We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7900 Northeast 82nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #39 of 132 hotels in Portland
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Clean comfortable room, quiet, awesom managers breakfast
Airport shuttle service was excellent both to and from the airport
Really comfy bed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    148
    51
    25
    15
See reviews for
146
68
24
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

As usual, Embassy Suites has a great offering with 2 room suites and included buffet breakfast and evening cocktail hour. Rooms, lobby and dining areas were spotless. Upon arrival and throughout our stay, the front desk was incredibly helpful going out of there way to provide recommendations for restaurants and directions if needed. The buffet breakfast was little better than usual, however the cocktail hour was a little spare on the snacks - only pretzels and trail mix.

The only really negative to the hotel, which is really not their fault was the overabundance of unchaperoned kids running everywhere - playing up and down in the elevators, packing out the small indoor pool, etc. Made it a little hard to enjoy the hotel to its usual standards. It is good to note, however, that we were there on a holiday weekend so maybe that is why... STILL, we would not hesitate to stay here again when we visit Portland.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleneden Beach, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I treated myself to a stay at Embassy Suites the night before my flight out of PDX. I checked in and asked for a wake-up call for early the following morning as I had an early morning flight. I never got a wake up call. I dashed to make my shuttle never receiving any of the amenities I had paid for like a nice shower and a hearty breakfast. I complained twice to the front desk and all they could tell me is, "We'll look into it!" Not an offer for a free night as a compensation. Not even an apology. What kind of training do these employees at the front desk get? I will NEVER stay here again and I will advise my friends not to either.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The Embassy Suites near the Portland Airport was just what we needed after our trip of 7.5 hours from the East Coast. Landing after nightfall, it was great knowing that we only had to drive our rental car a little less than a mile from the airport to the hotel. When we arrived, we saw 4 or 5 small front desks in the lobby. Checking-in was a little confusing because it wasn't clear which desk we should go to or who was going to help us. There were several people behind us and they seemed a little confused by the arrangement too. Since it was late, we decided to eat at the hotel's restaurant, Water's Grille, which is located next to the water near the atrium. The food was good. We had a 2 room suite on the 2nd floor. The suite gave us plenty of space and the beds were very comfortable. During the night, we heard no noise from the airport. The next morning we opened the curtains and were surprised that the planes were landing so close to the hotel. Still, we heard no noise from the planes. It was Sunday morning, and the breakfast area was very crowded. There was a wide range of breakfast foods: bacon, sausage, eggs, pancakes, cereals, fruit, juices,etc. The made-to-order omelets were great. It was amazing and entertaining to watch her cook the omelets for four different people - adding the correct ingredients to each one at the appropriate time. This Embassy Suites was perfect for what we needed - a nice place to stay one night near the airport before we began our vacation in Oregon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

My sister and her family stayed at this hotel for one night and had the displeasure of checking in with the world's most disagreeable, unpleasant and rude front desk clerk. Hope you get someone else.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

We've (family of 4) have stayed here several times over the last few years. This stay in July 2009 was a week of frustrations and disappointments in so many important aspects of quality hotel service--

Front desk -- lengthy and incomprehensible handling of waiting customers. Waits of over 10 minutes three different days to talk to someone at the front desk. And when a person was available, invariably they were not aware of who was waiting first, etc. In one case, two employees were available, both working with one customer for 10 minutes with three waiting. Other front desk employees I recognized came to the desks, but ignored the waiting guests.

We needed to get a luggage cart, and with no bellmen anywhere, we went to the front desk. This was a short wait, but the employee didn't know where the carts were. He looked back to another front desk employee walking past him to the rear employee door and asked her where he could locate a cart. She looked back at him, ignoring me standing there, and said to him "How would I know" as she went through the employee door.

Problems on floor (7) -- broken ice machine for our entire 9 day stay.

Problems in room -- Poor housekeeping -- dirt and crumbs found near furniture. Bed making irregular. We were in the room late, and at 11 am asked for the room to be done. We also said we needed the sheets changed in one bed. Housekeeping came promptly, cleaning only the bath. After three requests, the last at 5:30pm, someone came saying "we asked to have the bed made." We again asked to have the sheets changed. He returned with new sheets, but did not put on a mattress pad (do we need to supply more details?) As part of a detailed list of problems we gave to the front desk at 6pm, we asked for the pad. The pad was delivered at 7-- housekeeper walked in, dropped the pad on the bed, and walked out.
Broken telephones -- yes we use cell phones, but local family calls the hotel for us -- for some because they have on ly local cell service. Anyway the front room phone one was dead. The bed phone message button was nonfunctional (along with all other speed dial buttons.) The phones were clearly 10-15 years old. So after missing the 10th call, I added the phone problems to the letter I dropped at the front desk. An engineer came in about an hour. Fixed the bed phone -- saying first that prior guests screw things up (I guess we get blamed next?) Front phone line 1 problem not fixable he says. Phones are contracted out -- it's a wire problem and it will take days. He'll tell the switchboard to direct all our inbound calls to line 2. First new calls come in a few hours after he finishes. They all get sent to the non-functional line 1. Rear TV regular channels not accessible. Engineer fixes, but leaves a remote with dead batteries. Promptly fixed once our son discovers it.

Breakfast buffet-- Significanyl reduced buffet and staff for free breakfast. Uneven food and service -- getting omeletes on our first weekend on Sunday took over 20 minutes in line.

Management response -- I mentioned the letter I dropped off. It was hand written, courteous and pointed our "frustration." As noted above, the response to address the issues was prompt but not effective. I expected a call or visit by the manager, just asking - "did everything get resolved to our satisifaction?" No one ever contacted us. I guess he or she already knew that they were continuing to screw up.

Banquet service -- we had a small (30) reception with snacks. The drink order was screwed up (coffee ordered but never delivered) A screen was put in the room -- for what? We never asked for it. The buffet table was set up so badly the line was in the hallway outside the room.

I hope the above information helps others make better choices for hotels in this area. I also hope that the mananagement of the Embassy Suites Portland Airport gets their act in gear. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The experience started off great with prompt shuttle service from the airport - the drivers were not only kind, but jovial .. and really interested in our trip, questions about Portland, and the morning shuttle even had coffee for us :)

The hotel is beautiful, rooms quiet and comfortable (at least six pillows were on our bed -- heavenly!) the breakfast and made-to-order omelets were fantastic -- many options, great coffee and a variety of fruits and healthy options in addition to the standart eggs, sausage, and bacon.

Only downside was the hot tub area -- the hot tub had sand and dirt (?) in the bottom so that cut our poolside adventure a little short..

Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel and would gladly return..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport

Address: 7900 Northeast 82nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
#39 Spa Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Airport Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.