We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Coast Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips

The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips
259 Highway 101, Port Orford, OR
541 332-8601
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Port Orford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Willow Creek, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“South Coast Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had passed by the Crazy Norwegian and laughed at the name for years. We finally stopped and have revisited several times since. We will make a 3 hr. pilgrimage this weekend. Suprising inside, fresh, clean and cheerful. Family type friendly folks from the area, wonderful seafood choices and great desserts. Have a couple chowders and share a big plate of fish and chips!
Hard to beat between Crescent City and Bandon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    66
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pretty good little place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Fish was prepared well and you got a big helping. The chowder wasn't to my liking, but some may love it. (lots of dill)

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Full of character. Order takeout and walk to nearby beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The Crazy Norwegian was a memorable dining experience. There is a stunningly beautiful beach within walking distance, so I recommend takeout. We requested two orders of the fish and chips to go, but enjoyed a cup of the clam chowder while we waited. The food was fresh and delicious. Don't mind the gruff and surly locals and staff, their character actually makes the experience complete. It honestly would not have been as memorable, or as much fun, if they'd been charming. Just outside the restaurant is the most extraordinary view of the Port Orford coastline. It was the most exquisite picnic spot I've ever seen. The dining area is very small, but impeccably clean. You absolutely can't pass through this town without stopping for fish and chips at the Crazy Norwegian. Absolutely loved this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Traveling Norwegians naturally stop to visit the Crazy Norwegians! Ufda! It was delish!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The fish taco was excellent, the shrimp melt - oh yeah! And the bread bowls are really baked fresh every day.
A MUST stop restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We are locals and live 15 miles north of The Crazy Norwegian's. It's one of our favorite places to eat and has become a ritual for Sunday evening. For us, the standard meal of choice is the "regular fish and chips"....large portions of lovely fish in a light batter, fries and cole slaw. Service is great, too. Meal for two usually runs less than $25 unless you add dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips also viewed

Port Orford, Oregon Coast
Port Orford, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.