We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monaco Fit for a King” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Ogden, UT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Monaco Fit for a King”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Warning: the streets around the hotel are full of 20 yr old transients and you will be approached non stop for money. What a blight on this beautiful city. Now, on with the review.
Let me start with the Rooms. As you have seen from pictures the decor is eccentric and eye catching. Floor to ceiling the colors, shapes and designs are mesmerizing. My single king room had a separate sitting room with fold out couch. Bathroom was large and clean. I give this property high marks. Not sure if there is anything I disliked here. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review. I enjoyed reading the nice comments about our newly-decorated guestrooms. Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and we hope you'll stay with us again in the not-too-distant future.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,720
    354
    68
    30
    16
See reviews for
407
948
158
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, Il
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked our hotel and immediately became excited when we received an email from them asking about our preferences. A little over a week before our arrival I was sent an email from the front ask asking if we needed anything to make our stay more comfortable or if there was they could help us with. I asked for breakfast recommendations and told them it was a girls weekend. I fully expected them to respond with their hotel restaurant for food, but got a list of places that were fantastic and what the locals themselves recommended. We also had a bottle of wine and champagne brought to us, so our conversation "didn't run dry." They were so helpful in every way. I loved the leopard robes and decor. The shampoo and conditioners were even nice. They offer free bikes, had wine during happy hour and free transit tickets for "earth day/week." I will come back and now stay at their other properties. I didn't give it perfect score because our room smelled smokey to us the whole time and we were told it wasn't a smoking room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the very nice TripAdvisor review. I was happy to read that our staff sent you an email prior to your arrival and that your response was followed-up by some sparkling wine and nice recommendations. I'm glad you had the opportunity to stay with us during Earth Week. Thank you for the feedback about the smoky smell in your guestroom. I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and together we will walk our guestrooms to ensure there are no errant smoky smells. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I really appreciate the Kimpton properties and so far all of our experiences have been very good ones! Last Friday my husband was trying to get home form the east coast and several delays caused him to make it to Portland instead of our home town. We decided to make an adventure out of my trip to pick him up, and so we booked a night at the Monaco! I hopped in my Mini and headed in. The first thing that I appreciated was being able to pull off of the busy city street to their lower level valet parking. It was so nice and the attendents were really nice! The property has a really nice atmosphere, fun color schemes and personality. The check in staff was also very nice. Our room was really great, fun decor and roomy! After an early afternoon run along the Portland River front (and then a shower – of course) we went into the adjacent Red Star Tavern to check it out. The place felt good, lots of natural light from windows and we noticed they were having a happy hour.. perfect timing for us! Our server was very nice and attentive, and the food we ordered from the happy hour menu was very good! We then proceeded to the Monaco's evening reception. Someone was playing the piano and they were serving a few snacks and some bevs. We walked around and enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere of the event.
The next morning there was a coffe bar set up with some VooDoo doughnuts. It was a fun novelty to select one of these for an a.m. snack.
Our overall experience was really great, and the hotel location is really nice for walking/running to everything we wanted to do.
P.S. - in the room were some very fun robes to wear, tiger and cheetah theme!

Room Tip: The view from our room was of the Macy's building, but that was OK for us..If you would like a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco Portland and for the nice comments about your stay with us. I'm glad that you were able to make the best of your husband's delayed return home. I'll be sure to share the nice feedback about Red Star Tavern with the restaurant manager and chef. Hopefully we'll see you next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The room was nice enough but I think overpriced. Staff very nice and we did get free valet parking which made the high price not so bad. Convenient location for walking to restaurants,saturday market,etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and for the nice comments about our staff. I was happy to read that you received complimentary parking. Thank you for the feedback about the price of our guestrooms. Our room rates change and are based on availability. Our room rates include complimentary coffee and tea in the morning as well as a complimentary wine reception every evening. We do our best to ensure that our pricing is competitive but it may be time to take another look at our prices for the upcoming summer season. Thank you for the comments and I hope we see you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have never recieved such impecable service from a hotel staff! I received an email a few days before my trip to see if there was anything they could set up in my room prior to arrival. At check-in Tim and Joe at the front desk spent a good 10 mins with us on a map showing us good places to go and breweries to try out and were excited to do so (no one else was behind us waiting). The decor of the hotel and rooms are beautiful and well kept, and very comfortable. Daily wine and beer happy hour is great! Great location in downtown, quick walk to alomost anything. Overall great experience and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room was on the 5th floor, good view of downtown and really quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the TripAdvisor review and for the nice comments about our staff. I agree that they are excellent. Thank you especially for the nice comments about Tim and Joseph. I'll be sure to share your feedback as I know they'll be pleased. Hopefully we'll see you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great staff from check-in to check-out - they genuinely seem pleased to see you and go out of their way to be as welcoming and helpful as possible. Rooms are large and very comfortable - and there's always something interesting to look at. Excellent location - can walk to river front, Saturday market, Japanese and Chinese Gardens, Powell Books and Pearl district. Spencer, the concierge, always had just the right suggestion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hotel Monaco on TripAdvisor. I enjoyed reading the nice comments about our staff. I agree that they are excellent. Spencer was recently promoted to Concierge and has been doing an excellent job. I'll be sure to share your comments with him as I know he'll be pleased. Thank you for staying and we hope to see you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I am becoming a big fan of Kimpton hotels. The guest manager contacted me beforehand to ask if there was anything the staff could help with. I asked for some suggestions on shopping and dining and her recommendations were perfect! I also mentioned it was a special weekend for my husband and I and they surprised us with a bottle of champagne and rose petals on the bed.

I loved the witty and posh decor, and their complimentary wine social included a cocktail, beer and snacks. It was clearly popular and seemed to be THE social spot in town. Other nice touches included Timmy the pet relations manager, free bike tours, and free minibar credit to members. I had a magical weekend in Portland and have the hotel to thank.

The location was in walking distance to Old Town and Pearl District for many of the top restaurants, shopping and nightlife.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Monaco Portland. I'm glad that our guest services staff contacted you and arranged for recommendations and a bottle on sparking wine. Thank you for joining our complimentary evening wine reception and I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Amex, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.