We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fab 'kooky' decor and great recommendations from concierge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 35%
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Cardiff
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fab 'kooky' decor and great recommendations from concierge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, we arrived via the Amtrak and found it really easy to find. The room was great, really spacious and comfortable, with some great decor and finishing touches. The concierge was really helpful and gave us some great recommendations for places to eat for breakfast and dinner. We only managed to make it to one of the drinks evenings but had some very nice cocktail jars. The only thing we missed was meeting Timmy - maybe next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and for the TripAdvisor review. I enjoyed reading the nice comments about our location, guestrooms, and decor. Thank you also for the nice feedback about our concierge. I agree that he is excellent. I am sorry that you did not have the opportunity to meet Timmy while you were with us. Hopefully he will be working next time you stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our proximity to Amtrak. Hotel Monaco is within walking distance of the train station and is also accessible on MAX lightrail. Thanks again.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,721
    354
    68
    30
    16
See reviews for
408
948
158
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just spent a long weekend (Friday - Tuesday) in this fantastic hotel.

I made a note in our online reservation indicating that our kids were looking forward to another stay at the Hotel Monaco...and here's a tip, Kimpton definitely reads and responds to those reservation notes! When we arrived in our room, we were all delighted to arrive to stuffed toys (a shout-out to the hotel's friendly resident dog Timmy), a vase of flowers, and a half-dozen incredible doughnuts from Blue Star. What a welcome!

We stayed in a queen suite, and the room was in great condition. The beds were comfortable, and the somewhat-recently-renovated decor looks fantastic. Maid service was super-thorough; every day we'd come home to find that the cleaning staff had found socks, crayons, etc that had been "lost" in the room. The hotel's location can't be beat in terms of walkability to so many of Portland's amazing attractions - coffee shops, PSU farmer's market (and the saturday market), Powell's Books, and for travelers with kids, Finnegan's toys.

Thanks Hotel Monaco - can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review and for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland. I was happy to read that our staff responded to the notes you left in your reservation. The doughnuts sound amazing! Thank you also for the nice comments about Timmy and our houskeeping service. I hope we have the opportunity to see you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the Monaco for three nights while in Portland for a business meeting and I couldn't have been happier! My King Suite room was both functional and elegant. The bedroom was separated from the large sitting room by a set of huge sliding doors making it quite comfortable to have a small group in the room while keeping the sleeping area private. The bathroom is lovely also with alot of counter space. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. The Monaco also provides a well-stocked mini-bar and snack basket so be sure to sign up for the Kimpton In-Touch program to get the $10 mini-bar coupon!

The Hotel property is beautifully decorated with wide hallways and high ceilings - the lobby is a good meeting place with coffee/tea provided in the morning. There is also a wine hour - I missed it because I was working but hope to catch it the next time I come.

The only slight negative about this hotel is the valet parking. It is pricey and you need to drive your car down into the basement - you also need to go down to the basement every time you want to retrieve your car - you'd think they could bring it up for you especially when the hotel isn't busy.

Room Tip: Choose a King Suite if it is in your budget - it is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland. Thank you also for suggesting Kimpton In Touch, our guest loyalty program. A $10 Raid the Mini Bar credit is just one of the many benefits of this program. Thank you for the feedback about our valet parking. Hotel Monaco Portland offers on-site, secure valet parking for $38 per night. We also offer half-price parking for hybrids and electric vehicles. We do research our parking prices to ensure that they are competitively priced; however, it may be time to confirm that this is still the case. We will consider bringing cars to the front of the hotel when it is not busy.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a Saturday night at the Hotel Monaco on a checkout-Portland-outing. We very much enjoyed our stay. The entire staff from the doorman to the parking attendants to the desk clerks were all outstanding. Our Queen bed room was well acquainted and tastefully decorated. The windows do not open, but that proved to be a blessing. I had to take our dog out for a pee break at 2am, and there was a noisy crowd of 20-somethings at the street; I could not hear them in our room. The Happy Hours was good. The location was great: walking distance to the river walk, the Pearl District, and the Saturday Market (you can skip the market, unless you're into crafts). Great upscale , but not exorbitant pet friendly hotel. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your visit to Portland. Thank you especially for the nice comments about our staff. I agree that they are excellent. I'm glad you were able to bring your pet along for the trip and I hope we see you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I'm not the kind of person that writes reviews, but this was BY FAR the best hotel experience we've had as a family (Mom, dad and 4 kiddos) .Last year we went to Disneyland, and we stayed at the (overpriced) Disneyland hotel (Yes, we want to live the Disney experience at its best). Ok, now my kids prefer to go back to Portland instead of Disneyland, nothing more to say, huh?. We got one of the small suites (Not sure about the name) charming, colorful rooms, full of patterns. with two queen beds in the main room and one queen sofa bed in the "family room", two good sized LCD tv's, the room was clean, confortable, perfect. We asked for a yoga mat and a yoga block, a crib (I get a complimentary baby travel set of jhonsons products) a microwave, and the goldfish. We were welcomed with four stuffed bears for the kids, they were HAPPY. The staff was SUPER helpful and friendly!! I wish I had the name of this cute dark haired young woman in the front desk. She was beyond helpful!...GREAT location. We stayed there last month, for the easter weekend, so,each one of the kids get their easter basket and went to lobby for the hotel egg hunting, AWESOME. They get candies, chocolates, lettuce seeds for gardening (the best) one dollar bills, jewerly, stuffed animals, and special prizes (two kimpton leopard kids bath robes) .I'm looking forward to the next stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review and the excellent feedback. I'm very happy to read that your children are excited to come back to Portland and that they enjoyed their time with us. Our guests and staff always look forward to our annual Easter Egg hunt. It sounds like the Easter Bunny provided some nice goodies this year. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we see you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Point, Oregon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This may have been the best or at least in the top few hotel experiences we've had. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, right in the middle of downtown, so we could walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. The attached restaurant was quality and just wonderful. This place is a bit expensive, but it felt worth it and not for it's quality and location in Portland. And...they welcome pets. Our little dog was like a queen on the big pillow bed they supplied for her with her own dishes, new play toy, and organic treat. We've never stayed in a city with her before. Had to walk 3 blocks to a park for her to take care of business, but they were short blocks:) There was wine in the evening and hot chocolate in the morning in the lobby. This place is just great. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. Thank you for the excellent feedback about our staff, guestrooms, and location. I was happy to read that your dog enjoyed the stay at Hotel Monaco as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family and Boston Terrier stayed at Hotel Monaco for our final days in Portland. We lived in Portland for 11 years so this was a wonderful way to end our experience. We stayed in the King Suite and the decor was an explosion of pattern. Beautiful carpeting, wallpaper and chairs. We were welcomed with a doggy toy and bed for our beloved pet. The location is in the center of the city with my favorite small coffee shop (standing room only), Spella, within steps of the hotel. Spella has the most amazing chai in the city.

When we return, I would definitely book us a room here again.

Room Tip: Parking is a rip off at $38 dollars a night. My husband found a parking garage at ODS tower (Nordstr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for ending your time in Portland at Hotel Monaco. I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing your Boston Terrier along as well. I agree that Spella is excellent. Their baristas are friendly and make fabulous coffee. We're very lucky to have them a stones-throw from our front doors.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.