We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proximity to Airport is Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7900 Northeast 82nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97220   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Proximity to Airport is Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

This is the first time I elected to stay near an airport and I was glad I did. We got in late and it was nice to be at your hotel in minutes. The day we were leaving, the hotel was kind enough to extend our check-out time so it we stayed there until 1 hour before our flight. It was nice to know that we didn't have leave early for the airport to allow for traffic, etc.

For just getting around town, we found the location was convenient enough for us. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet although on Saturday it didn't seem as good as on Friday. The gentleman making the cooked-to-order eggs was quite surly...so much so that I was afraid to order anything from him the next day. I was surprised that they have a Manager's Reception every day of the week. We didn't make it to the Reception on Friday, but on Saturday what they had available were free drinks and snack mix.

The room itself was comfortable...like a little apartment. They had free internet usage in the business center which was very handy. There weren't any restaurants real close by...the closest ones weren't in the greatest neighborhood, but other restaurants aren't THAT far.

We loved touring Portland...it was a beautiful city. We especially loved Lake Oswego (they have a neat Farmer's Market on Saturday) and Multnomah Falls. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Proximity to the Airport
  • Disliked — No outside restaurants really closeby
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    194
    77
    33
    19
See reviews for
191
97
27
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

The Embassy Suites Hotel chain use to be the top of the line, but they are following the same path as Holiday Inn, Shilo and Best Western hotels. At one time they were the place to stay, but now they are just getting old, run down and out dated. This hotel is okay, but not special. The things that use to make Embassy Suites hotels unique, such as full breakfasts and happy hour are now only mediocre at best. Breakfast is cold with most dishes empty and happy hour has such a limited menu it is not worth the wait in line. Most of the ice machines are empty and the vending machines don't work. The room decor is wearing and overall showing its age. For frequent travelers like my self, the new quality experience is found at places such as Holiday Inn Express and Courtyard Inns. Unfortunately, we are losing the midsize hotel, the one between the motel and the luxury five-star. At one time it use to be Embassy Suites. This hotel is okay - but not the special place Embassy Suites use to be.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Obvious and noticable aging of the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

This is a great option for staying in the Portland airport area. Also great for IKEA and Vancouver area as it is just off the 205. My kids loved the central area with waterfalls and fish ponds. Nice shallow pool for kids. One nice feature was the free beer/wine managers reception from 5:30-7:30 and the cooked breakfast includes everything you can think of. We got a nice suite with separate bedroom with 2 double beds. Very spacious room for the price. Worked great with kids. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

My husband, teenage son, and I stayed here for two nights: one night before our trip to Mexico and one night after our return. I picked the hotel because of its proximity to the airport and because of the separate bedroom. We spent very little time at the hotel. We left for the airport around 4:00 AM after our first night, and we arrived after midnight when we returned.

The bedroom has a king size bed. The living room area has a table, fridge, microwave, and couch that converts to a bed. Even though the hotel is a stone's throw from the airport, we didn't hear any planes landing or taking off. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean and the furnishings seemed pretty new. Because of our early departure (4 AM) no breakfast was available. We were able to grab coffee and a sweet roll but that was it.. Service to the airport was very fast.

When we returned, we arrived after midnight. We were picked up at the airport a couple minutes after we called. We were exhausted and went to sleep immediately after our arrival. We were able to try the breakfast the next morning. It was very nice. We had our choice of pancakes, waffles, toast, potatos, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, cold cereals and made to order omlettes.

I have never stayed at a embassy hotel before and thought it was pretty nice. We had no problems. Prices are very reasonable on weekends,--especially if you book directly with the hotel on line under their "immediate pay w/ no refund available" option. We used the park and fly program which covers parking for one or two weeks.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

My husband and I have five children, ages ranging from 5 to 21 years. We live in southern oregon, and wanted to take the kids to Portland for a few days during Spring Break.

Our 13-year-old daughter saw the hotel from the street, begging us to check on availability and price. When we all walked inside, we were literally awestruck. We had never been in a hotel quite like this one! It was like a tropical resort all wrapped inside a building! There is an enormous atrium with waterfalls, streams and fish swimming around the lobby. Trees, bushes and foliage are everywhere! Looking straight ahead we saw three glass elevators, and rooms facing us in all directions, up to 8 levels. There is a domed ceiling/skylight, which made us feel like we were in a sunny location, although in reality it was cold and snowy outside!

