We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and excellent free breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1710 NE Multnomah Street, Portland, OR 97232   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #60 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and excellent free breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We got two rooms (which turned out to be suites) at the Marriott Residence Inn right across the street from Lloyd Centre on a weekend in mid-March - we were traveling for a birthday getaway with my spouse and two of our friends.

We were originally going to stay at the Doubletree because we'd heard good things, but they had limited availability so we chose the Marriott - and we're VERY glad we did.

Highlights:
- a king size bed in our room
- a fireplace in the other room
- superb free breakfast with eggs, sausage, hashbrowns, and then the usual continental fare (cereal, pastries, etc.)
- quiet as a church mouse
- spotlessly clean
- free parking (this was $20/day at the Doubletree!)
- free wifi (also an additional charge at the Doubletree)

So two huge suites with full size kitchens and living room areas ended up costing less (when you factor in parking and wifi) than two dingy rooms across the street at the Doubletree. It gets to be an even better deal with the included breakfast!

We'd definitely stay again next time we're in Portland.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    95
    41
    15
    6
See reviews for
72
51
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We were impressed with the staff. The laundry facilities were clean and convenient. We stayed twice within a 10 day period, having to travel to WA in between stays. Both suites we we stayed in were spacious. Housekeeping was thorough, worked with our schedule and friendly.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I recently saw this facility panned and felt the review was an unfair one.

Here's the deal. If you rent one of the suites here, you get tons of space, and for families, this is a lot better than renting adjoining rooms and hoping your teens don't sneak out in the night and get into trouble. You get a king upstairs, a queen bedroom downstairs, and a sofa (can't recall if it makes out; we didn't try). Some have a fireplace, too, and there's a little pool. You are virtually across the street from Lloyd Center (a major shopping mall), you have free parking, and can get downtown in ten or fifteen minutes if you have a car.

Here's how come you can get all this space for so much cheaper than a room downtown. First of all, you AREN'T downtown. In other words, the real estate your room is built on, is cheaper, so the savings are passed down to you. Second, note the word "residence" in the title of the facility. Anyone with any sense should be able to translate: you are going to have to pick up after yourself a little bit, just like your own home, and we aren't going to fuss and cluck over you, and since we don't have to pay a lot of people to hover over you, we can offer you a cheaper stay.

We had three teenagers in tow, and frankly, we didn't WANT room service very much, because there was always someone who didn't want to leave the room...sleeping in, watching TV, whatever, and it's a vacation, RIGHT? So if we needed towels we asked, our garbage got emptied, and otherwise we did just like at home.

I would stay there now in a heartbeat, but sadly, the big suites are all upstairs (no elevators) and I am disabled now. Most people aren't. If you have a family and wish to visit the City of Roses in a convenient, safe location for a reasonable price, this is the best bet in town. Me? I have to go downtown now, where I can have a porter to carry my luggage, and an elevator to take me to my room. It's all a matter of what you need, and what you are willing to pay for it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed here on New Year's Eve. Previously always stayed at the Monaco downtown until they got so expensive. Plus charged a fortune for parking. The Residence Inn is reasonably priced, in a good location and has free parking. I found the staff to be very nice and the rooms nice. We got the studio which was well furnished and very adequate. Bed was comfortable. We visit Portland usually once a month or so with two kids living there. We will continue to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, WA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Birthday/shopping trip. Very convenient to lots of things. Hotel room is showing its age. Some of the furnishings are banged up. Still felt it was good value. Room layout is awkward for anyone still in bed and others using the bathroom sink/mirror. Light blinds the one still in bed. TV was on a swivel so it could be viewed from the couch or the bed. This was handy. Kitchen was nice but we really didn't use it for our one-night stay. Front desk person didn't program our keys correctly and after going back through the pouring rain - still only one of the two worked. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porltand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this property and it was excactly what I expected. A large room with plenty of space to relax and feel comfortable. This hotel is showing its age, and could use a facelift. However the staff were pleasant, very accomidating and greeted me with a smilte.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We had a great stay here, room was clean and spacious, the free breakfast was pretty sweet, and free parking as well. The fitness centre came in handy. The hotel's location is close enough to downtown to ride the free MAX train or even walk, and Lloyd centre provides plenty of shopping if that's your thing. Free Wifi as well. Room was a tad noisy as it is right next to a freeway, but the soundproofing is pretty good, just a dull hum from the traffic.
My only gripe is the plastic plates/cutlery at breakfast - how about changing to something that is washable & reusable, or at least providing a recycling bin inside the breakfast area to try to divert some of that waste.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center

Address: 1710 NE Multnomah Street, Portland, OR 97232
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland Downtown Lloyd Center Residence Inn by Marriott is a warm and welcoming place to call home during your travels. Enjoy the comfort of this all-suite hotel and the pleasure of a great location for your active lifestyle. Only a few minutes from Max Light Rail and easy freeway access, this extended-stay hotel in Downtown Portland is the perfect spot for on-the-go travelers. Corporate travelers appreciate amenities focused on their individual needs. Our free wireless anywhere Internet access helps keep you connected to e-mail from colleagues. Corporations like PacifiCorp, Kaiser, Knowledge Universe and Providence Medical Center are minutes from the property. This Portland destination hotel is the ideal location for vacationers. Situated in the heart of the Lloyd Center District guests are just minutes from all the excitement. Hop aboard the MAX light rail and travel to and from the Portland International Airport or head west to over to the Oregon Zoo. Within walking distance to the Oregon Convention Center and dining on Broadway and minutes from the Rose Quarter Moda Center and Memorial Coliseum for live entertainment. Enjoy tax free shopping at the Lloyd Center Mall and Ice Rink or take in a movie at the Cinemas across the street. Settle in and stay in spacious suites, which include full kitchens and an ample working area. Take a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool or enjoy a great work out in the 24-hour Fitness Center. Jump start your day with our complimentary breakfast buffet and return in the evening to our Social Hour (M-W) featuring a light meal, beer and wine. Free parking and laundry facilities are available to all our guests so if you're traveling on business or pleasure our friendly and proficient Marriott staff takes pride in making you feel at home. Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.