We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel needs updating, but perfect for early flights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portland Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220 (Formerly Sheraton)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Fly - Parking
Ranked #31 of 133 Hotels in Portland
Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Older hotel needs updating, but perfect for early flights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is an older Hampton Inn and is the closest hotel to the Portland PDX airport The rooms were clean, free parking, free continuous shuttle to and from the airport. The breakfast was standard Hampton fare, but since so many of their customers stay there because they have early flights, they start the full breakfast at 5:00 am and have cold items at 3:30 am, a very nice touch. The room was quiet and clean. If you are looking for a few amenities, stay at the Embassy Suites across the street.

This is a good hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It does exactly what you want: quiet, clean, close to the airport. It could just be better with some updates.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the runway if you are bothered by airplane noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    119
    48
    14
    4
See reviews for
87
106
35
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Was not impressed with this particular Hampton Inn. Stayed there overnite to catch a flight early the next morning. When I checked in I asked where I should park given that I understood you could park your car long term on their lot. I was told that because I had received "my discount" through expedia that I couldn't use their long term parking. If I had wanted to use their parking then I needed to book directly through the hotel. The next morning we experienced a fire alarm around 6 AM in the hotel. Everyone was evacuated into the parking lot. An extremely rude awakening with very little to no apology or customer service recovery. Also, bathroom floors felt sticky and toilet was plugged.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Sunny G,
Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at our hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf
of the hotel and our entire team.
With regards to your initial booking through Expedia, the phrase "free parking" listed on their page
refers to free parking during your stay and not extended airport parking.
We contacted Expedia and explained how this was confusing and they have agree to remove the
statement from their booking page as they do not have room to clarify the conditions for free
parking.
The other issues you experienced during your stay have been reviewed in depth with the team members from each department.
Once again please do accept my sincere apologies and we hope that the remainder of your trip
was most enjoyable.
Sincerely,
M McCormack, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

You really can't get much closer to PDX airport than this hotel. They serve a good, hot, Hampton breakfast...always a winner. The airport shuttle leaves every 15 minutes and is a very short hop. If you leave early grab the free bagged breakfast on the way out.

The beds were comfortable and room was surprisingly quiet for being alongside a runway. It is nice to have a hotel room with an actual thermostat in the room to keep it comfortable. The pool was comfortable and clean, the whole property was.

This hotel is not only convienient to PDX but also to an area known as Cascade Station. There is plenty of shopping and lots of dining choices in a nice safe area. The hotel is also convienient to north Portland, the Columbia River, Vancouver, WA and the I-205 freeway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, MT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was the first time that we have stayed at this hotel. The breakfast was good and the service was excellent. I especially liked knowing that the duvet cover is washed when the sheets are washed. The bathroom counter was so nice - a little bigger than most so I didn't have to use the floor for my curling iron. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in the room on the third floor just as you walk out of the elevator and we didn't hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

we were checked in within one minute by very efficient staff. upon leaving we needed to pick up a rental car and we were graciously taken to the offsite rental business instead of back to the airport for a different shuttle. These extra touches were so appreciated. this was the 1st time we stayed with Hampton Inn so I will be looking for their hotels again in our travels

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This really is a wonderful hotel for the price - the breakfast cannot be beat, the staff was awesome, and overall, the hotel was comfortable. The only issue that we had was the very dirty carpet. I assume that because it's a business traveler type of hotel, the rooms are pretty much heavily used for just a day or two, but the carpets really should be cleaned more often. We arrived in the afternoon for a flight out early the next day, was greeted by great staff, but by the time we left three hours later just for dinner, the soles of our feet and socks were black. That was a little disappointing because other than that, everything else was terrific - the site, the price, and especially the staff (the staff alone is five star!). I hope they can somehow resolve the dirty carpets so we can return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We are happy that you chose our hotel and had a great experience at breakfast and with the service levels from our staff. We are very sorry that the carpet in your room was not clean and we have addressed this with our entire team. We hope the next time you are in our area that you
will stay with us again. Our team is ready to show you our warm "Hamptonality".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Very clean rooms with nice Portlandish touches. Not overly fancy..just very straightforward and clean, with WONDERFUL beds. Excellect complimentary breakfast, and the servers went out of their way to answer a question of ingredients (gluten allergy sufferer). Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Airport

Address: 8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220 (Formerly Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#23 Family Hotel in Portland
#43 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demonstrating so many of the elements which are uniquely Portland, The Hampton Inn Portland Airport is a sure thing when visiting the city, whether for business or pleasure. Moments away from the PDX Terminal, we are a short drive to downtown and within minutes of most major businesses serving the Portland area. Of course we offer everything you have come to expect of Hampton. A fresh, hot breakfast served daily, a freshly laundered Cloud 9 bed and our 100% Guarantee. For the families on the road we extend a warm welcome with coloring books during breakfast, movies and video games in the room and fresh baked cookies nightly in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.