We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the pretzel & cheese - you won't regret it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deschutes Brewery

Deschutes Brewery
210 NW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97209-2929
+1 503-296-4906
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 3,282 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fusing a distinct Northwest and classic Scottish Pub feel, this Pearl District destination has become a convivial gathering spot of beer and food lovers since its 2008 opening. The brew pub's 18 taps feature Deschutes mainstays plus a selection of seasonal and experimental beers developed and brewed on site exclusively for the Portland pub by brewer Ben Kehs. Executive Chef Jill Ramseier heads the kitchen team, crafting classic pub food taken to the next level. Jill matches our brewer's passion, creating dishes from scratch with the best possible local ingredients.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Get the pretzel & cheese - you won't regret it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A wide variety of beers to try and enjoy. But the real star of our meal was the buttery soft pretzel and cheese for dipping! I only wish we'd gone back for a 2nd one before our trip ended. SO GOOD!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    331
    80
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“For brew lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very busy, somewhat touristy oversized brewpub with great service, good food and an awesome tap. Staff hustles and amps the great vibe. Evvvveryybody Happy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food and Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went for a Pint after doing Powells Books with family, and enjoyed it so much went back for dinner.
Wife says Pear and Goats Cheese Pizza was a delight.
Teenage kids were welcome.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Late night save!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Why do all the restaurants in Portland close before 9:00 p.m.?

Deschutes was a last-ditch effort to eat dinner, but not a disappointment in the end. The special gluten-free menu (including a grilled cheese for adults) thrilled half our table. The few vegetarian options could be made vegan for the other diners. Taste was excellent. Speed was great. Wine list was lovely with many Oregon choices.

Service was fast and friendly even with a 10-minute wait. It is a big space, a mix of crowd, but mostly young on a Saturday night. Patio seating is available as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“All our meals we so good we split them up and shared!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stumbled into Deschutes Brewery after visiting REI in downtown Portland. There were 3 separate meals: the mac and cheese, the brewery burger and the grilled cheese. They were all so delicious we broke them up and shared. We have been to the Bend Deschutes Brewery pub too and it is also excellent. We will definitely be bringing friends/family/out of town guests here!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deschutes Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Deschutes Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deschutes Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.