We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood, clean and quiet room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland International Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland International Guesthouse
Save
You added Portland International Guesthouse to your Saves list
2185 NW Flanders Street, Portland, OR 97210 (Northwest District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 Portland B&B and Inns
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great neighborhood, clean and quiet room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I booked a room here based on Trip Advisor recommendations and couldn't have been more pleased. As a woman traveling solo I'm very conscious of personal safety but I felt no concerns with the guest house or neighborhood. My room was clean, quiet and comfortable - far better than most motels I've stayed at. Yes the bathroom is shared but it was kept very clean and the shower was good. There's a homey full kitchen with cereals, bread and fruit that guests can help themselves to. The neighborhood is great - around the block is a wonderful coffee kiosk. Best breakfast is at the Stepping Stone Cafe, only a few blocks away. It's an easy walk (or bike ride) to the Pearl District and downtown. I'm looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: There's no elevator so if your luggage is heavy a second-floor room (rather than the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
41
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
katoomba
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

We booked room 5 for a three night stay. Very reasonable price at $80 ish per night. Trader Joes is a couple of buildings away and open til 10 pm so it was easy to take advantage of the fully equipped share kitchen to make healthy low cost meals. There are three spotlessly clean share bathrooms so there is no problem sharing amongst just a few rooms. Could not fault this place. Free wifi, tourist info, comfy bed, breakfast supplies,tea and coffee supplies all included. Location is fantastic. Plent of restaurants and cinema 21 just around the corner. 15 min walk to downtown or take the 17 bus just a block away. Loved it! 10 out of 10

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

It was a very nice place, everything was clean, the price is not bad at all.
the location is good, very close to downtown and there are lots of restaurants and stores that u can walk to. I would recomend this place and If I go back to Portland I would stay there.
ohh and Tom was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: try to stay in room number 1,2 or 3 if u have lots of bags. When I was leaving I had hard time with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I could not have been more pleased with my stay here. It was clean, friendly, economical, efficient in service, and located in one of the best areas for an out-of-towner to be in. The Rose Test Garden as well as the breathtakingly beautiful Japanese Gardens are just a short walk away, and there was never a shortage of bars and restaurants to stagger home from. To boot, it shares the block with a Trader Joe's (fantastic grocery store), which provided us with a couple picnic lunches to be consumed down the street at Couch Park. The hosts also provide orange juice, coffee, milk, cereal, etc., in a communal kitchen where guests are free to cook and lounge. The host was so helpful and knowledgeable about everything in the area. There was nothing lacking in the rooms or facilities, which I suspect was because he himself used to live in the house himself. So well thought out, and such a warm, welcoming place. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 2 - close to the bathrooms and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

On the way back from the Oregon coast we wanted to spend two days in Portland without necessarily spending too much money for a motel/hotel. We found the Guesthouse by chance in the internet, and booked two nights there. We were glad we did!
The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful, with good recommendations for things to do in Portland and the vicinity. The house is absolutely clean, cozy and quiet. The free breakfast is generous, the location is in the middle of one of Portland's most interesting neighborhoods. We would not hesitate to stay here again. We had room 3, if I recall correctly - next to the kitchen and balcony on the 2nd floor. Noise from the other residents was never a problem. If we ever make it back to Portland we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

While traveling to the Oregon coast we needed to spend one night in Portland, and hate staying in corporate hotels. Found this gem on TripAdvisor and made reservations online. The rates are amazingly reasonable, the place is clean and welcoming. The night we arrived it was 95 degrees in Portland, but our room had air conditioning, so we enjoyed a good night's sleep. Tim the host was as accommodating as could be and made us feel so welcome. Besides the room there was a nice lounge for reading or watching tv and a well stocked kitchen for making snacks. We'll definitely stay there any time visiting Portland again.

Room Tip: There are pictures of the rooms online to help you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

One thing that is really important for me as a single woman travelling is: safety, comfort and location. This place had it all. I was hesitant about the shared bath but it was never a problem and always clean. Tim is great, very helpful and sweet. This place just has a wonderful vibe to it. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland International Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland International Guesthouse

Address: 2185 NW Flanders Street, Portland, OR 97210
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland International Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.