We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Suites & Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Park Lane Suites & Inn to your Saves list
Park Lane Suites & Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 SW King Ave, Portland, OR 97205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 133 Hotels in Portland
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, good value, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom suite (so have not seen the 'Inn' part of the facility) for three nights while visiting Portland for the Brew Festival. Our friends could not join us, so it ended up being just the two of us.
The main lobby area is contemporary, and offers orange-infused water, fruit, cookies and coffee. And a nice air-conditioned sitting area.
All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Excellent customer service!
The suites were clean, and the furniture was contemporary, but the kitchen cupboards, bathroom and carpet were looking tired and worn, more like an older motel feel. There were signs of previous water damage in the kitchen and bathroom. But again, it was clean.
And the price was very reasonable for what we got. Note that the kitchen had two cooking elements, but there was no oven. Not a problem for us, and I don't know if other suite kitchens may be different.
The location was great. We could walk all the way to downtown and to the park with the Brew Fest. Transit stop was also nearby if you prefer that. Or take in the shopping and restaurants just around the corner on 23rd. We walked to, and through, the park and the Japanese and Rose Gardens. Zupan's market and a Starbucks were only a couple of blocks away. We actually didn't move our truck once we parked it (for free!) at the hotel.
Wifi was free, but I had trouble staying on the network when I went to the back part of the suite. We were the farthest point from the lobby, so that may have factored in. Those rooms at the farthest point were good as you don't get other guests going past your door.
Rooms ending in '10' and '11' are closest to the recycling, which may get loud when guest drop in their glass recycling. Kudos for the hotel for having a recycling program though!
And in the kitchen was complimentary orange juice and two containers of oatmeal.
Beds were nice and firm, the way I personally like them. I had good sleeps. And I found it to be quiet at nice as the hotel was not on the main street of Burnside. It felt more residential just being that one short block off the main street.
We had an enjoyable stay, at what I feel is a great price. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    240
    100
    31
    14
See reviews for
127
177
36
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here w kids and a friend and really liked the service, location, kitchenette. My son has food allergies so the full fridge, stovetop, sink was essential. All was clean, great. Great for casual friends, kids.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My parents, husband, son and I rented two suites on a lower floor in the main building. The hotel is modern, parking is good, staff are very helpful. Décor has been updated in the past two years. It is incredibly central and well-connected to Tri-Met and MAX lines. Close walking to the emporium that is 23rd St. Very family-friendly. A welcoming lobby which I used for work - wifi good - all in all, great value. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends visiting. My husband is from PDX and I know it fairly well (we now live in the Midwest), having visited often since 1998. We've stayed in the Kimpton downtown and other spendy hotels, but this one was just perfect for our needs this trip. A huge thank you again to the incredibly kind and accommodating staff. If something about your room or stay is not working for you, just let them know; they'd love the chance to fix it and help you.

Room Tip: The main building is clearly the more desirable location, the higher the better (basic advice).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice friendly helpful service. Nice clean rooms. Thought the aesthetic was pretty neutral with a nice elegant edge. Simple accommodations, no pool, no gym, but didn't need those anyway. Good value. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay- with 4 in our party we decided on one suite room and one regular room at the inn w/ 2 queens. The suite had a nice kitchen and the sleeper couch was quite comfortable. Front desk people were helpful and answered our questions about the area.
Having Washington Park ony a few blocks away made evening walks a nice way to end each day.
The prices are very reasonable for what you get- accommodations were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Park Lane was perfect for my needs. I was in Portland for a 3 day conference, and wanted an affordable, clean, decent hotel within walking distance of downtown. I stayed on the Inn side, rather than the suites.The room itself was quite nice - a basic motel room setup, but with lovely upgrades. Attractive bedding, bamboo-type flooring, lovely bathroom fixtures (huge shower), great fluffy towels. Very clean. Another review mentioned that the curtains were just a thin see-through type - however there is also a thick pull-down shade that blocks ALL light and peeping eyes. It was super quiet in my room at night - no problems with noisy neighbors at all.

The heart of downtown was about a 20 minute walk, but the Max light rail train shortens that - it's only about 5-7 minutes walk to the stop(s), and it's $2.50 for a 2hr pass, or $5 for a one-day pass. Coming from the airport or downtown you can either get off at the Providence Park stop, or Kings Hill/SW Salmon. Going to the airport or downtown the Kings Hill/SW Salmon stop is easiest. I'm sure their are super convenient buses as well - but I didn't take advantage of them on this trip.

It's a very short walk from Park Lane to the shops/restaurants on NW 23rd St - which is SO great. Worth a stroll up there just for Salt & Straw ice cream!

I felt pretty safe walking to and fro from downtown, even at midnight - but I'm pretty used to such things.....you may want to inquire at the front desk for their opinions on that.

I'll definitely stay at Park Lane again the next time I'm in Portland!

Room Tip: My 2nd floor room on the Inn side had a view of downtown, which was lovely. You may want to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed three nights at the Inn side of the property, which isn't as nice as the Suites building. I don't think I was made aware of the difference when I booked the room.

The location of both the Suites and Inn is very convenient to Washington Park and the trendy Nob Hill district. We like to walk and we visited both of these places comfortably on foot. The room had all of the basic amenities, beds and bathroom (shower only), dresser and nightstand. There was a nice view of Portland from our second story room, albeit a bit on the industrial side of town. We had no problem parking in the hotel lot near our room.

The room, however, had not much else to recommend it. No chairs or tables, no coffee maker, or microwave oven or refrigerator. Coffee was available in the lobby, a short walk across the street and up a hill. The platform beds were a little noisy and not overly comfortable. No elevators and the wireless was slow as molasses.

The room was priced less than other properties in the Downtown area, and for good reason. Not a bad stay, but not luxurious one either.

Room Tip: Ground room floors would be a plus, schlepping luggage up the stairs was a chore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Jupiter Hotel
#60 of 133 in Portland
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#22 of 133 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Downtown
University Place
University Place
#93 of 133 in Portland
3.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest District
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
#16 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#8 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 133 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lane Suites & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Suites & Inn

Address: 809 SW King Ave, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lane Suites & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Park Lane Suites & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Portland
Park Lane Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Suites & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.