We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great biscuits, but the rest was so so... at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pine State Biscuits

Pine State Biscuits
2204 NE Alberta Street, Portland, OR 97214-4326
(503) 477-6605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 3,687 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Hampton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great biscuits, but the rest was so so... at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

After hearing so many great things from those popular TV foodies and the reviews we wanted to try out the Pine State experience. Well I am glad it was priced fairly and quick & easy to get a table and place our order. Would probably not consider a return visit. Sorry folks but for us anyhow this was a disappointment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    128
    27
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must do in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

You MUST try this for brunch or breakfast when you visit Portland. We were there on a Sat am on our way out to the wineries. The wait was about a half hour or so not too bad. The food is sooo good and the coffee was great too, they use Stumptown, no wonder. I had the Mcisley, salty & sweet a perfect combo. The Reggie deluxe was also great. Prices are very reasonable and the food is just so good, real hearty & homey. If I ever visit again this will be on my list again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hangover Cure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went to Pine State after a night out on the town, and the hearty Reggie Deluxe paired with a spicy bloody was the best cure I could ask for. The wait for food was a bit long on a Sunday morning (30-40 minutes), so be sure to grab a seat as soon as you find one (they go fast) while you wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been to Pine State Biscuits 4 times, while visiting friends in Portland, OR. Talking about comfort food, just get the standard, one biscuit and one egg with the best biscuit gravy one could ever want to have, get a cup of joe with it and sit and relax. You have to relax because there is most often a line to get in, they are so busy, they opened a second place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Casual Atmosphere, Delicious Fried Chicken & Biscuit Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I ate here after a long day of traveling across the country. We stopped by mid-afternoon on a Friday, and the line to the place was still out the door (but not around the corner). It moved pretty quickly, and the staff is not opposed to you taking a menu to look at while waiting outside. We opted for the Reggie Delux, and weren't disappointed; the fried chicken, biscuit, and gravy were superb. Along with the sides of fried green tomatoes and hash browns we had one delicious, calorie-filled, meal. The atmosphere inside is very friendly and casual, with the kitchen area open to the seating area. Overall a great, reasonably priced lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine State Biscuits also viewed

 

Been to Pine State Biscuits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine State Biscuits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.