We chose a room on the seventh floor overlooking the ENORMOUS atrium. The two-room suite had the living room on one side with window looking out into the atrium and the bedroom with windows overlooking the east end of the airport on the other. It was perfect because the kids enjoyed watching airplanes take off and land. We had two double beds in the bedroom (which were exceptionally comfortable and beautiful) and a pull out sofabed in the living room. Each room has a cable television, with movies, music and games available for purchase. Regular tv is free. Be careful when trying to select a channel. If you press MENU on the remote, the selections cost money. Our daughter inadvertently chose a music station, and our room was charged $14.99 for the service. At checkout, however, the charges were reversed. Our room came with a refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. High-end soaps and lotions were included in the spacious and really nice bathroom. Razors, toothbrushes, toothpaste, etc. are available for free if you forgot yours at home!

The hotel included two medium bottles of water in the refrigerator (WARNING: DO NOT DRINK THE WATER UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY $3.50 PER BOTTLE). The cost is clearly written on the label, but just be aware in case you have curious thirsty children!

We attended a free Reception (children were allowed) from 5:30 to 7:30 PM. A limited array of alcoholic drinks (Jim Beam, House Tequila, Scotch, Coffee Liquor, Triple Sec, Vodka, and Gin plus draft beer and wine), non-alcoholic beverages, and some salty bar snacks (such as Goldfish) were included. (Not exactly the 'manager's appetizers' we envisioned when the reception was being described). We enjoyed sitting in the lounge area of the bar with our children, listening to the waterfall, and gazing skyward at the rooms, ceiling and glass elevators. Other folks also brought their children and their board games along. A very family-friendly atmosphere!

The morning's free breakfast (from 6:00 to 9:00 AM) was EXCEPTIONAL! Omelets (including all egg white) and eggs made to order, fresh waffles, fruit, biscuits, juice, coffee, cereal, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, country fries and much more was available. The only item that we didn't care for at all was the blueberry muffins, which were inedible and made with artificial blueberry pieces. The only bad part was that it ended at 9:00 AM. After 9:00 AM, you had to PAY for breakfast, but it wasn't buffet style. The kitchen was beautiful, and the chefs were very nice and accomodating. Again, we were awestruck.

The children (and my hubby) enjoyed the large swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and weight room. Several other families brought along balls and pool toys. Fun, fun, fun!

Michael, at the front desk, was exceptional. Good job, Michael. We love you!

As taking 5 kids to the dining room was a little expensive for us, we called Pizza Hut, who delivered right to our suite door! What a plus!

  • Liked — The spacious atrium, waterfalls and streams inside...and free full breakfast!
  • Disliked — You have to pay for the Internet.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

Frequented by single businessmen looking really horny. Would not want to stay here as a single woman.

All paper products (TP, facial tissue, even the napkins) were hard as wood----cheap cheap cheap.
t?
Stinky: our room smelled of smoke from 1979 or something. It stunk of ciggys and the carpet was FILTHY---bathroom corners were all mucky, and the remote control was frightening.

Staff was attentive but it seemed like they all knew something you did not. Creepy guy in the kitchen area (it is open) staring at you while you get your breakfast.....what did he know that I did no Breakfast was free and greasy.

Bar at managers reception was a nice surprise but again full of businessmen (lonely guys).

A very weird experience at a stinky hotel. Not again.

  • Liked — bar
  • Disliked — dirty and stinky
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed here two nights for business and loved it. The room I stayed in was huge and what I expect from an Embassy Suites. The bed is incredibly comfortable and the room was very clean.

The breakfast and managers reception are a great benefit - highly enjoyed both.

Since this property is next to the airport there are not a ton of options nearby for food. There is however a new shopping/food area about a mile away that is being built up which has some dining options (mostly fast food).

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Convenience to airport and managers reception
  • Disliked — Lack of close dining options
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport

Address: 7900 Northeast 82nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Portland
#27 Business Hotel in Portland
#41 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Portland
Portland Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Airport Portland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.