We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at the Portland Downtown Courtyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 NE Wasco St, Portland, OR 97232   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay at the Portland Downtown Courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As first time visitors to the Portland area we had a lot of questions about things to do, places to see and how to get there. Everyone at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Any time of day or night they had excellent restaurant reviews, travel directions, or answers to questions about the area. Kelly was especially helpful in suggesting a route for a day trip to the beautiful Oregon coast - including places to get a great, local meal. The room was top notch and the lounge area with the outdoor fire pit is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear RRandy11,

Thank you for your five star review! I’m thrilled to hear that Kelly made such a fantastic impression on you and that you found our rooms, lounge area and fire pit to be top notch. I hope that you will return as a guest of ours sometime soon.

Warm regards,
Peter Kilbourne
General Manager
pkilbourne@csmcorp.net
503-382-3144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    174
    65
    14
    6
See reviews for
107
103
32
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here one night in PDX, however my stay was excellent. This is a two block walk from the convention center Max stop. I didn't utilize their bar or breakfast, but the wifi was fast and the rooms were clean. We asked them to hold quite a bit of luggage for us after we checked out and they provided that service with no problems. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Kosmo11,

Great five star review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am happy to hear that you had a great experience and that you found our rooms to be clean and our Wi-Fi fast. I hope you return as a guest of ours soon.

Warm regards,
Peter Kilbourne
General Manager
pkilbourne@csmcorp.net
503-382-3144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The service here was excellent. The staff was extremely accomodating to everything that we needed. Our server at breakfast was so pleasant and polite (Thank you, Magdalena!!). Additionally, we needed a lift to a dinner meeting that was a bit of a hike. The hotel was so accomodating and sent us in a hotel shuttle. The driver was so polite and personable (I wish I knew his name!!!). The hotel has nice accomodations and served the purpose for a stopping point while attending a conference at the convention center. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a business trip like this. Thanks for the great service!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Lizzy02013,

Thank you very much for your five star review! I am happy to hear that you found Magdalena to be pleasant and polite. It sounds like our complimentary hotel shuttle worked out well for your needs. I will congratulate Magdalena and the shuttle drivers on a job well done.

Warm regards,
Peter Kilbourne
General Manager
pkilbourne@csmcorp.net
503-382-3144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent one night here, arriving late, but there was plenty of parking ($18/day). Valet parking was available for only $3 more. Note: On weekends, valet is the only parking option. The staff gave us a warm welcome and the restaurant and bar were busy. Gorgeous decor!

Our room was very clean, and the bed was super comfy. Our 10 year old daughter slept on the sofa bed, and there were clean linens in the closet for that. Free Wi-Fi was wonderful

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant, "Charley's On Grand." The waitress was so nice to us and to our daughter. The service was prompt and the food was delicious.

Because of our busy schedule, we were unable to enjoy the pool and fitness center. But everything looked so inviting, I wish we had.

The following morning, we ate breakfast at Charley's and the food was great. Cold potatoes, but because of the outstanding service, I didn't say anything.

Newspapers were available in the lobby, as well as "The Market" where you can purchase snacks and other items.

The location is fantastic, with public transportation right outside and lots of things within walking distance. The freeway access was hassle-free.

A great stay in a fantastic city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear chadrach3,

What a great review! Thank you for sharing your experience. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay. I appreciate your feedback regarding the potatoes; I will address this with our food and beverage department while also congratulating them for providing great service to you and your daughter. I’m glad to hear that you had a great stay in our fantastic city!

Warm regards,
Peter Kilbourne
General Manager
pkilbourne@csmcorp.net
503-382-3144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Doubletree before moving over to this Marriott and we were super disappointed. Our one night stay was over $200 and we definitely didn't feel like we got our money's worth. The room was quite small yet it was clean and tastefully decorated, albeit a little on the older side. The bed was comfortable, water pressure in the shower was good and the WiFi is free. However, the air conditioner was SO loud. It sounded like a plane taking off each time it went on and my husband had a horrible sleep because of it. The hotel was completely booked so we had to use the valet parking. The staff were friendly, but we definitely wouldn't stay again at that rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear theseoldroads,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I am sorry to hear that you did not find my hotel to be an excellent value. Our rates are very competitive and we pride ourselves on providing world class service. If your travels bring you back to Portland, please let me know and I would be happy to personally assist you with accommodations that ensure your comfort.

Warm regards,
Peter Kilbourne
General Manager
pkilbourne@csmcorp.net
503-382-3144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My son and I stayed here for a mommy-son weekend in PDX, which included a trip to Lego Kid's Fest being held at the convention center. Our room was clean and the hotel was lovely. The location is walking distance to a lot of things, so you can legitimately park your car and walk or take public trans- for me, a major plus (but you pay for this in the cost of the stay). I liked the lobby bar, though I didn't try it out, (if I was there with my husband, I imagine I could of spent some time there). I travel quite often, and found a few things at this hotel a little annoying: at check in I was told there was only valet parking on the weekends ($21 vs. $18 for self park)- this isn't publicized accurately, my keys didn't work when I went up to my room (it's hard to schlep a child and a bunch of luggage up and then back down again), the small pool was packed with tons of people and cold, and no hot tub, the maid service came very late in the day - between 4:30 and 5:45 - I had friends to the room and my bed was unmade and dirty towels were on the floor, and the service at the restaurant is not great (forgot my coffee, took forever to bring bill, water, etc - and it was for a BUFFET). The room service was outstanding and well priced for room service, internet is free, and the hotel was clean and safe. Would I stay here again? Probably not. It's not a great fit for me - I like a hot tub, I like to know what I will be paying to park, I like a less hectic breakfast option. For the $$, it just wasn't work the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Shelly G,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a fantastic experience in my hotel. As you can see by our other reviews, your experience was very atypical. I apologize for the large crowds we had this past weekend. Lego Kids Fest was a very popular event and the entire convention center district was full of families enjoying the event. I am certain that if you were to return, your experience would be a positive one and you would have a different impression of my hotel. Please contact me directly during your next trip to Portland.

Warm regards,
Peter Kilbourne
General Manager
pkilbourne@csmcorp.net
503-382-3144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip. Very comfortable and good food in the restaurant. Clean. Kind staff. Easy walk to the Oregon Convention Center. Island was out waitress at breakfast. She's great. Attentive and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Michelle7240,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a wonderful experience! I am happy to hear that you had a great experience in our restaurant and found the hotel to be clean. I will share your review with Island and thank her for a job well done.

Warm regards,
Peter Kilbourne
General Manager
pkilbourne@csmcorp.net
503-382-3144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 435 NE Wasco St, Portland, OR 97232
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#12 Business Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland Downtown
Portland Marriott
Portland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.