We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Center of town walk everywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Portland City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Portland City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Portland City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #39 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Center of town walk everywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It says city center and it is. U can walk everywhere there's tons of shopping, restaurants and the train is right there if u want to go out of city center. We took it to the rose garden for game:) the staff here is amazing, and friendly. They even hand wrote a letter seeing if there is anything they could do for us and wishing us a great first day in the city and put it under are door. That shows something for a hotel. They always open doors for u and the bar/ restaurant was great with great service and willing to do anything to please u. Rooms r clean and comfy beds and bedding. We also had a great view of the city and mt in the distance. Price was great also. The elevators also have a security on them so u have to insert card to go up to room which makes u feel very safe. We looked at the nines, westin and others before booking and r glad we choose marriott nicer look, staff, price and location there all close to eachother but price is way better here. I can't find a complaint even if I tryed. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: High floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    232
    87
    18
    11
See reviews for
77
152
44
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynden, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The staff was great. My wife & I were extremely happy with our stay. Thank you to the restaurant for being very accommodating. The location is great & within walking distance to almost anything you would need. Also, the public transportation is excellent & easy to use.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Recently stayed here while in Portland on business and plan to return for another two weeks next month. The hotel is very nice but what makes it special is the customer service. Every person I encountered was pleasant and helpful. The room was nice, but standard. I look forward to my next visit because the staff was so kind and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was recently traveling with my family to Portland. We usually stay at the Residence Inn because of its comfort and care. It is tough traveling with the family, and can sometimes be a little much. Shane Carleson made our experience at just what we expected from a Marriot hotel . The customer service was excellent and made us feel right at home. Thank you Shane, we will defiantly come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Portland is a great walking town and the transportation system with light rail is super convenient.
We walked to Nordstroms and a great restaurant named Jakes. Breakfast in the hotel was the usual buffet, but being able to order off the menu, as a gold member complimented the meal very well.
Choice of newspapers delivered to your door in the morning. Quiet rooms, though they could have included a table. Comfy chairs and a mini fridge, which makes for a nice afternoon snack.
Great staff, though I had to asked twice for directions to be printed to an event. Parking is extra and spendy. Would stay again for the comfort and location.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for less noise and ask to be away from the noisy ice machines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdxct, General Manager at Marriott Portland City Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay at our hotel. Feedback is always welcomed and appreciated from our guests. We really apologize for any inconvenience caused to you because of the construction noise. We make every effort to isolate or minimize any construction issues from our guests. Unfortunately, there is never a good time to do a renovation in an operating hotel. The good news is that we will be completely finished with our renovation by the end of March. Hopefully you will return to our hotel so you can experience our newly renovated rooms and facilities. We really appreciate and value your loyalty.

Again, thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for a meeting in downtown Portland. The location was very convienent. The hotel is secure. I had a good meal in the bar. The concierge lounge was very good for both breakfast and snacks. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed over the Thanksgiving long weekend. Enjoyed the location quite a bit. The Mez restaurant in house is great for breakfast and the staff there were very nice. The front desk and door staff were great too!

If you are looking for a downtown location close to Pioneer Place and the Christmas tree, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Portland City Center

Address: 520 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
#37 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Portland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.