We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little sleep due to outside noise” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #2 of 132 hotels in Portland
Birmingham, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little sleep due to outside noise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

I summary, I would have awarded the hotel 4 or perhaps 5 stars if it hadn't been for the noise during the night from construction work and the failure of the hotel to advise us of this in advance of our stay. We wouldn't have stayed there if we were aware of the noise, especially at nearly $300 a night.

We stayed at the hotel for four nights from September 25th 2008.

Our stay was one of real contrasts. The staff were the most helpful I have ever come across, the location is great for getting around central Portland and everything about the room was just right.

The downside was the noise outside the hotel due to construction works, particularly the failure of the hotel to inform us in advance of this noise nor amend their room rates to take account of this. This illustrates to me that the hotel is solely out to make money.

We were initially assigned a room on the Alder Street side of the hotel overlooking Macy's. Our sleep was disturbed at 4.30am as noise from the construction work started, which carried on until we got up the following morning. We then asked to move rooms to the other side of the hotel. This was actioned immediately my the front desk with little fuss, illustrating the hotels good points.

We then spent 2 nights with no disruptions to our sleep. However on the final night some roadwork started at around 11.30pm on the Washington Street and carried on through the night. This was the perfect preparation for our 12 hour journey back to the UK!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The noise!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,577
    320
    57
    28
    13
See reviews for
367
875
148
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We were eager to stay at the Monaco, after reading the overwhelming number of enthusiastic reviews. While a nice comfortable hotel, it didn't live up to the hype. For example the decor is seriously mis-matched, to the point of distraction. While this can work if done in a funky, eclectic manner, something tells me the designer felt he or she'd achieved a classy look and feel, rather than one that feels cheap and haphazard. Most bothersome was the sense the hotel was trying to squeeze out a few extra bucks at each turn. Everywhere we looked, we saw price tags from nearly everything: from the teddy bear on the bed to the robes in the closet to the surprising find of tacky underwear hanging in the closet (had it been worn?). It felt like we were on some cheap cruise seeking to score all the extra dough they could before the next sailing. I realize I'm dwelling on the negative: in truth, the suite was large, clean and well-priced; the staff friendly; the bed comfy and the hotel well-located. Our disappointment was in having the sense that we were customers, not guests. The fact that you should be prepared to pay $2/person for the "complimentary" wine hour says it all.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

Our week stay at Hotel Monaco could not have been better. My husband, adult daughter and I booked a suite with french doors separating the bedroom from the living room with pull out sofa. The funky but classy decor appealed to all of us. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom roomy. But best of all was the staff. Everyone - the valets, the doormen, the desk, even the Art, the resident dog - were "over-the-top" friendly and helpful. We were hiking and bicycling so benefited from the advice and experience all had to offer. Personal maps, guide books and experiences were offered daily. On each return from daily adventures, we were welcomed with a wine reception in the elegant lobby lounge. The restaurant, Red Star, was equally wonderful with great wait staff and exceptional food. We all agreed, the hotel was one of our all time favorites!!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — No fridge for personal items.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We arrived a little early and the room wasn't quite ready. The doorman pointed us in the direction of a super cafe/bar where we had a bite to eat and a couple of beers whilst the room was given priority housekeeping treatment. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite on the 10th floor. Building works across the street were a bit noisy at 7am, but not the fault of the Monaco's. The Red Star restaurant was undergoing a refit when we arrived and complementary room service breakfasts were supplied. The Red Star opened on the morning of our departure and we had breakfast there. It was very good with very attentive service. We met Art, the Director of Pet relations but he was too busy with a big bone to speak with us for long. Check out was smooth and accurate and a taxi was waiting to take us on to our next appointment. A most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

The staff were great, starting as soon as we parked the car and were given a map and suggestions for some sightseeing. Everything was the typical Kimpton quality. Great lobby, wine hour, amenities, staff, etc.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Furniture was worn, room wasn't clean, and the billing wasn't correct.
I found a hairpin on the floor!

  • Liked — the suite was huge
  • Disliked — room wasn't clean and furniture was worn
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

It was out first time in Portland and based on the reviews we decided to stay at the Monaco hotel. We enjoyed our stay there.
The room was comfy, with a nice lcd screen TV and DVD player, but very small.
The staff was very friendly and they recommended us a great Italian restaurant close to the hotel (Pazzo), but they forgot to mention we could get a 10% discount as a hotel guest there.
They had a nice happy hour event that I believe runs daily from 5-6 with wine tasting.
They had a parking that I think it's a little bit expensive ($29/day), but we left the car there for convenience. They had some printed directions from the hotel to some popular destinations in Portand, which it was nice.
The only bad thing about our stay I have to say is that the bathroom had a dirty towel behind the bathroom door.
And although we don't have pets, we could see that the hotel is very pet friendly. Lots of guests with pets and they even have a Labrador that is their pet relations that unfortunately we didn't meet.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.