We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine State Biscuits

Pine State Biscuits
2204 NE Alberta Street, Portland, OR 97214-4326
(503) 477-6605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 3,892 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The place is always crowded so don't be in a hurry. The food is worth the line but I tend to go during the week when the line is much less overwhelming.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have now visited this restaurant three times. We go everytime we are in town, the food is great. Try the Reggie Deluxe, Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes and the Sweet Tea. The staff are friendly and there is always great music playing. It's usually very crowded but by the time you get your food you can normally find a seat. Try this place you won't regret it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alliecat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tried the biscuits on a recommendation (had it at the farmer's market, not the storefront), and was not disappointed. Wonderful mushroom gravy, and great marionberry jam.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank katastrophe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
111 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Maybe Okay for Takeout but Don’t Try to Eat On Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Don’t even think about trying to eat there. We arrived somewhat early but the place was elbow to elbow after waiting what seemed like a very long time for a simple order of biscuits and gravy. You can eat outside in front of the bar next door if you don’t mind the ashes, butts and smokers.

I love the biscuit restaurant concept but my order was served cold and the gravy was too spicy for my taste. You are better off trying the local truck stop or greasy spoon diner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lostinoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
539 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“The Food was Great - the Rest, Not So Much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Summary - Long wait for great food. After waiting in line for 20+ minutes I asked about the hash browns and was told it would be at least a 15 minute wait. Well... I thought since I was ordering the food (finally) that why would I want to wait another 15 minutes. Surprise surprise, 20 minutes later the food was not ready but I could see a large pan of hashbrowns on the stove. Asking if I could add an order of browns to my original order that I was still waiting for, the counter person said " we are out of hash browns" - reminds me of a Seinfeld episode! Don't go if you are in a hurry or want to eat inside the restaurant as they don't have many spaces. ALL that said, the food was pretty good but next time I go if I see a line I will head to one of the various other places in the neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yellowpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine State Biscuits also viewed

 

Been to Pine State Biscuits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing