We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel for your Portland Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Special: Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 132 hotels in Portland
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel for your Portland Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I visited Portland this week, and stayed at the Monaco. The staff were exceptional. The room was terrific... quiet and large. They bring a gold fish to your room when you check in. Nice touch, but it didn't live too long. Other than that, this is a great spot, and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for staying and Hotel Monaco Portland and for the TripAdvisor review. I enjoyed reading the great comments about our staff and guestrooms. Thank you for the feedback about your goldfish. The care guidelines for our goldfish are rigorous and we follow them diligently. I am very sorry to read that we lost one. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and I hope we have the opportunity to see you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,508
    306
    55
    27
    13
See reviews for
350
840
143
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Monaco and had a great time. The staff and the restaurant were exceptional. The room was a bit small but the bathroom was big. One odd element was the night stand next to the bed that had 3 faux drawers which could not be opened, so storage space was limited. The housekeeping staff gave us extra coffee when we requested it.
I can't say enough about the staff. They were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the Portland area and gave us great advice on how to get around. If you want to know about "customer service" this is a prime example The wine hour was excellent.
The bar menu was really great and the breakfasts were superb and both were very reasonably priced. We couldn't have asked for better service. We're good tippers and felt that staff deserved every cent.
We also appreciated that the staff contacted us before our arrival to ask if there was anything they could do to make our visit better (restaurant reservations, travel tips, etc.)
We stayed with a AAA special rate which included free parking (in and out) which saved us $38 per night.
The location was fantastic, almost everything was within 3 miles and we walked everywhere.
We joined the hotel chain's loyalty program because we were so happy.
We didn't have our dog with us but were really impressed with their pet-friendly policy.
We give this hotel a strong recommendation.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel on the third floor. I think this might be a bit noisy for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the excellent TripAdvisor review and for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you especially for the nice comments about our staff. I agree that they are excellent. I appreciate the feedback about the faux drawers in our nightstands. Please contact us next time you stay with us and we would be more than happy to arrange for extra storage for your guestroom. We look forward to your next stay.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Monaco. It is very conveniently located near the MAX light rail system which we used to get to and from the airport. It is also near the river where we had a delightful run the next morning. The happy hour was so much fun, especially the balloon guy (kudos to you, Balloon Guy, I hope you read this!!!), with very nice wine. We also enjoyed the amazing, awesome, fabulous muffin-esque (but so much better than muffins) breakfast treats available with our morning coffee in the lobby. The hotel had the usual Monaco décor style, which I love - quirky and colorful and totally the opposite of your typical bland hotel décor. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The beds were very comfortable. The room was very quiet. The temperature control worked fine. There was a bathtub. I got a high floor as requested. All in all, the hotel, and our room, was all I could have expected, or even better. The only tiny quibble I have is that there could have been better light in the room, but you could say that about most hotels these days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland. I'm glad you were able to take MAX to and from Portland International Airport. It's convenient, inexpensive, and eco-friendly. Thank you for joining our complimentary evening wine reception. I'll be sure to pass the nice feedback on to Frank, our "balloon guy". Hopefully you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was so pleased with the service and quality of the hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful and when we tried to check in early and our room wasn't ready they called like they said they would and told us our room was ready. The sheets on the need were something from a 5 star hotel, very comfortable and plush. We didn't partake in any of the cocktail or morning free events but they looked busy. The location was great if you want to be somewhat close to the food trucks but none the less a very central location.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and for the nice comments about our service, linens, and complimentary evening wine reception. I was glad to read that our front desk staff called you when your guestroom was ready. I hope we have the opportunity to see you again next time in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time on our first visit to Portland, partly due to the great service and accommodations at the Monaco. All staff, from front desk to housekeeping were friendly and attentive. Loved the free happy hour in the beautiful lobby and the easy access to the delightful Red Star Tavern in the building. Our dog was warmly welcomed with her own bed, bowls and treats. The location is perfect for accessing the great shopping and walks around this lovely city. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your first visit to Portland. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I enjoyed reading the nice feedback about our guest service and complimentary evening wine reception. I hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again soon and that your dog will be able to return as well.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I were trying to decide between the Nines and the Hotel Monaco for our 4 day trip to Portland. We ended up picking the Monaco and we were not disappointed. From the second we arrived, we were treated like VIPs. The room was bright, large, and for considerably less money than the Nines, we got a suite divided into bedroom and common area. The hotel gym is great, and there's a happy hour every evening with live piano playing, free wine, and a great vibe. The style is kooky for sure, but kind of awesome - bold, playful, and fun. You will find yourself smiling your whole stay. Comfy beds, friendly staff, no brainer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco for your trip to Portland. We're glad you had a smile on your face! Thank you for the great feedback about our guestrooms, gym, and complimentary evening wine reception. I hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First time in Portland and found Hotel Monaco a great hotel to stay. Good location in walking distance to downtown, Pearl Area, near great restaurants. The Front Desk staff as well as concierge, porter, doorman, etc... were very friendly & helpful. Would stay at this hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review and for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay wtih us and that you were able to take advantage of our location. Thank you also for the great comments about our staff. I agree that they are excellent.

Craig Thompson
General Manaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton
Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Amex, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.