We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Convention Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Convention Hotel to your Saves list
Portland Convention Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 Northeast Grand Avenue, Portland, OR 97232 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Portland Convention Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Portland
1 review
“Great place to stay in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Everything was seamless. Really friendly and helpful staff. No worries, no problems, great night's sleep. And so easy to get to from the airport, no car needed. When you stay, you have to eat at the cafe'. great food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    115
    111
    63
    48
See reviews for
68
85
37
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I shoulda known better. Was lured here by the current $89/night rate promotion. Room is okay, but they don't have air conditioning to cool down the room to sleep. The in-room thermostat is tied to the outside temp, so the AC only works if it's over 70 outside. The room was quite warm because of the sunshine coming in all day through the window. But, I wasn't able to cool it off at night. The only recourse was to open the window, meaning lots of noise and some bugs (no screens). Also, terrible internet service. It kept going out every 15 minutes, forcing me to reboot. Not worth the savings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Front Office Manager at Portland Convention Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback from you recent stay. I apologize for the issue you experienced with the internet and the room temperature. Unfortunately the mild weather does make it a challenge for the HVAC, to please all our guests. We have recently made an upgrade to then internet service so it should be more reliable in the future. Again, thank you for your comments, we hope you will consider us the next time you travel to Portland.

Sincerely,

Jamie Hamblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

..then the benefits taper off. I will say that the staff are excellent and very helpful/friendly. First room I was given reeked of pot smoke. The desk folks found a new room quickly but I was surprised that got through housekeeping. I was surprised that there were no room safes, something I have come to count on. There was also no shampoo or conditioner. The light switches did not work so one had to stumble through the room to turn one on. Finally, the heating system is problematic- one cannot choose the temperature and must rely on management's decision to turn the heat or A/C on. It was always overly hot. It is just a generally mediocre property that feels very drab.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Front Office Manager at Portland Convention Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are currently working to improve the housekeeping department as well as maintenance of the rooms. We will be undergoing a major renovation next year that will improve all aspects of the hotel. I am happy to hear the staff were friendly and helpful. Again, thank you for your comments, we hope you will consider us on a future visit to Portland.

Sincerely,

Jamie Hamblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The good news is, the staff was very friendly. They worked hard to be helpful, and I appreciated that. The hotel was clean and it looked cared for. The bad news is, it was an old building and it needs some major renovations. The heating/cooling system could either heat (for everyone) or it could cool (for everyone). Since when I visited was allegedly in a moderate time (highs in the upper 60s and lows in the upper 40s), there was no cooling. As a result, all during the day, the room got uncomfortably hot. The only way to control the heat was to open a window - which let in lots of noise. The walls between the rooms were too thin. Even though my neighbors were not trying to be noisy, I could hear almost everything going on in their rooms, as I am sure they could hear what was going on in mine. There were no where near enough electrical outlets for a modern traveler. They even had to run an extension cord from the room next door to have power for my desk lamp. The hotel is very convenient to the light rail line and it is very convenient to the convention center. Other than that, I found little to make me want to stay here should I ever come back to Portland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Front Office Manager at Portland Convention Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful, we appreciate the positive feedback. I apologize for the issues you had with your guest room. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay to every guest and clearly we failed to do that. We are currently making improvements to better serve our customers needs, however the building is old and outdated. The good news is a major renovation is scheduled for next summer. We value you as a guest and ask you to please consider us for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jamie Hamblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion on a week night and the hotel was not full. While the hotel is pretty old, it was still nice enough and the room was very well decorated and with plenty of light. Our room was located on the end of one winf of the building, the end of the building that was very close to the Max train tracks. While the train frequency did slow down after 10:00, they still passed our room every few minutes and with each train, I was back awake listening to the rumble and the noise. I ask about it to the front desk the next morning, and was told that if I had requested a room away from the trains, I could have gotten it, although I did not know to request the room away from the trains when we checked in, as I did not know about the train noise. Luckily, we were only staying one night, which was plenty at that hotel.

Room Tip: Away from the Train Tracks !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Front Office Manager at Portland Convention Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear about the difficulty you had with the noise from the light rail. We take all of our guest’s comments seriously as they assist us in providing better service. I apologize our front office staff did not alert you of the potential noise issue. We will be happy to place you in a more quiet location on a future stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Jamie Hamblin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel provided a decent value for the price. The rooms were clean (but a bit dated). The hotel is right next to public transportation that runs every 5 minutes, but I took care of that with some earplugs. The bed was uncomfortable and a bit lumpy, I had to sleep in the middle to get some support (I like a firm bed). Free wi-fi included. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel was decent, but upon check in, the main thing I can remember is smell- our non smoking room smelled like it had been a previously smoking room and it was extremely stuffy. Upon arrival, we immediately had to open the room windows and depart for the air to feel comfortably breathable.

First impressions are everything for a hotel. We chose this place for best price, but after the fact, would have paid more for a more presentable/"ready" room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Convention Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Convention Hotel

Address: 1021 Northeast Grand Avenue, Portland, OR 97232 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Portland Convention Center)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portland Convention Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the street from the Oregon Convention Center, the closest 3 star hotel to the convention center, the Portland Convention Hotel is within walking distance of Lloyd Center Mall, the Rose Garden Arena, Memorial Coliseum and some of Portland's best restaurants and entertainment. Across the street is the "MAX" light rail system, providing free five-minute service to downtown Portland as well as one way service from Portland International Airport for a minimal fee that we will reimburse at check-in. Portland State University, Oregon Health Science University, the Expo Center and Emanuel Hospital are also minutes away.Our 173 decorated guest rooms are 100 percent non-smoking and offer many amenities including complimentary wi-fi, refrigerators, coffeemakers, voicemail and pay-per-view movies. Rooms also feature 37" flat panel televisions and Red Lion's signature Sealy pillowtop beds, imported granite with tile baths and floors, multi-spray showerhead with a curved shower rod and amenities featuring Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP).Our Premium King rooms also feature microwaves. Fax and copy services are available to accommodate our business travelers. We also have a fitness center, guest laundry, same day valet service and a market place for sundries. Parking is available. On-site is our Cafe Ten-21, serving breakfast in a casual atmosphere. Enjoy dinner with Terrace Garden, drinks, appetizers and a spectacular skyline view in our Windows Restaurant & Lounge with Rooftop Terrace. With over 8,000 square feet of meeting space, the Portland Convention Hotel is also able to accommodate up to 400 guests for your next conference or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portland Convention Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Convention Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.