We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: 10% Off!
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Consistent quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was one of a number if stays at the Monaco. Wonderfully consistent although a couple of niggles. After a long haul flight I was kept waiting 10-15 mins at checkin, then I got charged almost double the amount for one night. They said they would sort it and call me but never did. Greatcoat ion and the comfiest beds however. Would be even better if they sorted out the tv stations :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,830
    377
    72
    31
    16
See reviews for
435
1,004
166
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel! The decor is simply funky but wonderful! The staff was extremely helpful. Hotel Monaco treats guests to a wonderful free (donation to a local charity!) happy hour. They are also very pet friendly. The valet helped with directions and questions. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port hadlock
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The typical funky decor that Klimpton/Monaco is known for. The staff is friendly and helpful.
The location is excellent and the rooms are clean. Be sure to ask for a quiet room at reservation time, this is a busy city and as such, expect noise.
I liked this Monaco a little better than our Seattle Monaco.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here with a friend on a business trip 2 years in a row. Both times it was rainy and cold in Portland but the hotel is so beautiful and with such warm, friendly employees that even the weather seemed like a treat. If this hotel were in Seattle, I might want to sell my house and move in! The rooms are gorgeous. The entire hotel reminded me of Europe with very hight ceilings and ornate millwork. The food is fantastic! I recommend room service for breakfast. The few pets I saw looked quite happy too. The price is amazingly reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask what the view is outside of your windows. I was fine with any of them.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is very clean and fresh smelling. The sheets are only washed every night if you want them to be.
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny west coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

They have a warm friendly staff , great location, nice rooms, great lobby ...they really go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is enjoyable. They have great extras such as water and fruit available all day, coffee and a huge selection of papers in the morning, and evening wine and beer all in the lobby and all complimentary! The friendly service really stood out....everyone was warm and helpful...very unusual for a city hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel truly deserves five stars for its lively ambiance and stylish setting. On the last night of our vacation we had tickets to Feast Portland and opted to stay here for convenience—but we ended up loving the hotel on its own merits. Upon checking in (a bit early, thank you), we immediately embraced our quiet room on the 9th floor with its cushy king bed and plenty of amenities (though the minibar prices were rather steep). The decor is refreshingly cheeky; sort of like Jonathan Adler-gone-wild with retro-70s wackiness. Bold colors, broad strokes, clashing patterns, etc. It may not be for everyone, but we loved it. However, the best part was the delightful happy hour. When was the last time you stayed in a hotel with miniature golf, wii, and an art-painting station in the lobby? Can you say, like, NEVER? We had so much fun here and offer major thumbs-up to Kimpton for creating such an extraordinary place for travelers to relax, unwind, and have a total blast.

Room Tip: Our 9th-floor room was super dark and quiet. We didn't hear a peep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel Monaco is a fantastic hotel. It is perfectly situated in the heart of downtown Portland and the rooms are very nice. The real reason why this hotel is the best in Portland is because of the people working there. Everyone is extremely helpful (which you may find at a lot of places) but the staff really goes out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. They did more than ask if there was anything they could do to help they offered ideas and suggestions on their own and would take the time to have a conversation with you. Overall I found the experience to be one of the best I've ever had and would definitely recommend anyone to stay at this property. Oh and the happy hour every day with free beer and wine makes this place that much more unbelievable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.