We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4/12-13” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Convention Center to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   305 N. Broadway, Portland, OR 97227   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #86 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
14
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Attended a conference in Portland last week and wanted a hotel near the convention center, with breakfast, that fit my budget. I wasn't expecting luxury for my 4 nights at the Econo Lodge, but good grief. The lobby is large enough for one person and their luggage. The "breakfast" is set up in a corner of the lobby--pot of coffee, jug of orange juice and your choice of a frosted packaged pastry or . . . a frosted packaged pastry. No variation, food to be eaten in your room. One coffee pod in your room per day. My roommate and I repeatedly had our keys re-keyed as they did not operate the door when we came home, with never an apology. The proprietor refused to allow my roommate to check out early (since she had a 6am flight the next day) and pay her part of the bill. Since the reservation was made with my credit card, that was all he would accept for payment. On the plus side, the room was clean and the streetcar (only stops every half hour) picks up directly across the street. Wish I had a better report for $110 a night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We had stopped at this motel due to horrible weather conditions and we could no longer drive in the snow. When we arrived, the receptionist provided horrible service. We entered the room and the heater did not work and the bed was very hard, which left us tossing and turning the entire night. Their continental breakfast consisted of orange juice and a couple of stale danishes. Would not recommend this place at all!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Hill
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

It isn't called econo for nothing. Having said that, I don't consider $90.00 exactly cheap. You wouldn't want to spend too much time in the room. The carpet doesn't just need cleaning, It needs to be replaced. I don't know where the "convention centre" part of it comes in because judging from the size of the parking lot it would have to be an awfully small convention. The free breakfast in the morning reinforces the saying "ya gets what ya pays for.

Room Tip: The only tip I can give to others if they want a good room is to go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Bit of noise from the road but very peaceful. Mysterious spot on floor near bathroom but other than that was a great place to stay for one night. They upgraded our room for free since the door to the one we booked wouldn't open. Very friendly staff.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneta, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very close to Moda Center.Perfect for a game. The room was clean, fine. An economy hotel, but it was a good value for the price. No complaints! Our room faced the road so a bit of road noise but we were tired after the game and it didnt bother us much. Danish and coffee in the morning/ TV had lots of channels. heater was very very warm.

Room Tip: away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

On the plus side, Econo Lodge lives up to its name. It was the least expensive place I could find anywhere close to Downtown. The staff was friendly enough, though not overly so, and the room was adequately clean.

However, there was a bit of an odd smell. You got used to it pretty quickly once you were in the room, but each time you went out and came back it would take a few minutes to get used to it again. It seemed to be coming from the bathroom, which to me indicates a plumbing issue. This really should be fixed. Doesn't really make me want to go back.

Also, they advertise free continental breakfast, but what that really is is coffee, orange juice, and 7-11 danishes. Pretty disappointed by that. Thought there might at least be cereal (fruit would have been nice, but I think that would have been asking too much). So we had breakfast out both mornings.

Lastly, the cable kept going in and out. We were trying to watch Breaking Bad. We could get AMC, but then we'd lose it. It was bad enough so that we didn't watch the show and ended up streaming it when we got home. I did notice a DirectTV antenna outside, which made me confused... were we watching cable or satellite? The lower-numbered channels did come in, but I did expect all the channels to work properly.

All in all, not terrible, but I don't think I'll be going back unless I really need to save money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Convention Center

Address: 305 N. Broadway, Portland, OR 97227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.