We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay at this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2300 North Hayden Island Drive, Jantzen Beach, Portland, OR 97217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #68 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Had a great stay at this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had a very clean room and a great stay here. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the average HI express breakfast and it was fine. I would stay here again. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. there was a little mildew on the caulk which skeeves me out but it was very minimal. It was very convenient to shopping which was good but the area wasn't overly crowded

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you Alex S for your review. I would like to apologize of your room was not up to our normal standards of cleanliness. This is something we take cry seriously and I will be discussing it with our housekeeping staff. It seems that other than that small issue, you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    52
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
39
32
4
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north of the 49th
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Booked online and have stayed at a HIE chain in Everett in the past. The location is convenient if you have a car and prefer some peace. You do hear the planes from the airport, but was never loud enough to wake me up and I am a light sleeper. The room was clean and I did like the fact we could see the parking lot and keep an eye on my car. The breakfast room is a bit smaller than the Everett location, and my wife did miss not having rice available. For me my only complaint would be, it tasted like the scrambled eggs had been pre salted. As far as the comments about the traffic, as a visitor it is an eye opener, but that's out of the Hotels' responsibility. I do appreciate the signage after the turn off coming south bound from WA, because if you're not paying attention 100% you will easily get lost if you don't have GPS. It's right next door to what looks like a very new shopping center, and on the other side of the I-5 is a Safeway open from 5AM to 1AM! Reasonably priced and I would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found the surrounding area convenient and quite for you. This is definitely one thing that we love about our location.
Thank you for taking your time to fill out this review; and we hope to see you back during your next visit to Portland, OR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stay at this property every year for the Portland Swap Meet. Although many of the faces have changed, this property never fails to deliver a good stay.

We checked in on Wednesday with happy faces working through a long day of check-ins. The line moved quickly and we went to our well appointed room.

The room has a fridge, coffee maker, microwave, hair dryer, desk, and couch. Really clean room, nice linens, a selection of toiletries. This property has a lot of nice features, an indoor pool, sauna, fitness center and lightening fast FREE wi-fi. A vanity top large enough to accomodate hair appliances, toiletry bag and such.

I see other reviewers commenting on the location, and it is off the beaten path. It is close to shopping and restaurants, but not within comfortable walking distance. However, it is an easy trip to several nice eateries and a strip mall. Since it is away from the highway, it is quiet.

I can usually find something to complain about, and here it would be the Direct TV. Most channels that work were shopping and infomercials. Many things we would have opted to watch just gave a Direct TV logo blank or instructions on how to order. But we did not spend much time trying to watch television, so this was not much of an issue.

No doubt, we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I want to thank you for always returning to us for your hotel needs when you come to the SWAP Meet. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us and took time out of your day to tell us about it.
We are looking forward to next year's SWAP Meet, as well as seeing you here with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We don't travel all that much but there have been at least a dozen over night and longer stays in the past several months and we have found that it is generally hard to go wrong with a Holiday inn Express. Our latest stay was one of three days at the Jantzen Beach HI in Portland. This stay in early February was due to its proximity to Portland's Expo Center where the Pacific Northwest Sportsmen's Show was being held.

As has always been our experience at a HI Express, the facility was very clean and well maintained, the staff both friendly and helpful and the amenities such as the "standard' breakfast were above average and welcomed.

Just have not been disappointed or had bad experience at a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I wanted to thank you for taking your time to fill out a review on your stay here with us. I know that your stay was quite a while ago, and I am so sorry that it took us this long to thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again on during your next visit to Portland, OR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location is a bit strange its next to storage facility and a decent size RV park. On the plus side it is close to a number of stores (Target etc) which is convenient. The hotel itself seems to need a bit of a refresh. The carpet in the room had lots of stains. It did seem clean overall. The heating was loud and the soundproofing could be better. We could hear the people on the floor above us every move. Overall if you are looking for a quick stay on a road trip its a good place to stay for the night.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Jyssica S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is disappointing that we fell below your expectations on several aspects particularly with the soundproofing conditions and maintenance levels being sub par. I have taken note of your concerns and these shall be addressed with our team appropriately to consider for improvements needed in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is OK, the location is a bit strange, next to a rv parking place and a set of big box stores with large parking lots that were empty most of the time. But on the other hand, it was quiet and that helped to rest.
The staff -a lady- that checked our reservation and checked us in, seemed to be in a bad mood. She was not rude to us, but she didn't seem to care about us. I had to ask for the Priority Club welcome package as she didn't even noticed that on my reservation.
Breakfast was ok and rooms were fine too, but next time we should look for a different hotel in Portland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear rovaMT,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff and staying in our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience our service level has caused you and truly sorry for you did not find our location to your liking. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and you can be confident that corrective measures will be taken to improve our guest services.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our family are avid HI Express people and will stay in one if given the chance. After spent the day driving from N. California looked forward to this quiet, secluded HIE to relax in with the family. It is out of the way, in a good way, but is next to storage units, rv parking and a strip mall. That would have been alright if the staff and interior had been up to snuff. When we entered we we acknowledged yet not greeted. As Priority Club members we thought our stuff would be already set yet the two staff member had nothing ready and sniped at each other over the change over being the others fault. The front room was being redecorated but the moulding was also missing from the hallway with the replacement left undone halfway through the hallway and elevator. My daughter and I tried to find the way to the pool and even went outside and the staff never even looked up or asked to help. Breakfast the next day was set out wonderfully and the lady helper was wonderful but still very busy and she was the only person seen in the hotel....just weird. Family chalked it up to a bad night and all but still have to be honest........I cannot say I would come back......sorry

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear doc0205,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#42 of 133 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Address: 2300 North Hayden Island Drive, Jantzen Beach, Portland, OR 97217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located in Jantzen Beach, located in Portland, Oregon. We are within close proximity to many attractions as PIR Portland Intl Raceway, tax free shopping, Expo center and within minutes of downtown Portland. Our 74 room hotel features newly added Simmon pillowtop mattresses, a complimentary high speed Internet access with wireless in our public areas. Start your day off with with our complimentary deluxe SMART breakfast. We also offer an indoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness center and laundry facilities. Meeting space for up to 75 people. All rooms have high speed Internet access , mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, Iron & ironing boards, free HBO 25' TV and VCR and free local calls. We feature a business center complete with computer & printer with high speed Internet access. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.