Fi
5. Gracious and friendly employees.

Negatives :

1. Rooms - pretty unexciting and not very well maintained (cleanliness and condition of furniture).
2. Totally inadequate lighting - one large lamp with low output bulb, one small desk lamp with small range output and small, funky wall lights near bed headboard. VERY uncomfortable lighting feel and totally useless to work by.
3. Small armoire crammed with coffee maker, robes and ironing board - leaving VERY little room to hang clothes. 2 small drawers in a nightstand was the only other real clothes storage area.
4. The work center is simply a cheezy power strip screwed to the end of the desk - ALL other electrical outlets in room are hidden behind beds or furniture and already overloaded. Just very inadequate.
5. Location - if you get hungry and don't want to go to the hotel restaurant - good luck. You are in a part of town that you can walk for blocks and all you can see are eating establishments located in office buildings that closed at 6PM. I had to walk 6-7 blocks to find a Starbucks open at 8PM and managed to find the last sandwich for the evening. This is definitely not the "happening" end of town after dark.

Too bad. This hotel has potential - but I think management stopped at the lobby amenities. Could be more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland. I am deeply upset that you left feeling that we did not meet your expectations. I am surprised you mention that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guestroom. We take room cleanliness very seriously and hold our housekeeping staff to very high standards.

By the way that you describe your room, I assume you were in one of our wheel chair accessible rooms, as I am familiar with the way you described the room layout. While we did our best to make this room series as well appointed as we could, but we are aware of our limitations and that space in this room was something we tried our best to maximize while retaining the wheel chair accessible functionality.

I hope that you might give us another try on your next trip to Portland. Please contact me directly as I would like to be sure you are well taken care of.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503.484.1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#17 Business Hotel in Portland
#26 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include free wireless, passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, LCD TVs with HD premium channels, mini refrigerator, made-to-order amenity basket, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.