We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Nights at the Hotel Monaco Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: 10% Off!
Ranked #2 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“4 Nights at the Hotel Monaco Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Staff: My trip to Portland was made more enjoyable by the Hotel Monaco staff. I was in town for a convention being held by the University of Oregon and was impressed from the moment I walked through the front door and was greeted by the front desk agent. I had a package shipped directly to the hotel prior to my arrival, and while I was being checked in the agent informed me that my package was available. Each time I had a question or concern the staff was quick to answer/resolve with a smile.

Amenities: The lobby area to the right of the entrance is spacious and welcoming. They have a mixer each night from 5-6 with free beer and wine. They had a pianist playing to provide ambiance. One of the additional touches that I found family friendly was that they have a tv set up with a Wii, crayons & coloring books, and an easel and paint to keep the children entertained. They provide free wi0fi if you sign up for their loyalty program which was nice. The workout facility has newer equipment that was all in working condition. The cable channels were different, and more abundant in the gym than in the hotel room itself which was a little weird. I do not think they had a pool/sauna which is the only thing that would have made it a complete fitness center. They also offer complimentary "rental" bikes if you have time for it; they ask for a donation of $5 to support the local biking community which is very reasonable.

Pets: This is a pet friendly location. There were several guests walking around with their dogs. They also offer pet goldfish which can be delivered to your room...yes, that is for real.

Room: The rooms were designed and decorated very similar. There was a "living room" area with a tv, sofa with pullout bed, desk, and a stocked mini fridge. There were sliding doors to separate this area from the bedroom which had very comfortable queen beds, and a flatscreen tv on top of a dresser. Everything was clean and well presented.

Food: There is a restaurant downstairs with a direct entrance from the lobby. From the outside it looked like a relaxed local pub but once inside it was more of an upscale dining restaurant. If you are looking for a nice sit down dinner it may be fine, but we were not looking for a $20 burger so we asked the front desk for some local suggestions and they recommended a couple brewpubs and the "pods" (food trucks/carts) that are two blocks north; we ate at the pods for 4 days and was able to get something completely different each day that tasted incredible.

Cost: I prefer to spend my $$ on activities so at $220+ per night I generally would not stay at a downtown location like the Monaco, but I received a discounted rate of almost 50% off due to the convention I was there for which made it a great deal. Even at the normal full rate it is comparable to other hotels in a downtown area, yet you get more for that amount here than at a Hilton or Westin or Hyatt .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I am so glad you had the chance to stay with us and experience all of the great amenities we offer. It was a pleasure to have your group in the hotel and we look forward to your next stay.

P.S. Now that you are a member of Kimpton InTouch your are eligible for all kinds of great rates at all of our properties around the United States. Happy Travels!

Warmly,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,830
    377
    72
    31
    16
See reviews for
435
1,004
166
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Just came back from a comfy and classy stay at Hotel Monaco. Loved the decor throughout the entire hotel and the spacious room. Very soft pillows and linens. Great nightly happy hour in lobby. Staff was beyond professional and courteous. Pet friendly, but if no pets you stay on the hypo-allergenic floor and can get a free goldfish in your room for your stay--cute amenity!! Food at the Red Star restaurant next door was amazing, though not for those on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Hotel Monaco and were entirely satisfied with every aspect. Our family of four (two teen daughters) were very comfortable in the King Premier Suite which was discounted a little with a promo we found on their web site. The other recent reviews were accurate in their assessment of the service and facility so I won't repeat, but we even took advantage of their offer to provide a temporary pet during out stay...an adopted goldfish the girls call "Freddy". The hotel provided the fish bowl, Freddy, and took care of the daily feeding. A nice "home-like" touch during our stay! We always try to search out Kimptons and have yet to be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here at the Monaco Portland. I am also glad to hear that Freddy was a great roommate. I hope that you will be back to see us (and Freddy) in the future.

Warm Regards,

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed in. It is situated Downtown Portland and is within walking distance of everything Portland has to offer. The decor is lovely, the staff are so friendly and seem to go out of their way to make sure your needs are met. The rooms are luxurious right down to the feather pillows! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

very comfortable, service was great and location for downtown was perfect. We'd definitely stay there next time we're in Portland.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We got a great deal on our recent stay because the hotel matched a cheap internet rate. They then inquired if it was a special event which it was (my birthday) so, not only did they comp the $33/day parking fee but left a lovely bottle of champagne in our room. They couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating, from the well provided-for fitness room to the umbrellas for the inevitable rain. There's a little wine/beer hour with live piano player every night. Our room (a corner king) was large with a huge and lovely bathroom. Bed could have been a bit firmer but linens were beautiful. Perfect location in downtown PDX.

Room Tip: Join Kimpton affinity program for best deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

My husband and I travel often, both for business and pleasure, and have stayed in most every hotel chain available. For this short trip we took the advice of some friends and decided to try the Hotel Monaco. What a pleasurable experience. From the time we made the reservation until the time we checked out, we were made to feel special. When we checked in, the front desk clerk was exceptional. We had booked a king room, but were pleased that we had been upgraded to a suite. Remember that this was our first visit to this hotel as well as any Kimpton Hotel. She noted that we had requested extra towels when we made our reservation and made sure that they had been delivered to our room. She also asked if we had forgotten any personal items, which my husband had, and gladly provided him with what he needed. As we had missed the complimentary wine hour, she also offered us a bottle of wine to take to our room.

Our room was wonderful. The bedroom area closed off from the small sitting area, which for us was great as my husband often works late or early in the morning. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was appointed nicely. Even though we were on the street side of the hotel, traffic noise was minimal.

Room service was wonderful. Personnel were friendly and the food was delivered quickly and was quite tasty. The restaurant that is associated with this hotel was great for either a quick bite or a full meal.

We will be looking to stay in another Kimpton Hotel soon. If they are all as wonderful as the Hotel Monaco in Portland, they will have our business whenever possible.

Our only issue, the cost of parking, and this doesn't pertain to just this hotel. I know that this is a trend in large cities, but I sure wish that there was some other arrangement for hotel guests. I'd almost wish that they added it to the cost of the room when quoting price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TKeleherPDX, Manager at Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your fantastic comments to our staff. When booking in the future I would recommend asking reservations for packages and promotions that include complimentary parking.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Portland.

Tessa Keleher
Front Office Manager
Hotel Monaco Portland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel

Address: 506 SW Washington, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#1 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-diamond Hotel Monaco Portland, a Kimpton Hotel, offers an ideal sanctuary in downtown Portland, Oregon. Centered in the city’s cultural hub, this luxury hotel was named as one of the world’s Top 500 Hotels by Travel + Leisure magazine and is honored by TripAdvisor travelers as a Top 25 Hotel in the U.S. in 2012 (#9). Enter this unique boutique hotel and enter a world where everyone is warmly welcomed and pampered. Adjacent to the hotel is what some say is downtown Portland’s best restaurant, Red Star Tavern & Roast House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Portland Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.