We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine State Biscuits

Pine State Biscuits
2204 NE Alberta Street, Portland, OR 97214-4326
(503) 477-6605
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #29 of 3,504 restaurants in Portland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The place is always crowded so don't be in a hurry. The food is worth the line but I tend to go during the week when the line is much less overwhelming.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    177
    78
    17
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have now visited this restaurant three times. We go everytime we are in town, the food is great. Try the Reggie Deluxe, Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes and the Sweet Tea. The staff are friendly and there is always great music playing. It's usually very crowded but by the time you get your food you can normally find a seat. Try this place you won't regret it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tried the biscuits on a recommendation (had it at the farmer's market, not the storefront), and was not disappointed. Wonderful mushroom gravy, and great marionberry jam.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Maybe Okay for Takeout but Don’t Try to Eat On Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Don’t even think about trying to eat there. We arrived somewhat early but the place was elbow to elbow after waiting what seemed like a very long time for a simple order of biscuits and gravy. You can eat outside in front of the bar next door if you don’t mind the ashes, butts and smokers.

I love the biscuit restaurant concept but my order was served cold and the gravy was too spicy for my taste. You are better off trying the local truck stop or greasy spoon diner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“The Food was Great - the Rest, Not So Much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Summary - Long wait for great food. After waiting in line for 20+ minutes I asked about the hash browns and was told it would be at least a 15 minute wait. Well... I thought since I was ordering the food (finally) that why would I want to wait another 15 minutes. Surprise surprise, 20 minutes later the food was not ready but I could see a large pan of hashbrowns on the stove. Asking if I could add an order of browns to my original order that I was still waiting for, the counter person said " we are out of hash browns" - reminds me of a Seinfeld episode! Don't go if you are in a hurry or want to eat inside the restaurant as they don't have many spaces. ALL that said, the food was pretty good but next time I go if I see a line I will head to one of the various other places in the neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine State Biscuits also viewed

 

Been to Pine State Biscuits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine State Biscuits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.