We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: 10% Off!
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunset Beach, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Loved this hotel from the moment we walked in the door. The staff was professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Everyone from the front desk check-in to housekeeping were helpful with any question or request we had. Their recommendations of where to eat, shop and, sightsee were always spot-on. The automatic upgrade in rooms didn't hurt, either! We loved the evening wine hour and the pianist; who played the most beautiful music.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks so much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. If I had to choose two words to describe the Hotel Monaco Portland those wrods would be romantic and Fun.

We look forward to your next visit.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,830
    377
    72
    31
    16
See reviews for
435
1,004
166
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Really loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home. The room was decorated very well and had a very comfy bed with plenty of great feather pillows. The doormem arrainged for a cab to pick us up from the airport and gave us helpful directions and info about things to do and see in Portland. A great restaurant was attached to the hotel and we had some really wonderful food there. The location was also a plus we walked to just about everything we wanted to see in the city. We would certainly stay there again and highly reccommend it and oh yes I almost forgot the wine and snacks served in a beautiful room complete with a baby grand piano and gentlemen playing.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a room with a sitting area and two tvs for slightly more than the standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your review of the Hotel Monaco Portland. We are very happy you enjoyed your visit.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel has the amenities and comforts of a boutique hotel. The hotel has wonderful character in decor, design, and activities. It is in Downtown Portland, a short walk from the river and park, eclectic lunch truck opportunities for hit and run eating, and great shopping. The staff at the hotel is exceptional in providing service. We arrived before the check-in time and the room was not available. We were directed to the Red Star restaurant, and when the room became available, our key was delivered to us. A favorite feature for me was the resident Lab named Timmy. Timmy is a beautiful golden retriever who works Tues - Saturday. Nothing like a good nuzzle with a wet nose to make you feel right at home. The rooms are spacious and the daily wine (and local beer) reception (free by the way) in the lounge with overstuffed chairs made for a relaxing stay (even though we were there on business). I'm seldom impressed by hotels any more - but the Hotel Monaco caught my attention. I will stay at another Kimpton hotel for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your review of your visit to the hotel monaco Portland. Your feedback is so important to all of us. I noticed you mentioned Timmy our lobby dog. He is a cool dude, and we all love him so. He was a guide dog in his prior career. We had the extraordinary opportunity to work with Guide Dogs For The Blind out of Gresham, and what a great organization it is. We partnered on some fund raising activities and did pretty well.

Timmy misses you so hurry back.

Thanks

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed one night while in town to tour colleges with son. Very welcoming staff, great room. Would recommend for a stay in downtown Portland, in walking distance to restaurants and Powell book store. Parking was expensive but easy access to garage under hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your recent review of the Hotel Monaco Portland. Looks like you had a great stay. Regarding overnight parking I did want to point out that all of the better hotels in downtown Portland charge for parking. Also, our garage is on premisies so security is a guarantee, as it is manned 24 hours a day with lockable gates.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thanks

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed in a Kimpton Hotel and I am a rewards member. I just have to say how wonderful this hotel group is. I am on business and got sick. I came back to ask the front desk about food deliveries and she offered me free chicken soup and mighty leaf green tea. I got that food within 15 minutes of getting upstairs. The amenities are superb. The bathroom gels and soaps are really nice even on my sensitive skin. They have tazo teas and starbucks coffee. The bed and pillows were just right and since I'm a rewards member, i get free wifi and $10 worth of minibar food. This makes my business trip so much easier. If i could, I'd stay at a kimpton hotel every single time I go on business travel :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks so much for your review of the hotel monaco Portland. We really try to wow our guests, and iw as happy to njote that our reception desk took good care of you. we look forward to your next visit.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Staying at Hotel Monaco was just what we expected having stayed in a couple others. Great service, off-beat decor, spacious room -- with a hugable stuffed bear in the middle of the bed. It is a pet-friendly hotel, but you can request a pet-free room. Location was convenient to public transit and walkable to many neighborhoods and sites. The Red Star Tavern has good food, friendly and efficient service and is open for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a fun bar.

Room Tip: Our room faced Macy's so it didn't have much of a view but it was quiet enough on the weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your recent review of our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback. "Off beat decor" is not how I would characterize our decor, but I can certainly understand your use of these adjectives. I am more comfortable with "Surprising Decor", or "not boring decor".

Also, you did note we have pet free rooms available. Not only are these pet free rooms but they are also hypo allergenic. This means that we use special vacuum cleaners and room filters equipped with Heppa filters that reduce dust and dander in the air. We offer gluten free mini bar items. We offer special hypo-allergenic soaps and shampoos on request. We offer synthetic comforters and foam pillows (no down). And we use allergen and scent free cleaning products selected for their hypo allergenic features.

We hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was very surprised by how great Hotel Monaco is. We have 3 people and got a 2 beds room without a problem. ( booked on priceline, called ahead to request a 2 beds room) . The room is huge with separate living room and 2 tv. Nicely decorated and furnished. They even has a little stuffed bear on the bed to welcome you. WIFI is free if you sign up for their free membership. It's dog friendly (I have seen several family with their dogs staying here).
They provided afternoon snack time in the lobby when we stayed (lemonade and ice cream)
The only downside is the valet parking (The service is good..just kinda pricey $35)

Location is also great! one street north on 5th ave are some food truck. Try Brunch Box if you are there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review of our wonderful hotel. Glad we surprised you (in a good way).

We look forward to your return visit.

Thanks again,

Craig

Craig Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.