We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Center indeed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Portland City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Portland City Center to your Saves list
Marriott Portland City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #38 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“City Center indeed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was centrally located, clean and the staff was nice. When they didnt have a room with 2 doubles for three people, they brought in a cot. The cot was large, took up space, but it was comfortable, and they also offered free wi-fi and newspapers as a way to apologize. for someone visiting the city for a few days, I think its a good hotel.

Room Tip: They have hypo-allergenic rooms if you need to request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    232
    87
    18
    11
See reviews for
77
152
44
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good location, but this place was kind of outdated and I expected more based on what I paid for the room.The decor was, in my opinion, ugly. I much prefer the Courtyard Marriott just down the street from this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I travel a lot and have stayed at many hotels. I find that the Marriott chain of hotels are very consistent. You know the service will usually be great and the people working there will be very friendly. This Marriott was definitely no different. The receptionist and the valet were all very friendly and helpful from check-in to check-out.

The room is a bit sterile but it is roomy and clean. The bed is comfortable and probably one of the better beds I have sleep in. The pillows were just a bit on the squishy side and I wish they have pillows as good as the bed. There were plenty of pillows though so you could stack them if you want to.

The location is perfect if you want to get around town. The hotel is just 2 blocks from the MAX rail. This means that you can take the light rail from the airport to the hotel for $2.50. The time from airport to hotel ranges from 55 minutes to just over an hour depending on the time of day. The location is close enough to the major restaurants and sights in town that you can literally walk everywhere. Voodoo Donut is about a 10 minute brisk walk. Deschute Brewery was about a 15 minutes walk.

Why do I give it 3 stars? I find it odd that a hotel of this level and quality would not give free access to internet in the rooms. They charge $9.95 for the internet. There is free wireless internet in the third floor and lobby but it adds a level of inconvenience that I just don't appreciate. I wish they would just raise the price of the room by $10 and just include the internet. I wouldn't feel as annoyed in that case or feel that I'm being nickel and dime for everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a suite and were disappointed that it only had one sink. They did not change the bed once during our stay.

On the positive the bellmen and car men were superior. Wifi and business services were excellent.

We did not get an explanation on what our concierge service provided. We ate in the wrong (better) restaurant on floor 2 rather than the one on floor 20,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Thank you Meryl and crew- my wife and I had about 25 rooms booked Labor Day Weekend for out of town guests for our wedding. With that many rooms on a busy weekend, we were certain there were bound to be some mishaps, but truly there were none. Not only that, but each and every staffer went above and beyond, whether it was with directions and recommendations or just checking on folks to make sure everything was satisfactory. We're very grateful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We travelled from Vancouver to Portland on the BoltBus and stayed 4 nights here. We had room 1308 right by the elevator. It was only noisy when people walking by spoke loudly. We had a nice view of other buildings in the area. No street noise. The shower pressure + hot water was weak. There was a 1 cup coffee/tea maker in the room and a fridge.
As of Sep 01, 2012; Fare-free zone is no more. It's now $ 2.50 for a transit ticket good for 2hrs. or you can buy a one-day pass for $ 5.00
We shopped till we dropped at Lloyd Center, Clackamas Town Center and Washington Square.
Had dinner at The Cheesecake Factory in Washington Square. Tip: Eat a small appetizer to save room for the HUGE cheesecake !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Drove up, handed the keys to the valet, checked in at 1pm in less than 5 minutes, large room, fridge, nice bed, quiet on a long weekend, great breakfast, friendly waitress, lots of info from staff at front desk all for less than $200 a night. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Portland City Center

Address: 520 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#35 Business Hotel in Portland
#37 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Rose City, the Marriott Portland City Center on Broadway allows guests to tap into the pulse of Portland s most enchanting urban rhythms. Boasting the city's best location our hotel is a travelers delight. Centrally located to the business district, shopping, restaurants and convenient to MAX Light rail we have it all! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, we have everything you need for the perfect stay. Green Seal Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland
Portland Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Portland City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.