We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I feel like I'm in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Umbria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Caffe Umbria
303 Northwest 12th Avenue, Portland, OR 97209 (Pearl)
(503) 241-5300
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 3,560 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Neighborhood: Pearl
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Pearl
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“I feel like I'm in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Some of the best coffee in the city. The interior is very similar to what you'd find in northern Italy. Also their is usually someone speaking Italian off in the background.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Simple Menu & Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

In the busy Pearl District, this gem of a cafe is lively but somehow peaceful and calming. Excellent coffee drinks, pizzas, sandwiches, paninis with a healthy flare plus baked desserts and ice cream to finish it off. The customer service exceeded anything we could have desired with friendly smiles and timely taking, preparing and serving our orders. We will visit here again and often. Can't explain it but it feels like a friend's cozy kitchen. Outside seating also available on sunnier days.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
763 helpful votes 763 helpful votes
“Forget the Chains, this is the place for coffee in the Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

What a great spot. Lovely interior in the bottom of the highest end building in Portland, "The Casey". Not the least bit pretentious, great coffee and service, Italian TV playing, a real coffee house where you are welcome to linger.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anytown, usa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Traditional Italian Caffè Latte's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My barista was an artist. I ordered a caffè latte. It was so beautiful that I almost didn't want to drink it...almost. It was everything that I had expected and more. This is not a place that you should pass up. Visit and taste the wonderful magic!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Great espresso drinks, even better soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We go here for lunch nearly once a week. We never know what the soup will be and the types change regularly - but they're always fresh and delicious, and when they run out, that's it for the day. Lattes are consistently some of the best in Portland. Get a small or medium latte "for here" and you'll get a pretty design on top.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Umbria also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Umbria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Umbria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;