We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kimpton's newest fan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #2 of 132 Hotels in Portland
San Diego
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Kimpton's newest fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We got a great deal on this top rated hotel. It must have been off-peak season to visit Portland (hence the constant rain). We were late getting to Hotel Monaco but were greeted kindly by the front desk staff. She understood how tired we were and when it was going to take just another minute to check us into the system, she apologized and had us sit in their impressive lobby. We got the king sized room which was amazing. It was bigger than most apartments and the price was a steal. It was tastefully decorated and unlike other hotels, it was laid out in a very functional and liveable way. The room was quiet too, you couldn't hear any street noise and we never heard anyone at all in the halls. And since we were in Portland, they put up wallpaper and "put a bird on it". The bathroom was great, bed comfortable, and helpful magazines to inform us about where to go. They even had free New York Times on Sunday which was a great surprise for me, I'm used to the USA Today in hotels. Also every night there was a happy hour in the lobby with drinks, piano playing, and conversation. They have every supply you need if you forget anything.

Everyone was nice and the hotel was classy but definitely not pretentious. My wife and I are now going to seek out other Kimpton hotels when we travel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Wow - thank for being Kimpton's newest fan! I'm sorry that you had to visit Portland during rainy season; however, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay despite the weather. Thank you for the excellent feedback about the front desk staff. I'm glad you enjoyed our wallpaper as well. Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,676
    343
    65
    28
    14
See reviews for
397
925
152
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'm always impressed by the courtesy of the front desk staff, and their sincere efforts to make the stay wonderful.
The hotel rooms are cozy and very attractively decorated with a quirky combination of old-world charm and art deco?
All the Kimpton hotel features are in play, exotic robes, mini-bar raids, social hours.
My favorite place to stay when traveling to Portland, by far!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 3rd floor to avoid any street noise reaching your windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I'm so glad that we're your favorite place to stay while you are in Portland. Thank you! Thank you also for recognizing our front desk staff. I will make sure to pass your comments on to them. Thanks again.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We happened to be in Portland on a beautiful sunny weekend and stayed at the hotel Monaco. We loved the location, easy to walk or use public transportation to everywhere. The decor was wild with many different prints and patterns but this added to the great vibe. Our room was large with a nice sized bathroom and tub. Beds were comfortable with nice bedding. The staff at the front desk were exceptionally helpful, especially when we had to call them to ask for directions. Best of all, the fragrance that is piped in to this hotel was wonderful. I am allergic to many smells, but loved this fragrance that wafted through the lobby. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for staying at Hotel Monaco! I'm happy to hear that the front desk was able to help you out with directions while you were with us and that you enjoyed the decor. Hopefully we'll see you again in the near future.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Another amazing stay at the Hotel Monaco...ten years that four BFFs visit Portland for a much needed moms get-away weekend. From the valet service (friendly, and drive that hairpin corner in the garage for me EVERY year) to the doormen (friendly, fun, and helpful with directions). The rooms do not disappoint...EVER. Comfy beds, great decorating, and prompt service. Super location for dining, shopping, site-seeing, all walking distance. Since then, I make a point to search for a Kimpton property when traveling. I've stayed in San Diego, New Orleans, and Seattle and all have that familiar 'home' feel. Can't wait to try NYC someday!!

Room Tip: Queen and King suites have french doors that separate living from sleeping...corners are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Ten years of staying with us with your best friends? That's a great tradition - thank you so much for staying with us for so many years. Thank you for the great comments and for remaining a loyal Kimpton guest. We appreciate it!

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

All the great reviews I read on tripadvisor were true indeed!! They were nice enough to upgrade us to a suite on the hypoallergenic floor upon our arrival. A bottle of champagne was left in our room while we went out to lunch which was a very pleasant surprise! The room and decor are eclectic and tastefully done. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Entire property seemed to be well kept and exceptionally clean. The attached hotel bar/restaurant was great and convenient. The wine happy hour hosted by the hotel was lively and enjoyed by lot of guests. You CAN'T ask for better location for getting to MAX light rail, restaurant and shopping..etc. Thank you for making our stay in Portland memorable. This is my first stay with the Kimpton Hotel and I am totally sold on the idea!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the excellent comments. I'm glad that you had a memorable stay in Portland and thank you for choosing Hotel Monaco. I'm glad you were upgraded to a suite on our hypoallergenic floor and that you received a complimentary bottle of champagne. Thank you for joining us at wine hour and for the plans to continue staying with Kimpton Hotels!

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

You just can't go wrong staying at a Monaco. This wonderful hotel in downtown Portland has everything--location, upscale decor, comfort, great service, and winning attitude. The lobby area is lovely and we loved the evening happy hour and morning coffee/tea.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for the tripadvisor review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm happy to read about our winning attitude! Hopefully you are able to come back and stay with us again soon.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Loved this hotel. Stayed for 2 nights on business and felt both well-taken care of and in the center of things. The staff was amazing--plus, they fedexed my power cord back to me when I left it behind. They had great recommendations for dinner, though I also really liked the hotel restaurant. It's convenient, well-kitted out, hip but never snooty. And the rooms are big.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Monaco Portland and for the great review! I'm happy to hear that you had an excellent experience with our staff and that they were able to get your power cord to you! Thank you also for visiting our on-site restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House.

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Amex, Reservation Counter, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.