We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Holiday Inn Express experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2300 North Hayden Island Drive, Jantzen Beach, Portland, OR 97217   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #52 of 132 hotels in Portland
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“First Holiday Inn Express experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I've always come across so many Holiday Inn Express(es) scattered in North America (USA/Canada), but this is the first time i've actually stayed in one at Jantzen Beach, Portland.

Coming from LA/SEA with my sister and her family, where we visited our folks, she had previously booked us here for a two night stay, where our main purpose was to visit the Grotto, and do some tax free shopping later at Woodburn Outlets before we headed to their Vancouver home (I was a tourist from Manila).

The rooms were well kept and very clean (though the cleaning lady assigned to us was not very thorough at daily cleaning). A simple but filling and balanced breakfast came with the package. Staff at the reception were pleasant and accommodating.

This hotel, though situated a bit far from Portland's city proper, was strategically located, and was walking distance to a commercial center that had a Super Target (first time i came across a 2-story Target!), Toys R Us, Old Navy, Best Buy, Ross, and other commercial establishments that were most useful for transients/tourists who needed some spur-of-the-moment purchases.
And best of all, tax free! :)

It was a short, but satisfying stay at Holiday Inn Express Jantzen. Nothing fancy about this hotel, but cleanliness and affordability make it worth going back to in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
22
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My son and I made a last minute decision to go to the Portland Classic Car Swap meet. We were able to book a scarce room at the Holiday Inn Express. The accommodations more than met our needs. The room was clean. The included breakfast was OK - nothing fancy, but filled the hole until later in the day. Jose, the shuttle driver was the best part of the stay. He was personable, prompt and helpful shuttling us to the Expo centre. Knowing now for next year I will save about $70 per night by booking as a Swap Meet attendee.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

If you seek value and/or need to be away from the compact urban oasis of Portland proper, this hotel is a good choice. There is plenty of free parking if you are piloting a big rig and there are decent restaurants on the same giant swatch of asphalt. The rooms are spacious, front desk service is good and there is the usual free breakfast. It is a very different vibe though, than downtown Portland, or the close-in core neighborhoods of Portland. It's a great stop if you are passing through and simply want an efficient and comfortable place just off I5 to rest for the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear agsmith50,

Thank you for your review, and choosing our hotel. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Thank you

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Nothing special about this hotel compared to other Holiday Inn Expresses. It is on an island (Portland side) next to Washington. So, it is easy to get to Washington but at the same time the traffic getting to the island can be bad during rush hours.

The hotel is okay. The room is fine. The only give you shampoo and soap. They don't give you conditioner, body lotion, or shoe mitt.

It is close to a shopping mall (Target, Ross, etc.).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear pavee12,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenino, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My fiance & I were wanting to do a low budget trip yet still gain some excellence in our stay to feel relaxed & rejuvenated by our hotel. We were able to find this in the Holiday Inn Express of Jantzen Beach Portland, Oregon! I personally work in management of hotels & hospitality for some time now which causes me to be pickier about my stays. During my stay here, I need not be picky about a single thing as all were perfect to a "T"!

I first made my reservation online which, when I called to confirm, was greeted by their night audit Bob on the phone who treated me very kindly & efficiently by answering a few simple questions with detail keeping me from needing to grill more questions up or even call again at a later date.

Upon arrival, management at the front desk was splendid in personality. She even joked with me about a slight misspelled word on their agreement you sign & we talked of our adventures in the industry. Everything about check in was simple, no hassle necessary! I can truly appreciate that as well as future guests. She even warned me of a slight hum I would hear in my room as the only available suite I booked was available next to the hotel's hot tub & pool pump closet yet I did not notice it what so ever.

The room is beautiful. I booked their jacuzzi, king bed suite which was not only clean, but all the towels were high in quantity as well as quality. You usually find yourself needing to go to the desk for more towels. The housekeeping had the room absolutely spotless! They deserve a pay raise!

Breakfast was filling & check out was saddening to leave such a wonderful place. We plan to make this hotel a regular stay for our Portland shopping visits. It is close enough to IKEA, malls, etc, to make it a short drive yet far enough off the main drag so you do not notice the noise! The bed was extremely comfortable, I want one in my own home if they'd tell me the brand & model! Everything about my stay was perfect!

Room Tip: Book the jacuzzi suites! They are worth the money, even though it's not that much! Perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed here one night on our trip to Portland. Paid under $100.00 for our room. This was a great value. The free breakfast was great they had a ton of options . We traveled with our 4 year old son and he had a great time in the heated pool. The staff was friendly and the rooms were huge and updated. I would stay here again on a future trip. The drive into downtown Portland was about ten mins.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice, has everything you need including free WiFi. Only downside was that the elevator broke down, not a big deal as we were on the second floor. Nice breakfast buffet as well

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach

Address: 2300 North Hayden Island Drive, Jantzen Beach, Portland, OR 97217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Portland
#52 Spa Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located in Jantzen Beach, located in Portland, Oregon. We are within close proximity to many attractions as PIR Portland Intl Raceway, tax free shopping, Expo center and within minutes of downtown Portland. Our 74 room hotel features newly added Simmon pillowtop mattresses, a complimentary high speed Internet access with wireless in our public areas. Start your day off with with our complimentary deluxe SMART breakfast. We also offer an indoor heated pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness center and laundry facilities. Meeting space for up to 75 people. All rooms have high speed Internet access , mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, Iron & ironing boards, free HBO 25' TV and VCR and free local calls. We feature a business center complete with computer & printer with high speed Internet access. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portland - Jantzen Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.