We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Marriott I've stayed in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Portland City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Portland City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Portland City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #40 of 133 Hotels in Portland
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not the best Marriott I've stayed in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

On the plus side: staff couldn't be friendlier, fast check-in, bed comfortable, room clean, adequate lights and outlets, wifi fast

On the minus side: the valet didn't even offer to help me with my bags out of my trunk, parking is expensive, wifi isn't free, pillows are tired/beat-up/need to be replaced.

i ordered breakfast for room service and was disappointed-- omelette was not as described on menu (missing spinach, grilled tomatoes, basil relish), toast was soggy (shouldn't be placed under the cover where steam softens it), hash browns tasted frozen not fresh, and the worst was my pot for hot water for tea wasn't exclusively used for tea in past but for coffee, so that my water tasted like stale coffee and made the tea undrinkable. i called to complain and again, staff couldn't have been friendlier and said i wouldn't be charged, but my breakfast still was bad and inadequate. i.e. just think there is a lack of attention to details & execution in food & beverage.

also, if you care, half liter fiji water in room is $3.00. while i'm super appreciative of fiji water, there is a drugstore practically across the street where you can get 1.5 liters for $2.50.

it's a pretty standard marriott, but i think a slightly below average experience. i wouldn't recommend. i'd try another hotel downtown in the future. maybe the westin....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    210
    78
    17
    11
See reviews for
72
133
42
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Outstanding stay at the Portland Marriott (City Center). Lobby was underwhelming but that wasn't indicative of the room. One of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept on in a long time. Stayed on the 20th floor and had access to the concierge lounge. Food in lounge was good. Room was nicely appointed and very clean and fresh. This hotel is right near Pioneer Square so easy to walk to shopping and great food. Had room service 2 nights and food was very good and selection was also good. Will stay at this Marriott on my return to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was conveniently located, clean, and the room was spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Valet parking, as mentioned by others, is quite expensive but we expected that from a major hotel in the downtown of a large city. What we didn't expect was the total lack of complimentary WiFi. WiFi was available in our room for $10 to $15 a day, depending on the speed we selected. For the 2 days we stayed there, this would have cost as much or more as we pay for a full month of internet in our home! Yes, there was complimentary internet available on the first 3 floors of the hotel, but that's a bit inconvenient. We've been travelling through the NW U.S. and this is the first hotel that didn't have free WiFi. For the prices they charge, it should be provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We got a great deal through Priceline for this hotel. We had stayed at budget places for our entire trip and this was a nice change for the last night of our stay in Portland.

The good: this hotel is downtown and close to a bunch of great restaurants and things to do. TriMet streetcar and rail is close by. For a businessperson, this would be a great hotel to stay at. Inside the room, everything was immaculately clean and the bed was the most comfortable of our trip. We stayed on the 11th floor, but you can go higher. The staff could not have been more friendly our courteous helping us check in and getting us supplies in their business center.

The bad: two things on this list. First, if you want to valet park in their garage, it is $34 per day. I'm not familiar with all of Portland, but that is unreal expensive to me. You do have in and out privileges, but it didn't seem worth it at all--especially since the next morning you would not be allowed access to your car for a few hours (between 11AM - 2PM) because they were working on the garage door. Street parking is free after 7PM all the way until 8AM the following morning. If you can drag yourself out of bed to go feed the meter, you can save a bunch of money. We parked a block away and paid a grand total of $4 for parking.

Also, why oh why do the nice places charge for Internet? I don't understand this. I can get free Wi-Fi at any old Red Roof Inn, Howard Johnsons, Super 8, but at the Marriott they want $9.95 per day. Seriously guys, give it up. It's a utility your customers expect rolled into that expensive price. It's like saying "you can have this nice hotel room for $100, but there's an extra $30 daily charge for electricity and a $15 daily charge for water." Marriott (and other chains) need to cut it out. Nonetheless, the did have a public terminal down stairs and a business center where we could print boarding passes and quick check email, so things worked out.

All in all, a good stay here. Would come here again if in Portland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoga Park CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights. I had a room on the Washington Street side, which was probably quieter than a front room on Broadway. The room was a decent size, but it had two good-sized windows, which made it seem bigger. The room had a small refrigerator, which was empty, instead of a minibar packed with overpriced drinks. The hotel has two free Internet terminals for those such as myself who don't have an iPad or other such device.

The location is very good - only two short blocks to Pioneer Square and the MAX light rail, and a few blocks to the streetcar. It is not that far to walk to the Whole Foods market in the Pearl district or Powell's City of Books (but be careful, the only places you can cross Burnside are at 10th Ave. or farther east around Broadway).

Room Tip: Rooms on Washington are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at this nice place with my soccer team from Belize during the Gold Cup and this place is so centrally located in Portland.
The front desk folks are the best as are the valet parking dudes...they give each client a reason to want to come back to the wonderful place
Nice place to stay if you are shopping ...everything is close/nearby and the transport system in Portland is very efficient so in some respects there is no need for taxis...
The hotel service is wonderful the staff is friendly and very accomodating

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Marriott Portland City Center - Portland, Oregon Hotel Review
Portland

City Center is a good name for this Marriott Hotel. It's right in the center of Portland, Oregon, within walking distance to shopping, bars, restaurants and museums.

The hotel provides valet parking, but the better deal is to park one block away.

The valet parking is four blocks away, and this is just across the street. We never had a problem finding a space, and the first time we parked here we got space #1. ;-)

Our room was on the 17th floor and there was no noise from the street at all.

The room is what you'd expect from a Marriott. Nice, clean and functional. There was a safe in the room that was large enough to fit two laptops, a camera and some cables.

There was also a refrigerator, that was totally empty, allowing you to fill it up with whatever you'd like.

CONCIERGE SUITE
Marriott Portland City Center has a nice Concierge Suite for Marriott Rewards Gold and Platinum members. The buffet breakfast was very good. You can could tell because the scrambled eggs weren't runny. ;-)

BAR and RESTAURANT
There's a Bar and Restaurant on the second floor. There were some local beers on tap including Deschutes Twilight Summer Ale, as well as some local Oregon wines.

We had breakfast in the restaurant on the weekend since the Concierge Suite was closed. This is now included for Marriott Rewards Gold and Platinum members. I love this benefit!

We grabbed some breakfast from the buffet and also ordered fresh waffles. Everything was perfect.

The service was so great, I left a $20 tip.

All we experienced in Portland was service with a smile.

This is a great hotel in Portland, Oregon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Portland City Center

Address: 520 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#35 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#39 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Portland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.