We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Lincoln City, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I love this hotel. The location in downtown is great with so many places to eat & shop within walking distance. But what constantly amazes me is their A++++ service. I mean every staff member (valet, housekeeping, front desk, room service, etc) is very friendly and cheerful. This time we extended our stay by a night as I got sick from a meal at the Portland City Grill (late night in the lounge) - the hotel staff were so thoughtful on checking to see if I needed anything, brought up complimentary bottled waters, and even offered to go get me whatever I wanted off site! Keep in mind I didn't get sick from their restaurant - it was from a totally unrelated place. I would easily recommend this hotel for business or relaxing stays.

Room Tip: We like the "King Suite" room type as it has the ability to close large french doors to gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    354
    68
    30
    16
See reviews for
407
948
158
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wade
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. This family trip included a life threatening hospital stay, an elderly family member that doesn't get around well, a car crash... and so you get the idea. However the staff at the Monaco went out of their way to look after and entertain an elderly member of my family while I dealt with emergencies. They were helpful, friendly and accommodating to everyone and the door man even left a get well card in our room. The rooms are beautifully appointed, comfortable and they offer coffee and wine in the lobby every morning and evening. The restaurant has great food and a good chocolate martini. I will visit Portland again, I will have a better trip next time and I will without a doubt be staying at the Monaco.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very nice stay for 5 nights in a king corner suite on the 8th floor. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. We really enjoyed all the little extras the hotel provided including free ice cream bars in the afternoon, ice cold flavored water by the lobby elevators, happy hour every night with free wine and/or beer, and complementary bikes. Hotel was in easy walking distance of many restaurants, museums, the Willamette River and many parks. Big, relaxing lobby with interesting decor. While the hotel has valet parking, we saved money and parked in a parking garage one block away.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for better city views
See more room tips
Green Features: Two trashcans in room - one for recycling. All hotels should do this.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Spent four nights at this hotel and thought it was quite lovely. The decor is a little funky, which I love and the place was not overly crowded, like some of the other hotels in downtown Portland. Our room was very nice and comfortable. It had a large bathroom and large windows that looked out into the streets. I loved the windows, but we could hear some of the traffic early in the morning. My only real complaint with the hotel is something that most of you won't experience (at least from what I've been told). One morning, I heard a "blub, blub" sound coming from the bathroom. I peeked into the bathroom and there were bubbles (yes, bubbles...lots of bubbles!) seeping out of the toilet and sink. I immediately called the front desk and alerted them. They sent maintenance, who was equally as confused as the front desk woman. The maintenance guy called his manager. The manager walked in, took one look and said, "Yep, I've seen this before. It only happens once every couple of years, and only in this room. We're not really sure why. We can switch you to another room, but I can almost guarantee it's not going to happen again." We were leaving the next morning anyway, so decided to stay. And he was right, it didn't happen again, but how odd? The maintenance manager was very nice and apologetic, but we never heard anything from the front desk about the incident.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I travel frequently to Portland and have stayed at many hotels in the downtown area and I must say the Hotel Monaco is my favorite hotel. The staff is always very friendly and helpful and are always willing to assist with making your stay enjoyable. The rooms are quite spacious compared to other hotels in the area and well decorated.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a suite, it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Perfect location,close to everything:stores,Voodoo Donuts,,the river,best restaurants,and so on.
Perfect staff:Jenna and Andrew from front desk( nice,courteous) and Joseph," the guy who knows everything from Portland".
Perfect room: king corner suíte: modern decor,really cool.
And the most Perfect city ever!!!I regret just staying 3 nights only!!!

By the way: Did I lose a navy blue sandal in room 817???I guess I am a kind of Cinderella,but maybe is na sign of the destiny to come back!!

Room Tip: KIng corner suíte!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, ID
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We chose this hotel because it's pet-friendly, and we were traveling with our beloved 70 pound standard poodle, Nemo. Nemo is well-behaved and welcome almost anywhere, but this hotel actually made special efforts for her.
Our room was large and very comfortable. The lobby was welcoming and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. The décor is opulent, I suppose in keeping with the "Monaco" theme.
The only drawback was the same as for every downtown hotel I've ever stayed in in Portland, Oregon: they pick up the garbage at 4:00 or 4:30 am, with a great, long-lasting clamor. Next time we stay in this hotel, and I do hope there will be a next time, I will try to remember to request a room away from that area.

Room Tip: Maybe something away from the entrance to the garbage pickup area.
See more room tips
Green Features: Thankfully they skipped all the admonitions about re-using towels for the sake of the environment. I like a fresh towel every day.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.