We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anything you want...on a biscuit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine State Biscuits

Pine State Biscuits
2204 NE Alberta Street, Portland, OR 97214-4326
(503) 477-6605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 3,629 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Anything you want...on a biscuit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This place has a unique Portland atmosphere...you bus your own tables; get your own silverware; and if all the tables are booked you must wait outside (no loitering inside)...it's right out of an episode of Portlandia. That being said the food is great. I had the "Reggie Deluxe" a fried chicken breast with bacon and gravy on a biscuit...delightful. The staff was friendly. Go off hours to avoid the lines. I will be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    111
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beaver, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Over-the-top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our one and only breakfast out, while in PDX for a long weekend. WOW, this place! I'm almost embarrassed at my order- the club biscuit, which had fried chicken, bacon, lettuce, tomato and (uh hem) Bleu cheese dressing. It was delicious, but oh my....oh so filling. (Duh, right?) my husband had the Reggie deluxe. Ridiculous. The sausage gravy was top notch.
We took the bus from downtown, and arrived before 8 am on a Friday. It was starting to really fill up by the time we left...obviously a popular joint.
Definitely a great stop for a splurge breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love the creativity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I came here with a colleague while visiting Portland; he said it was a MUST. It seems to be a theme in Portland that anywhere you eat is a "must-eat" type of place! I love the creativity of Pine State Biscuits, though I'd probably like it more if there was more than one vegetarian option.

I had the Egg over easy with braised greens doused with Texas Pete Hot Sauce (see attached photo). It was definitely a lot of food, and delicious food at that! The egg-gravy-hot sauce combo made for a sloppy meal (as it should be when eating at this type of place), along with the greens. Again, it was pretty good, just wish there was a little more variety in the vegetarian-friendly capital of the U.S.!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hype is all true! Again, go during off-times to avoid lines. It is a small place and you get a table in the same order you place your order at the counter. Food is phenomenal! How do these Portland restaurants out-do the southerners for biscuits and gravy!? I recommend the Reggie Deluxe for all your sampling needs!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great biscuits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Tried this place before after seeing it on the Food Network. Biscuits are scratch made, fresh and fluffy, offered several ways. The ones with fried chicken and bacon were awesome. Scrambled eggs are not their strong point. We hit there about 9:30, line went down quickly, but we couldn't find a place to sit, so asked them to change the meal to "to go." They kindly made that happen. But, by the time we got settled, the biscuits were too cold to melt the butter and honey. Great flavors, recommend that you go right at opening time and guarantee a seat or grab it to go and head home to heat things up and make them toasty. Food truck eaters are used to eating where they can, but we're not in the big city much. Fun place, we'll be back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine State Biscuits also viewed

 

Been to Pine State Biscuits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine State Biscuits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.