We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnighter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   11938 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #46 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overnighter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

We stayed here because we had an early flight to catch. The room was clean, parking was free, fast check in. Overall, a good stay. We were short a set of towels and called the front desk. It couldn't be delivered to the room for some reason. We had to pick them up ourselves from the front desk. It wasn't a problem, however, when we did go to pick them up, the person at the desk was blowing his nose and blowing his nose AND blowing his nose. He discarded his tissues and proceeded to hand our towels to us! Other than that incident, the stay was fine. It's an easy location to find and just minutes from the airport.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
37
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We just got back from an Oregon vacation. Clean, comfortable, plenty of pillows. Convenient to airport, which was important as we had a 6:15 am flight.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterlington, Louisiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

When I book a Holiday Inn Express (HIX) I expect a certain level of service and this property provides it. This hotel provides that, staff was nice and the room was clean. They do provide the standard HIX continental breakfast (I don’t know why some people expect a big breakfast when they see free continental breakfast). Over all my stay was fine and I feel that I got my money worth.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend, or
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

We had just come back from a vacation at a 5 star resort and I think the staff here was probably the brightest part of our trip! They were competent, friendly and funny! The room was clean and actually between the staff and the cleanliness of the room it exceeded the 5 star resort! I would absolulely stay here again!! Thanks to Jared who was fantastic!

  • Liked — The staff!
  • Disliked — Ummmm, nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay Here!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

My family booked several rooms separately for a family reunion. My husband and I booked a whirlpool tub room and got room 105, with a beautiful two-person whirlpool tub in the room. It has a king bed (fairly comfortable) and extra pillows already in the room in the closet. It also includes a fairly large room refrigerator and microwave oven. We asked for an ethernet cable at the desk and got one, with the warning that we would be charged $20 if we didn't return it. The room's Internet connection was somewhat spotty but worked. The continental breakfast is OK but not outstanding. Fresh cookies in the evening are nice, but I would have preferred friendlier service and a better shuttle ride. We were told it runs every half hour. When we arrived at 5 minutes before the hour, we had to load our luggage ourselves, and after a few minutes we had to request that the desk clerk call the driver. Then he dropped our laptop when he unloaded the luggage at the airport.
My sister's family didn't fare as well. Their toilet overran, and they found out when they returned to their room at midnight. Though the clerk was pleasant, she didn't understand customer service very well. She brought towels and told my sister to bring them downstairs when she was done! My sister politely told her that she didn't expect to clean up the mess. The clerk did take care of it, but very slowly, so my sister's family didn't get to use their restroom until 1 am. And then--ugh. She had to remind them to sanitize it as well. In summary, the ideas work well, but the hired help should be better trained to deal with emergencies and general customer service. There are plenty of mid-priced motels in that area, and I will probably use a different one next time.

  • Liked — whirlpool tub
  • Disliked — service
  • Tips/Secrets — probably not bad for quick layover
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

We just got back from a nine day tour of the Oregon coast. As we flew in and out of Portland, we stayed here the last night of our trip. It is a charming Holiday Inn Express, with renovated cheerful, clean rooms. The public areas are exceptionally nice. There are several sitting areas with extensive guest libraries (one off the lobby, and one on the second and third floor, as you exit the elevator). We had a very early flight, and needed the take the 4:30 AM shuttle. The shuttle left promptly, and the staff provided us with a "to go" breakfast bag, as we were too early for the regular breakfast. They had coffee ready, and cinnamon rolls were also available in the breakfast room for those of us leaving too early for the normal breakfast.

The free internet computer (also a printer and a nearby calculator) are in the lobby in an open and pleasant corner instead of being tucked away in a closet like room. We were very satisfied with this property and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

This hotel exceeded my expectations. Holiday Inns are better known for their low prices rather than their high quality, but this one did not disappoint. There was no problem with the shuttle from the airport, and the staff was very laid back and helpful. There was a free New York Times (even on Sunday), which is an upgrade from the usual complimentary USA Today (Monday-Friday only).

The room was very clean and spotless. The breakfast was more than adequate in the morning and got us off to a great start for our day trip to the Columbia River Valley.

I would recommend this to anyone willing to sacrifice a few luxuries (restaurant, views and proximity to downtown) when traveling in and out of the Portland airport.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area)

Address: 11938 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only three miles from Portland International Airport, the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport Hotel & Suites is just minutes away from Cascade Station, Portland s newest shopping and dining experience.Downtown Portland and all the attractions of the Rose City, including Portland s Famous Annual Rose Festival, the Rose Garden Coliseum & Portland Convention Center, Washington Park s World-Famous gardens, the Oregon Zoo, OMSI and more, are easily accessible from Portland s speedy MAX trains and award-winning public transportation service.The hotel offers a variety of amenities including complimentary Airport Shuttle Service, Park and Fly packages, Business Services and Recreational Facilities. Come enjoy a Great Night Sleep with our New Tempurpedic Premium Mattresses!Our complementary Express Start Breakfast Bar offers a selection of hot entrees like fluffy scrambled eggs, cheesy omelets, sausage patties, crispy bacon and sausage gravy with flaky biscuits to satisfy the heartiest of appetites... all complementary.For the Business Traveler, our Executive Rooms offers all the amenities you have come to expect upgraded décor, complimentary newspapers and high speed internet access. With all this and more, let the Holiday Inn Express Portland Airport Hotel & Suites be your Home Away from Home in the Rose City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area) Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portland (Airport Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.