We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, cool hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 35%
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Delightful, cool hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

This hotel is a wonderful alternative to the typical, impersonal big hotel experience.

Rooms

Very spacious, with flat screen TV and separate DVD player. Beds are very comfortable. Bathroom is spacious, with granite vanities, and high end soaps, shampoos, etc. The maids do a fantastic job of cleaning.

Service

Very warm, welcoming, and helpful. Check-in was very prompt.

Ambience

This hotel is unique in that it is animal friendly. For the most part, I saw a few dogs among the hotel patrons, but I'm sure the hotel would welcome cats, too. The dogs I saw were well mannered and leashed, and I never heard any night-time barking (although I was on a top floor), so no behavioral problems.

The hotel hosts a happy hour from 5 PM +. The only downside: it's held in the rather small hotel lobby; my companion and I had to shout to be heard over the way too loud piano music.

Food

The hotel does offer room service but, like most 4-star places, the prices--esp. when delivery charge and taxes are added--are too high. The hotel partners with a restaurant next door, Red Star. The food is delicious but, again, way too highly priced. Portland offers so many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, so it's easy to find a less expensive alternative.

Downside

The only major drawback is the lack of a complimentary business center. The staff allowed me to use a computer next to the clerks' desk, but it was in an awkward location (no privacy and no seat) and the computer was very slow. Also, the room service cook slightly burned my toast, but I didn't complain or request a replacement meal, so no biggie.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,725
    354
    68
    30
    16
See reviews for
409
950
158
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We recently stayed three nights at the Hotel Monaco and were extremely pleased with the accommodations. We immediately sensed we were being sincerely welcomed. Everyone we encountered was gracious and eager to please. They provided me with a "yoga bag" upon request, a mat, block and strap. The have some programs on the TV. They had a free wine tasting at 5 pm. One night was wine and chocolate. Our room was very pleasant, quiet and clean, lots of towels. We were able to print our boarding passes free of charge in the business center or they will do it for you. WiFi was easily accessible.
We really liked the location, close to Powell's main book store and the major department stores, also the fine arts museum. We were able to do lots of walking. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The Hotel Monaco provides comfortable boutique hotel surroundings in a hip atmosphere while providing exactly what the weary business traveler like me wants. A great room, comfortable bed, service with a smile no matter what time of the day or NIGHT, and always a "Can Do Attitude"! Central to everything in Portland, and downtown, the hotel gets it.

Connected to the hotel is the Red Star restaurant with one of the best quality tapas/happy hours in the nation, something like 4pm to 8pm; plus the hotel lobby allows free wine tasting hour 5 to 6pm for guests. Coffee/Tea in the lobby in the morning, enough fitness equipment to work in a workout and a business center that is open, and the PCs/Printers really work and are maintained (where a Mac or PC user, they have it!).

The staff from the bellmen, to the front desk to the doorman to the lobby dog and maid service seem to love working there, which makes me visiting feel like a nice reprieve from the standard corporate chain hotel. (You can get your points on their program, which is awesome).

I wish more hotels were Hotel Monaco Portland style and take after their management prescription - because I'll be back every chance I get. I can't wait to go to Portland to get back to "my Hotel Monaco". enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

When we head to the city for some holiday shopping and dining, we only stay at one place each year...Hotel Monaco. And even though for this annual trip we leave our four-legged friend at home, we love to see all the other furry friends being so welcomed there. And the wine and chocolate tasting, along with the live music (a very nice young man playing the piano), is an added bonus. If you're heading to Portland for a holiday get-a-way, then Hotel Monaco is a must!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Just returned from the latest of several visits to the Monaco, formerly known as the Fifth Avenue Suites, the premier dog-friendly, cushy bed, soundproofed spot in downtown Portland. Great room service, triple-paned windows, nice bathrooms, inventive, colorful decor, pleasant staff, and walkable to everywhere on the west side of the River, the Monaco is the best place to stay in the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

I highly recommend the Hotel Monaco Portland. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The room was exemplary and we enjoyed the sense of whimsy and the staff's commitment to friendly service. We had a wonderful stay at the hotel and I already miss our pet goldfish Rupert. Very nice!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Clean, spacious rooms; nice views; efficient & helpful staff; good location in downtown Portland. I can't find one thing to complain about from my recent visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.