We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Kimptons!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #2 of 133 hotels in Portland
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“I love Kimptons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

HUGE room, lavish bathroom, free min-bar, coffee bar in the morning, beer and wine in the evenings, and incredible staff - why stay anywhere else?! I had 2 big screens in the room and a super plush robe. I love a good robe.

Room Tip: Join the loyalty program - they'll hook you up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank for for the review and I'm happy to read that you had a great stay. Thank you for the tip about joining our guest loyalty program, Kimpton InTouch. As a Kimpton InTouch member you'll receive a Raid the Mini bar card when you stay with us - perfect for late night snack attacks! Thank you also for the excellent comments about our staff. I'll be sure to pass them along.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,089 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,646
    338
    63
    28
    14
See reviews for
391
908
152
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, ID
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Super friendly service and great rooms right in the heart of Portland! The hotel is also easy to get to, for those who don't like big city driving... There are coffee makers in the rooms, which is not standard for Kimpton hotels, so it is a nice bonus. As with all Kimptons, there is a wine hour every night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and for the great comments about your time with us. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

You can't beat this hotel's location in downtown Portland. It is walking distance to all the great restaurants and shopping and right next to the street car. The lobby is beautifully decorated for the xmas holidays and they have a fabulous complimentary happy hour each night at 5 p.m. including live music. With the fireplace and xmas decorations and bright red walls, it was like a xmas postcard. They also have complimentary starbucks coffee and hot chocolate each morning. We had a huge king suite which is two rooms separated by a sliding door. Loved the space; however, they did remodel all the guest rooms recently and they are now very normal which some people will love, I preferred the bright colors and wild schemes, but that was the only flaw of an otherwise great stay. As people have mentioned they love dogs there, and they are even in the bar at happy hour which I loved. We didn't bring ours, but I loved seeing them everywhere. They have great customer service and are extremely helpful. Would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: I would definitely get a King Suite as they are larger than most of the other hotels in Portland. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for the review and for the great comments. I'm glad that you were able to join us for our complimentary evening wine reception. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your King Suite. As you mentioned our rooms have been recently renovated in the image of the Pacific Northwest. Below is the design statement written by Gino Castano, our designer. Reading Gino’s statement really helped me to understand the elements he was focusing on.

Hotel Monaco Portland - Design Statement

Influenced by the natural beautiful forests and mountains that surround Portland, the newly
renovated Hotel Monaco Guest Rooms look to bring that experience inside. With a twist and
whimsicality that has come to be the trademark of the Monaco brand. the palette was inspired by
the pine green colors of the Willamette Valley, the orange sunsets on the Columbia River, the
gray skies of a long Oregon winter and the lovely gardens of the City Of Roses. All of this is
intermingled with geometric fabrics, high gloss lacquer finishes and touches of gold and polished
chrome details throughout the room for a very layered design aesthetic.
The wall covering sets the stage for the spacious room with local birds of Oregon in flight as if
emerging from the over scaled “cage like” fretwork inspired carpet in orange and greige colors.
Stepping into the Living Room, the guest is greeted by bright blue chevron patterned upholstered
sofa with graphic black and white pillows crowned by a hand-crafted branch inspired circular
mirror. The birds look as if they are dancing and flying thru the branches. The octagon desk with a
boldly scaled hourglass base is flanked by a handsome task chair upholstered in an MC Escher
inspired fabric and an over stylized lounge chair in contemporary birch trees on a crisp winter
day. The sense of discovery continues as the guest turns on the desk lamp to find they are greeted
by duck feet as an homage to the University of Oregon and a piece of artwork that is inspired by
Mt. Hood. One truly feels as if they have stepped into a forest.
Moving past the dramatic sliding doors into the Bedroom, the guest is greeted by an extravagant
headboard framed in an orange lacquer finish with an exuberant tartan pattern bed skirt and
matching bed pillows in lilac, citrine, tawny and charcoal colors. Modern day amenities like data
ports are conveniently located at each nightstand making sure the guests needs are met at all
times. After the long day of shopping in Pioneer Square, the guests can relax on the brightly
colored forest green hybrid bench/chair with fuchsia feet while taking in a contemporary print of
the Columbia River Gorge.
The nature inspired experience continues in the bathroom with an architecturally inspired wall
covering with famous buildings and monuments of Portland and beyond: St. Johns Bridge, Vista
House and the Pioneer Clock Tower. An emerald art deco mirror is high lighted by a stylized branch
sconce. The centerpiece of the room is a custom feature ceramic tile in the shower, by a local tile
company of an 18th Century illustration of a rose: The crowning centerpiece of the famous
summer festival that represents this charming city of the Pacific Northwest.

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco Portland and I hope we'll see you next time you're in town.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

BRRRR--that's my word for Portland in December--but nice hotel, good staff, good location. The young woman at check-in sympathized with my freezing state and sent me to nearby Macy's where I bought boots.
Book early for a good rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for the tripadvisor review. I'm happy to read that our staff pointed you in the direction of some warm winter boots!

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel in Portland! It is animal friendly, clean, and affordable! What more could you ask fit? The staff was also very friendly and helpful...plus it was in a great location too! I will be returning!!! :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the amazing comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I make 2-3 trips a yr to Portland Oregon . Tipically I try a different hotel each time. We have found our spot to stay and continue to return to! It is the Monaco Hotel ! The location is great for shopping, eating, and even a little gambling half a block away ! The hotel staff are fun, caring, and knowledgeable . The restraunt in building is the Red Star. The food is superb !! The rooms are large and comfortable . They have a huge beautifully decorated room directly off the lobby that they host every night of the week from 5:00-6:00 pm a wine/ beer hr for guests to visit and Listin to the piano music. We enjoyed this very much. Good company, good music, good drink, and good snacks.
We are done jumping from hotel to hotel. We found what we love at The Hotel Monaco ! Thank you to all staff for the treatment we recieved!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Wow! It's excellent to hear that Hotel Monaco is now your permanent Portland home. Thank you so much! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, staff, and our complimentary evening wine hour. Thank you for the excellent comments about our on-site restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House, as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a little north of the center of downtown Portland. The street car is right there. They have parking for guests at a price, if you drive a hybrid you get half off. The staff would cause me to come back. To the person they were all happy and very helpful. The rooms were clean and they tend up upgrade you if the house is not full. The price was less than you would expect down town but more costly than a hotel 6. All in all it is a great bargain for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Monaco Portland and for the excellent comments about our staff. I'm glad to hear that you were upgraded during your stay. I hope we see you again next time you're in Portland.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.