We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Modera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Modera to your Saves list
Hotel Modera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park for $1!
Ranked #17 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

In the heart of downtown Portland, the Hotel Modera is a comfortable hotel with nice amenities. The rooms are note huge but efficiently designed, comfortable, and well appointed. The rooms and the hotel are very clean! The food is delicous and their outdoor patio with oversized gas fire pits is a fun way to dine and visit. I've stayed at this hotel several times, for work and pleasure, and have always been impressed.

Room Tip: I've stayed on the court side and the "city view" side. I preferred the city view sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with Hotel Modera on your recent trip to Portland and thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to hear you found your guestroom comfortable and well appointed. We try to provide a luxurious and accommodating experience and I’m happy to hear you were impressed. Come back soon!

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    353
    100
    32
    13
See reviews for
177
541
121
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Room was small but beautifully appointed. High end finishes in bath. Guest services staff were so pleasant and helpful. Onsite parking was a bit pricey, but oh so convenient. Didn't have to get wet in the Portland rain. However you can walk to just about everything downtown or take public transportation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came for 4 nights for a conference - very comfortable beds (almost TOO soft), with the most amazing blackout curtains - pitch dark at 9AM! But it IS a city hotel and gets noisy around 6:30AM. The bathroom is nice and modern, but the floor is marble and gets VERY cold.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Yeah, it is what you think when I say "thin walls". I heard my newlywed friends next door. I was woken by the sound of someone using the bathroom above us at 3am. And the people to the other side of us had a great time laughing till about 2 am.
The decor was nice. The lobby was small and cold. Chairs were unconfortable. No complimentary coffee in the lobby at all - and the kitchen didn't open until 8am. Fine I suppose if your not an early riser. I was bummed. Big heavy door for the bathroom which doubles as a cloths closet door. Cool but strange. It's a nice location but not great.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you dont want people to hear you and your romantic escapades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Modera_GM, General Manager at Hotel Modera, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Modera. I am sorry to hear you encountered some noise transference during your stay. While we did our best to sound proof our guest rooms during renovation, beyond the fact that they are concrete, some noises may be heard depending on the persons or things making the noise. It was brought to my attention upon reading the Manager Report the morning after this event, that you had notified the front desk of your amorous neighbors, but declined both a room move and declined our offer to ask them to quiet down. Had you accepted either of these offers, your experience with noise transference would’ve been resolved.

Again I apologize you did not have the most restful sleep while you were with us. This is not usually the case and I would like to encourage you to give us another try.

Best Regards,
Desmond Mollendor
General Manager
503-484-1084
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield OR
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've stayed at the Modera at least 3 or 4 times. Nicely located in downtown SW Portland within walking distance of The Pearl the NW and much of downtown. The hotel has been nicely updated from its undoubtedly dowdy 1960's origins of small rooms and a boxy dormlike shape of an L-shaped building with flat roof. The rooms are still small, of course, but they have top-of-the-line very comfy pillow top king beds (or queens), and a nicely appointed bathroom, albeit with a regular old-fashioned tub-shower. You of course get free wi-fi and high-speed internet, and a flat-screen TV. The discount package with $10 per night valet parking was a draw as well.

Negatives are street noise (especially from the city king rooms), tons of outside night lighting you can't shut out unless you close all the curtains. At which point you have no outside ventilation and the room is bound to be hot and stuffy, especially in the fall/winter when you can't run air-conditioning, only heat. The only opening window (an awning window) was on the pillow side of our bed, so the outside lighting was in our eyes all night as we kept the window uncovered to let in air. Definitely disturbed my sleep. A hotel engineer came at 10:30 pm to give us an electric fan to circulate the cool air inside do the temperature would drop below 70 degrees. I like a cool (below 60) dark room for sleeping so these are strong negatives. However, better choices in downtown Portland are few.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the opening window at the bottom end of the bed, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I bought my daughter a room at the modera. She went with a friend and had such a great time! She sent pictures of them out by the fireplace at night. It was gorgeous. She loved the hotel enough that she even took another friend back to stay.Although I didn't personally stay there, I heard wonderful things about it from Felecia. She is finincky when it comes to nice places to stay.
She loves the special "touches" and little extra details that make a place special enough to stand out, AND go back to. My daughter is 27 and had a wonderful stay...twice!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Second time at the Hotel Modera and it continues to be an excellent choice for a stay in Portland. Modera is located just 3 blocks from the Keller Auditorium so you can walk to the Opera, about 5 blocks from Portland State University so you can walk to the large and delightful Portland Farmer's market on Saturdays, 4 blocks to the performing arts complex if you are staying overnight for a concert. The Max ( light rail train) is directly in front of the hotel and the streetcar stop is about 5 blocks away.
Modera is a reconstruction of an aging motel (travelodge?) and you won't believe the difference in atmosphere and quality. The lobby has an attractive nude painting ( but uncomfortable chairs) and opens onto a courtyard with firepits for evening drinks. The restaurant ( Nel Centro) has good food from the italian riviera and an a great happy hour selection including authentic thin crust pizza. Live jazz on weekend nights until 11:30pm.
We found the room to be quiet and comfortable with marble bathroom , extra pillows, and cozy bed. There is a massive ( not large, heavy) sliding door which doubles as the bathroom and closet door. So you can access one or the other at a time, which is a little awkward when you have two people in the room.
I recommend you check the hotel web site. They often have specials which give discounts on parking or room upgrades.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Modera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modera

Address: 515 SW Clay St, Portland, OR 97201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#17 Business Hotel in Portland
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Modera 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are indulged with the softest linen, down blankets and a luxurious pillow top mattress. Our desk includes outlets that are easily accessible with a comfortable leather desk chair. Tarocco bath products are formulated with Sicilian Red Oranges. Amenities include free wireless, passes to 24 Hour Fitness, iPod docking stereo, LCD TVs with HD premium channels, mini refrigerator, made-to-order amenity basket, and an in-room safe big enough to accommodate a full size laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Modera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modera Hotel Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Modera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.