We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and caring staff members” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 NE Wasco St, Portland, OR 97232   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Amazing and caring staff members”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

For spring break my family and I went to Portland and stayed at this hotel. While we did not stay here that long ad we were seeing all the Portland sites there was one staff member named Emily who really stood out! My mom and sister were talking about going to Voodoo Doughnuts in the morning for a bacon doughnut that they have and she said it was amazing do my mom and sister scheduled a shuttle to take them there on the morning. Sitting in the room reading some books I got at Powells while my mom, sister, and brother were at the pool, a box and a letter. The box was from Voodoo Doughnuts and contained four bacon doughnuts, one for my mom, brother, sister, and I. The letter was from Emily and said this was just a preview of what was to come tomorrow. She went to the doughnut shop and bought each of us a doughnut and was one of the reasons why we had an UNFORGETTABLE first family vacation!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    173
    65
    14
    6
See reviews for
107
103
32
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Booked this through Hotels.com and got a great rate. The location is great if you want to visit Portland but don't want to pay the high prices at the downtown hotels. Most of the good neighbourhoods and restaurants are on this east side of the river anyway. If you feel the need to go downtown, there are a couple of light rail lines that will take you there cheaply and quickly. If you have a car, it's handy to all the areas on the east side. You have to pay extra for parking here which is going to add to your hotel bill. NOTE: it is possible to park on the street around the hotel for cheaper than self parking or valet in the hotel lot. If you park on the West side of Grand Ave, the parking is from 8am-10pm, BUT if you park on the East side of Grand Ave it's from 8am-6pm.
This means you can park from 6pm til 8am for free. The only catch is you will have to get up early to put money in the meter but you can load it up with about 5 hours I believe. We paid about $5/day for parking doing it this way, as compared to $18/day for self park.
The rooms are on the small side but clean and there's a small pool (no hot tub) and an exercise room. Try to stay on the top floor, on the courtyard side to minimize noise. Grand Ave is a main street and can be very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here after booking a deal through a deal site, so honestly we weren't sure what to expect. From the moment we arrived we had a very pleasant experience. It has that nice lobby feel which most up to date Courtyard by Marriott hotels have. The staff were very prompt at getting us checked in, and as the hotel seemed quiet, they gave us 2 breakfast vouchers to use for both mornings of our stay, which were complimentary - we were delighted.

The rooms are again, pretty standard Marriott hotels, but they were comfortable and we had no complaints. We had dinner one evening at the hotel, the food was yummy and the waiter was very attentive. After, we had a drink in the very lovely hotel bar.

They run a shuttle into downtown Portland which is super convenient so you don't have to drive in and find parking, and as the weather was quite wet while we were there, we really appreciated this. They even came back to pick us up after we were done.

In general, we found this hotel very accommodating, the staff very friendly, and the location is also a bonus. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Portland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Creek, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Honestly I stayed here because I had a discount on the hotel. Plus, I've always like Marriott Hotels. I stayed here after surgery. I was having surgery in the morning and i wanted to go straight from the hospital to the hotel. I called to make sure and everything was good to go. My better half had no problems checking in early. In the room I noticed a bag on the table. In the bag was a drink, and a bunch of goodies. Chocolates and sorts. It had a card that said something about hoping for a good recovery. I thought that was so sweet of the staff. Then I went down to the restaurant for dinner. I was feeling a bit sluggish and I couldn't figure out what I wanted. The lady somehow knew I was recovering and she told me she would have the cooks make whatever I wanted. Again, so nice! Then at breakfast the server was also very nice and tried to help me along. I just couldn't believe how great the staff were being while I was feeling my worst
Ok, enough about the staff. The Hotel is what people are really wanting know about. The hotel was nice. Normal Marriott style. I love the Marriott because I feel its on the higher end of quality without being on the way high end of price like some of the other hotels downtown Portland.
The only thing that I was really bummed about was the location. When I booked it for downtown, I was really thinking downtown city lights. When I was feeling bad and out I wanted to look out and see the wonderful city and city lights. But when I looked out the window, a whole lot of nothing. SO, not a very good view, and its not really downtown like close to anything. To be fair, I was only on the 3rd floor so its not like I would see much of city lights anyways.
Bed was comfortable. Everything was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having stayed at several Marriott properties in Portland including the Courtyard City Center, the Marriott Downtown Waterfront, the Residence Inn Lloyd Center, the Springhill Suites Airport, the Fairfield Inn Airport, and recently the Courtyard Beaverton, the Courtyard Downtown/Convention Center is my favorite Portland area Marriott property.

Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, internet is fast, and the staff has always been very attentive and helpful during all my stays here.

What I like most about this hotel is the location. Being in NE Portland, it is still downtown but easier to get to and from than the hotels on the SW side (i.e. Marriott Dtw Waterfront and Courtyard City Center). It is only 10 minutes walking or less than a 5 minute drive to the Lloyd Center Mall and many dining choices are also within walking distance or a short drive.

The only downsides to this hotel IMO (and it is the same for any of the downtown properties), is the pay to park. However, the parking here is still more convenient than the Marriott Dtw Waterfront and the Courtyard City Center. For rewards redemption point travelers, as I also noted in a review of the Courtyard Beaverton, the redemption point cost is higher here due to location than the Courtyard Beaverton, so for rewards travelers the Courtyard Beaverton is a great lower cost alternative with free and plentiful parking.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting a good value for cost hotel in the close-in downtown Portland area.

Room Tip: Due to close proximity to the road, if you are very sensitive to street noise, you may want to reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel itself is within walking distance to the Riverfront and downtown Portland. The MAX line was also a few minutes walk away which was perfect. Right around the corner from the hotel are fast food options such as Subway and the convention center is also nearby.
The lobby of the hotel was pretty modern with a large flat screen tv with news and weather. There are also two computer stations for guests to use right by a cozy lounge area. The facility has a bar and a restaurant. There is an outdoor lounge area with a open air 'fireplace' and lounge chairs surrounding. It would be a nice place to relax on a warm day. Unfortunately the smell of cigarette smoke from employees on break was wafting around that area during the time I was out there. The bar area has some good local drafts and priced for food and drink seemed fair (ex. $6 for 16oz local draft) The restaurant Charley's had a good breakfast buffet with made to order pancakes, waffles, and omelets. They also have oatmeal with a nice selection of toppings, fresh fruit, pastries, bread, and cereals.
The room itself was ok. A big thing we noticed right away was the SMELL! There is some kind of fragrance that was sprayed in the room and it was potent. The scent wasn't even something that can be described as neutral. It was almost an artificial tutti frutti smell. I am not that sensitive to smells but my travel partner was- we opened the window and left the room so air it out for a few hours. When we returned a few hours later - no difference. We called down to the front desk and they said all the rooms smell that way and it is due to a spray that housekeeping use. They offered us a box fan. Not much help. If you are anyone you travel with has any kind of sensitivity or allergies to fragrances, I highly recommend staying elsewhere or asking to see a room before committing to staying here. I can see how some people would have problems.

The room itself was clean but seemed a little dated compared to the lobby. The bathroom was small and sink was separate from the toilet/shower area. The bed was comfortable enough. Noise levels were moderate-loud. You can definitely hear whatever was going on on the streets below, but it's a given with being in the city. The heat/fan unit was also pretty noisy.

Customer service as great at the front desk and Charley's was great, the people we spoke with were always friendly and helpful.

That all being said, I would only stay here again if I got a great deal because frankly, I don't think the hotel is worth the advertised rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My niece and I stayed at the Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center last weekend and really enjoyed it. Three things made our stay great. First, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the MAX line. We came down on the train from Seattle and took transit to the Portland Saturday Market, Powell's Books, and the Japanese Garden. Secondly, this Courtyard is one of the few left that still has a great breakfast buffet. We used to stay at Courtyards all the time until they changed the restaurant set-up to the Bistro, which we don't care for. Lastly, the front desk staff was wonderful. Calla, in particular, made us feel welcome and went out of her way to provide us with information when we asked where we might go to listen to music in the evening. The fellow at the front desk the next morning was also very personable and helpful. Unfortunately, we forgot to get his name. Did I mention that the room was also very spacious, clean and comfortable? We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 435 NE Wasco St, Portland, OR 97232
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#12 Business Hotel in Portland
#15 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Courtyard Portland Downtown
Portland Marriott
Portland Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Portland Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.