We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Great Programs for Guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #2 of 132 Hotels in Portland
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great Service and Great Programs for Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have been staying at Kimpton properties for many years now and have had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Monaco in Portland a couple of times previous.

As with the previous visits, the service was fantastic. While there were a few minor glitches, it was the way that they were handled that sets the Hotel Monaco apart from other hotels.

In addition, the programs that are offered to engage guests are well thought out. There is a wine hour in the lobby every evening and they also have a large jenga game to keep you entertained. There is an area for the kids to paint and do some artwork with the parents enjoy that wine hour and I also believe there is an ice cream hour or 2 in the afternoon.

I would highly recommend this hotel to others, and will certainly continue to stay at the Monaco when I am in Portland again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your recent review of the Hotel Monaco Portland on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the feedback. I noted that you enjoyed the items that we offer our guests that are engaging such as the wine hour, the paints and canvasses we put out nightly during wine hour, and the giant Jenga. We also offer complimentary coffee both hot and iced each morning, and our afternoon social ice cream bars from 2 pm to 4 pm. We also put out a selection of Wi games for the kids (but you would be surprised how many adults play). Each evening we feature a local, piano player on our baby grand, and on most nights we have something else interesting going on such as a Tarot Card reader, a local chocolatier, or brewery or winery. Plus, we bring in a ballon guy for the kids, and we feature a pet psychic for our guest that bring a pet. Speaking of pets while we do love our 4 legged family friends did you know that we have 3 hypo-allergenic guest room floors where a pet has (and will) never stayed, and the rooms are treated differently than the rest of the hotel. These hypo-allergenic rooms offer special heppa vacuum and room filters, which significantly reduce the dander and dust found in a normal hotel room. Plus, we have hypo-allergenic products such as soap, shampoo, lotions and conditioners available at no charge on request. We also have gluten free items in the private bar and a gluten free menu for our in room dining.

We really look forward to your next visit. If I can be of assistance please don't hesitate to email me.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    340
    63
    28
    14
See reviews for
391
908
152
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

******AMAZING STAFF *****!!!
My husband and I were recently displaced from our home due to water damage, and after getting the run-around from our insurance company, we found the Hotel Monaco in our most desperate hour. True to form, the hotel is an absolute oasis of serenity....palatial rooms, gorgeous decor, and truly the kindest staff EVER. They were so compassionate, giving us a bottle of wine and other goodies to help restore our sanity and repair our wounded spirits. Meghan at the front desk went above and beyond to help us in every way! After 20 years in television, I've traveled alot between LA, NYC, etc....and i have never experienced a place with such a genuinely caring staff.
I guess it shouldn't be surprising that a hotel so welcoming of pets has a heart of gold...but nonetheless, if you seek a truly friendly experience -- in addition to extraordinary fun and sumptuous accommodations -- look no further than Hotel Monaco. It's an absolute gem! Xoxo

Room Tip: Go for a corner room!
See more room tips
Green Features: They make every effort and do a good job! I honestly have no complaints, these guys rocked it!
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thanks so much for your recent Trip Advisor review. And thanks for your mention of Megan. I will make sure she sees this review, as I am confident she will be very pleased. On your next visit if I can be of service please don't hesitate to e mail me. Special occasions are my (and my hotel's) specialty.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on a work related trip to Portland. Our room was massive and was decorated in the unique Kimpton property fashion, with a great Portland vibe (bird wallpaper). The bed was very comfortable and there was a separate living room area with desk and free wi-fi. The location was terrific and allowed us to walk to much of what Portland has to offer. Like other Kimpton properties, they offer the nightly wine reception, along with flavored waters throughout the day and even an ice cream hour. The employees were all very helpful and friendly as well. You can never go wrong with a Kimpton hotel, especially this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the feedback. I noted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the hopefully near future.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

From the minute we arrived and were directed to the boutique valet parking it was clear that the Monaco was no ordinary Hotel. Plush interiors, complimentary wine hour, wii for the kids in the lobby alongside the quirky blackboard identifying the various canine guests all come together to create a first class holiday experience. The staff were genuinely pleasant, engaging and helpful - going out of their way to make suggestions and recommendations for our party. If you are in Portland then head for the Monaco

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A typical Kimpton hotel, with interesting room decoration, free wine reception each evening, free coffee in the morning and snacks in the afternoon. The suite was huge, and comfortable. A great location in the middle of downtown - everything is a short walk away. The only down side is the city noise on a Friday evening - this isn't the fault of the hotel but a result of its location. It was quite on a Saturday - July 4th may have contributed.

Room Tip: Because of the potential for street noise, the higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Kimpton always treats us well and we have yet to meet a room that is dull, uncomfortable, or poorly designed. But this Kimpton has by far been the friendliest, most energetic, and most welcoming we've stayed in--and that's really saying something. It's also quite large, worth noting as often the boutique-y and character-laden buildings Kimpton find themselves in are on the small side (a trade-off well worth it). This one is very spacious, both in shared spaces and private rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

No more cheap hotels for me! We had an enjoyable stay for two nights.
The underground valet was quick and professional.
The lobby was well appointed with free wine and live piano music from 4-6 PM.

Our room was very comfortable. Our King sized bed was great with over-sized, upholstered headboard. The bathroom was a good size. There was a small entrance area to the room that made the room feel like a separate bed room.

In the closet were two wild robes to wear.

The restaurant that is attached to the hotel is really nice. We had breakfast and lunch there. Reasonably priced as well. We paid $230 per night and $38 for parking per night.

Room Tip: Great find
See more room tips
Green Features: 50% off parking if you are driving a Hybrid vehicle.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.