We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, ongoing renovations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 35%
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, ongoing renovations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

This hotel is being renovated, will reopen under a new name in February 07. The hotel does need updating, what we saw of the renovation looked very promising, moving towards a NY boutique type of look. Only 1 guest room was renovated thus far. Our room was a king deluxe--nice, quiet and clean. The service was very good and the staff was friendly. They gave me a great suggestion for a nearby sports bar to watch a playoff game. The restaurant/bar downstairs was also very good. We had a good stay, and I would definitely go back after the renovations are complete to check it out again. Klimpton hotels have a best-rate guarantee, it pays to check out travel sites before booking. We had a rate of $139/night which included valet parking--we found this on Expedia vs. the same rate for AAA members on the hotel's website (without valet parking). The hotel matched the expedia offer. Remember to ask for turndown service, it is not automatic. The only negative is that there was only 1 drawer for the room which needed to be shared.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean room
  • Disliked — Small TV (will be addressed with renovation) and only 1 dresser drawer in room.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    354
    68
    30
    16
See reviews for
407
948
158
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

Absolutely loved the 5th Avenue Suites. Hotel is well located. Very well run place with a staff that really knows what it is doing from housekeeping to Concierge. We had a suite which worked very well when one person wanted to rest and the other to watch T.V. Suites have a sliding door to create real separation. Beds were quite comfortable and linens were excellent. Bathroom was spacious, well lit and with ample towels. Restaurant is just geat. Imaginative and well prepared food that is far superior to average hotel food. Servers were efficient and knowledgeable. Liked the fact that could order a variety of all inclusive breakfasts instead of a la carte. Kept costs lower.

Would certainly stay at this hotel again. Has the usual Kimpton amenities and then some.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Hotel is great. Free transit in center is a wonderful way to get around. Panhandlers throughout Portland are annoying.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

Just returned from a seven nights' stay at the 5th Avenue Suites Hotel in Portland, Oregon. This Kimpton Hotel is in an ideal downtown location with easy access to the free public transportation in this quiet and pleasant city. The room was a suite with two double beds, walk-in shower and luxurious bathroom, and there was a separate area which could be closed off from the bedroom. The staff of the hotel was excellent: the front desk was manned by knowledgeable and pleasant people and an extremely helpful concierge. Housekeeping was also excellent and we were greeted by a free bottle of Oregon Pinot Gris, mineral water and chocolates. Later the housekeeping staff brought a small aquarium with a single goldfish named "Guppy" to keep us company! Finally, the Red Star Restaurant attached to the hotel served excellent meals with a variety of Northwestern dishes. All in all, a great experience which we would not mind having all over again!

  • Liked — Luxuriously furnished rooms and competent, friendly staff
  • Disliked — No faults
  • Tips/Secrets — No special tips
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

We stayed in a king deluxe room that was spacious and filled with nice romantic amenities such as animal-print bathrobes and Aveda toiletries. Although I stayed on Fourth of July night and the restaurant was closed, a Kimpton discount card was given for the inconvenience. The downtown location is just blocks from the Max train or Union Station and close to shopping and waterfront activities. Very comfortable beds and staff was friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel. Also as a bonus you can receive Alaska Airline miles but you must mention your number at checkout.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

I lived in Portland for five happy years, so when it was time to go back after another 20 years, my first impulse was to find a small hotel or B&B in the neighborhoods to the east of the Willamette. I couldn't find any, but what I did find - the 5th Avenue Suites in the very heart of downtown Portland - was surprisingly nice.

From this hotel, it was easy to get to the best parts of Portland - you can walk to Powell's, the best bookstore on the planet; or to NW 21st, with amazing restaurants like Papa Haydn's. It's a few minutes to drive to Washington Park (don't walk, it's waay too big), maybe the best in-city park outside of New York. And if you want to see the real Portland - the wonderful, down-to-earth, head-screwed-on-right city of glorious underachievers - get out to those neighborhoods in SE and SW Portland. The valet parking in the hotel is efficient and friendly.

The front desk is unfailingly perky (even when someone is giving an unnecessary lecture on the difference between a debit and a credit card). There's only one thing that kept me from giving this a full five stars:

We booked a non-smoking room. When we got there, we were greeted with the strong smell of cigarette smoke. The front desk (perkily) said it was indeed a non-smoking room - maybe the last guest had smoked against the rules? They kindly offered to move us to another room, which we took. Later, we learned from another hotel employee that we were in fact assigned a smoking room, that the hotel often puts non-smoking guests in smoking rooms when they're full.

I mention this to inform other guests who may get the same treatment. We were clearly lied to, which I don't like, but when we spoke up they did fix things. I wouldn't advise anyone to not stay at the 5th Avenue Suites, but if you do, be open and politely vocal about anything you don't feel is right.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco/Orange County
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Kimpton has a way of making all their properties unique and classy. The 5th Avenue Suites is no exception. The lobby has a stunning fireplace and nice evening wine reception. The entire lobby is full of art and they even have an easle set up during the evening wine reception. The rooms are decorated in a cute french-modern theme with great bed linens, bath products and charm. The adjacent restaurant also has excellent food that should not be missed. The staff is helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the hotel is up-to-date and the art creates a homey atmosphere. This is the place to stay in Portland (one step ahead of "the Benson").

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

There is not much to add to the numerous excellent reviews already here, except to say that I agree. Excellent and outstanding. The staff was very accepting of my partner and I as a gay couple true to the Kimpton commitment to gay equality. They have my respect and admiration.

  • Liked — Excellent Downtown Location
  • Disliked — Parking not included
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Amex, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.