We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in downtown Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 35%
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in downtown Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my recent visit to the Hotel Monaco.

First of all the hotel is located in the heart of downtown Portland and convenient to absolutely everything you need to do in town. Portland is a very cool city with excessive and convenient public transportation. The trains and trolleys in a large section of town are free. You can also take the train from the airport for $2.40. The hotel is just a few blocks from the nearest downtown stop. You're just a short walk from the wonderful Saturday artists market down by the river.

The staff could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. The hotel, like all Kimpton properties, hosts a free wine reception each afternoon. Hotel Monaco added a wonderful ice cream and lemonade event in the lobby for the Summer. All were really nice and the ice cream selections were extensive. One of my friends lost her bracelet when we were checking out. The staff found the bracelet and held it for her until we could get back to retrieve it. They were even willing to mail it to her in Tennessee.

The on-site restaurant was exceptional. We had dinner there our first night and it was fantastic. If you're looking for a great cocktail try their signature Red Star drink. We had several over our three day stay. Other great nearby food options include Mother's for breakfast (awesome!) and Mama Mia's which is Italian.

The hotel is in a classic older building and the room windows are huge. My room had a huge bathroom. (We actually had two because I was lucky and got upgraded to a suite) The lobby is very spacious and comfortable with lots of comfortable seating and a fireplace. To me, the only downside to the hotel were the furnishing in my room.

While they were unique, colorful, and quirky which I usually like, these seemed a bit dated and clashed just a bit. Instead of an unusual design it seemed as if random furnishings had been placed together in the room. Not a problem at all, just an observation. The bed on the other hand was amazing!

Overall, our stay was enjoyable and we would definitely return. You'll love Portland!

Room Tip: While in town you won't really need a car. We rented one on our third day for trips outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,725
    354
    68
    30
    16
See reviews for
409
950
158
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Hubby had a business trip to Portland and his company made reservations at Hotel Monaco Portland. There are so many good things to say, I'll just list them

Pet friendly, kid friendly
Free afternoon ice cream, lemonade and art for the family 2-4 p.m.
Free wine, beer, live piano in the wonderful lobby
Free lobby coffee, tea, newspapers
Free gym, and on demand (TV yoga) I used this, great! Occasional Yoga classes at the hotel, ask!
Yoga mats (free) and bicycles ($5) for guests
Lovely room - 2 queens, suite
Fun decor in the rooms - good eye for whimsy
Wonderful staff throughout the hotel
free wifi, at least for Kimpton Reward Club members
Plenty of electrical outlets, multiple power strips just where you needed them

We made great use of our suite, having room service breakfast every day before leaving for our 5 day conference at the Portland Conference Center, just a free metro ride over the Willamette River.

The decor of the hotel was quirky and fun, whimsical but totally comfortable. Time in the hotel was a refuge, but the entire downtown just out the front door beckoned us outside during our free time. the concierege directed us to one great restaurant just 2 blocks away - Little Bird, and we found others on our owm: Urban Farmer next door, the hotel's Red Star Tavern & Roast House. I had lunch at Luc Lac Vietnamese Kitchen several days too. over a thousand restaurants in Portland, something for every tast and budget.

Just as I am typing this review, I see a $20 per day coupon for the adjoining Red Star Tavern through TripAdvisor. So check here first for some discounts!!

If you select this fabulous hotel you will have a great time

This isn't a cheap hotel,

Room Tip: We only saw our 6th floor room, so no opinion on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Monaco is a lovely hotel in a nice neighborhood of downtown Portland. Walkable to any and everything, including the Pearl District. Complimentary ice cream in the afternoon and wine in the early evening. A nice gym and an incredibly knowledgeable and helpful staff. Excellent, comfortable beds, large rooms. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are lovely. Try to get a higher floor, downtown is always noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Loved this hotel. Service was impeccable, evening wine tasting great. Coffee in the morning, with a great selection of newspapers, was appreciated. Room was so wonderful and different -- eclectic decorating by someone with a good eye. Fun!

And when I discovered that what I had THOUGHT I had booked for two nights through an outside booking agency, turned out to only be for one -- the manager was so helpful, kind, and managed to get us our same room so we didn't have to move -- for a slightly better price even.

This stay was 50-something me and my 80-something mom, so "friends" is closest to the description of the group. But it was perfect for US. The location was ideal. The beds were super-comfy. And the service, as I said, was above and beyond. Pricier than my usual hotel -- worth the extra $$ for this particular visit. Thank you! Oh -- and Matt, the doorman for most of our stay, was AWESOME. He always managed to direct us to the perfect spot for our breakfast, lunch, dinner. He listened to what WE wanted (like a Starbucks) and managed to find us something as quick and efficient, but with a local flavor. Loved JavaMan for breakfast (2x). Mothers was worth the extra block - great lunch, which he steered us to, rather than letting us revisit Pazzo - which was also wonderful. But he kept us adventuring. Thanks, Matt!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was very happy with our stay at Hotel Monaco. We were kicking off our honeymoon, and we were welcomed with champagne on ice and rose petals on the bed! The decor was very fun and vibrant, and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. We rode complimentary bikes around town to numerous breweries, restaurants, and a blues festival during our stay. The location is perfect for enjoying downtown Portland. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Funtastic long weekend get-a-way at the Hotel Monaco. Great room, the hotel arranged a driver for a wine tasting trip, friendly wine and cheese in lobby in the afternoon to share travel tips and dogs. We loved the dog friendly place. furtastic/funtastic.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, NY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I read all the reviews and looked at all the photos so I knew what to expect. The decor is quirky and fun, the staff is very friendly, the location is perfect, the room was really big, the shower had good pressure, the restaurant had an excellent breakfast, the wine hour was a big plus (even though my husband was always napping at that time) and all the dogs were well behaved. We stayed on a floor that did not allow pets and you would never know they were there. We had a great time eating our way through Portland and if we ever go back, this is where we will stay for sure!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.