We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Positives - But Be Aware of Limitations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Lane Suites & Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Park Lane Suites & Inn to your Saves list
Park Lane Suites & Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   809 SW King Ave, Portland, OR 97205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Richmond
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lots of Positives - But Be Aware of Limitations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in the suites tower on the top floor. Our "standard" suite included a living room, kitchen area with table and a separate bedroom. In thinking how to rate this hotel I find myself torn. It seems just about every positive has a negative to go with it.

The price was very good for such a spacious room, fairly close to downtown. A nice touch: leaving oatmeal and orange juice for us for our first breakfast. Furniture is a bit "dated". Walls are a bit thin. Bathroom is small and entrance is very close to the bed. Entrances to rooms face outside, so severe weather could be an issue.

Parking was free, but limited. The hotel is not really located quite close enough to downtown to consistently walk to events, so many will wish to drive. Yet, moving your car will most likely result in losing a parking spot and needing to park across the street or elsewhere.

Wireless was free but slow and essentially non-workable in the rear bedroom.

Location near Washington Park is a plus. It is a fairly easy walk to the Portland Rose Garden and Japanese Tea Garden (about 20 minutes uphill).

In summary, not bad but not outstanding. If price is a main consideration, this hotel does provide a fair amount of value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    225
    96
    29
    14
See reviews for
119
165
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in the Inn part, which is essentially a two story motel. The rooms have been recently renovated, so they are quite modern, but they are sparse in terms of "extras" - no closets, just a hanging rail with three hangers, no safe, no iron/board (though the latter will be provided upon request). Nice shower, very comfortable bed, and overall clean and tidy. Where the place does win is on location - very close to shopping, major thoroughfare, parks. There is also parking on site - the parking behind the inn is a bit less ideal, you basically have to back out of the parking lot when you leave - but the other lots are fine. Tip - book dinner at the Uptown Billiards Club, their 5 course tasting menu was lovely, and a great deal - and it's walking distance to the hotel, so you can indulge in the wine pairings ;)

Room Tip: If you want more amenities (kitchenette, iron, etc) book a suite; if having somewhere to sleep is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is okay for a place to crash for the night, but I wouldn't recommend it for any longer than that.

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. The hotel is divided into two sections: the Inn and the main hotel. We stayed at the Inn.

The location was okay for walking to downtown. It would be perfect if you are coming in for a Timbers game as the stadium is right around the corner. The price was decent as well when compared to hotels closer to downtown.

However, if staying here I highly recommend getting a top floor room or possibly a room at the main hotel. We could hear EVERYTHING our neighbors were doing. To top it off our neighbor upstairs chose to walk around in heels at 4:00AM. Not good for sleeping.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Checked in past midnight with a complimentary upgrade from single queen inn room to studio suite, how nice, but not really.. This suite had a toilet that leaked, which they fixed pretty fast. Then the fridge didn't work so they brought in a mini fridge (they never came back to fix the original fridge). The tv channels didn't work using the channel + and - buttons because of bad programming, but they fixed this. The AC didn't work on the hottest day of the week when I needed it most. The man actually told me a sob story about how he already knew about the AC problem in this room but that no one was willing to do anything about it. They offered to change rooms the next night but the temperature got cooler. One night a car double parked right in front of my room and the front desk man (without even trying) gave me so many different excuses about how looooong it would take to track down the person to ask them to move the car and how there would be sooo many different factors, but how would you know even before trying? I will point out that he gave up his parking space for me, which was the next space over. Wow... what an experience.. too bad my week long stay here was already prepaid else I would have stayed somewhere else. Overall I survived... the front desk, housekeeping and maintenance were all pretty helpful and did the best with what they had but this place is a major dump and needs a major upgrade.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it suited our needs in terms of location and parking included in the rate.

Our room was simply furnished, quite stylish, no frills. There was some noise from other rooms. We missed not having coffee-making facilities in the room.

Reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful as were the housekeeping staff we encountered.

If you need a clean, safe, basic place to stay close to downtown and a stone's throw from Nob Hill you can probably do no better for the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed the hotel and staff members. The suite was quite cozy and well organized. They were very flexible in accommodating our needs and this will be place of choice for us in the future visits to Portland, OR.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Was in Portland a couple of weeks ago and stayed at the Park Lane for two nights.The location was perfect and staff was very nice. Our room was very quite. Close to the transit-way and to some nice restaurant. Don't hesitate to ask the staff for advise. we did and do regret it.

We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor. Definitly, very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Lane Suites & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lane Suites & Inn

Address: 809 SW King Ave, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Lane Suites & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Park Lane Suites & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Lane Hotel Portland
Park Lane Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Lane Suites & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.