We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach to your Saves list
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12226 N. Jantzen Drive, Portland, OR 97217   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Friendly staff,clean rooms ,bonus evening reception and hot breakfast buffet. Would definitely recommend this hotel.Very easy access from and to I-5 Did not use room service or spa.Sofa in room makes for more comfort

Room Tip: 4th floor guarantees no one walking around above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    239
    61
    26
    15
See reviews for
286
220
22
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I fell in love with the Oxford Suites chain while staying in Silverdale, Wa. last month. I then stayed at the one in Boise, it too was great, so traveled to Portland today and naturally booked a room at the Oxford Suites, Portland. BIG mistake. this place is old, not very well maintained and their handicap accessible room is a joke. very small room, my companion has to make a multi-point turn to get her wheelchair turned around the bathroom. it has a roll in shower, and taller toilet. its like the took the tub out of a standard room, put in a roll-in shower and called it a ADA suite. the bathroom door has spring loaded hinges on it, so every time you go in the door slams shut on you. tried propping it open, but now we have a suitecase in the way. so everytime my companion needs to visit the bathroom, i have to go with her. its going to be a long sleepless night with the noise the heater makes, sounds like someone is using jack hammer in the room. mentioned above issues to front desk staff, they said sorry, but did nothing to fix stuff or offer to move us. only suggestion they had was the other Oxford suites in south Portland is newer and nicer. will need to find a new place to stay tomorrow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your observations. We truly apologize that the room did not function well for your friend. We are reviewing your complaints, point by point, and will take appropriate actions as we are truly committed to ensuring all our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay. Thank you for staying with Oxford Suites and we do hope we will have another opportunity to serve your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family (2 adults & and two kids) recently stayed at Oxford Suites over the holidays and will definitely be back. Calling from the plane once we landed, within minutes of stepping outside, the complimentary shuttle was there to pick us up. Want to talk about getting things off on the right foot! Once we arrived, we were treated to a spacious family suite. If you have little ones, this is by far the best family set-up I've ever seen for families. A private bedroom (w/ bathroom) for the grown-ups, then the living area could be divided via sliding door to make two additional rooms (everyone gets their own TV and bedroom!)

Room was clean, well-appointed with hardwood floor (good for those of us with allergies), leather sofa, and had an actual sliding window to let fresh air in (maybe not a big deal, but personally, I hate musty hotel rooms with non-functioning windows). Refrigerator, microwave, three (!) TVs, DVD player that actually worked. Management has obviously put a lot of thought into making the suites as family-friendly as possible.

What I loved about this hotel is some of the "little things". The workout room, for example, wasn't just a room with a bike and a treadmill. This one had good working machines, flat screen TV, water cooler, and fresh towels. Adjacent to the workout room was not only the indoor pool/hot tub which my kids loved, but a dry sauna and a steam room! Again, fresh, clean towels at the ready. The rooms were also only accessible if you had a room key, making my wife and family feel secure about themselves and their belongings. Again, the little things.

The kicker, though, had to be the hot breakfast available every morning, included with our stay. The cereal and pastry bars were constant, but the hot menu changed daily -- ham and eggs cooked to order one morning, eggs benedict the next, etc. I figure we saved hundreds of dollars just on breakfast during our stay, as we never had to go out. Manager also stopped to say hello during breakfast and gave us some discount coupons for OMSI and the zoo. Very kind.

While this was a family vacation, this is the type of hotel I look for when I'm away on business, and when in Portland, I will definitely be back at Oxford!

Room Tip: 2 or more kids? Opt for the family suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Pros: Courteous Staff, comfy bed, clean and quiet room.
Cons: One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was for the pool. We were unable to stay in it for more than 10 mins as it was quite cold. We told the front desk about this. They said there had been other complaints about the temp. but maintenance was unable to do anything about it. The other con was the food. We ordered nachos from their bistro. For $9.00 we rec'd chips and what seemed to be Cheese Whiz and canned chicken. Yuck!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel quite a number of times. There is a shopping area right there and it is quite easy to find your way around from there.
The room was very clean and bed very comfy. The staff were nothing but helpful. The bathroom was great for counter space and the shower was a good one with great water pressure.
You get a great hot breakfast that is served and not the usual continental type.
I would definitely tell anyone going to Portland to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stay at the oxford suites often, and there is a great weekend reasone why i come back. Not only is the breakfast good, the rooms clean and spacious, and the free nightly drinks a big plus-- but today i have to drop give a plug to Kevin the chef. I had a great food special tonight, that every foodie would apppreciate, and i had to write about. It was creative (tequila, habenero, cilantro,and the shrip plus a few other ingredients) dish with flavors that popped. Definately worth the trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Oxford Suites' unique combinations of hospitality amenities made our trip! We were escorted to and from the airport by courteous drivers and our luggage was checked (with receipt) and stored during our day trip out after checkout! The rooms are large and well appointed. Staff was professional and courteous. Great pool, workout room, and saunas. The evening reception won't feed a large appetite, but for a small one it fits the bill! Thank you Oxford Suites Jantzen Beach for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach

Address: 12226 N. Jantzen Drive, Portland, OR 97217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Family Hotel in Portland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on Hayden Island, the Oxford Suites Portland–Jantzen Beach is situated just minutes from downtown Portland, the Rose Quarter, the Oregon Convention Center, the Portland International Airport and downtown Vancouver, WA. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, Sauna, Steam Room & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach Hotel Portland
Oxford Hotel Portland
Portland Oxford Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.