We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips

The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips
259 Highway 101, Port Orford, OR
541 332-8601
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Port Orford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Another chance stop on US Hwy 101. We're glad we did. The food - fish and shrimp combo - was delicious and obviously fresh. We had a hearty Italian soup which was very tasty - well seasoned with herbs but not overdone. Cozy atmosphere and friendly service and not too pricey. Would definitely stop here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    65
    24
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Good fish and chips. The atmosphere is sort of bland. We were very disappointed in the service. We had to wait a really long time for our check.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must stop, great value and excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Chance stop, not much curb appeal but a gem of quality food. Steak dinner was well priced, great service. Atmosphere comfy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful all town cafe that serves excellent seafood. I had the fish and chips and my wife had a fish taco, both were great! The berry pie for dessert was the best we had this summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue River, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is a local institution, and it's easy to see why. They provide consistently excellent service and food. The fish is always hot, crisp and lightly battered and the fries perfect (for me anyway). The cole slaw is tangy, and the tartar sauce is really fresh tasting. In truth, I never liked tartar sauce until I tasted theirs.

Most times I've been in I was by myself, and I've never been made to feel in the way for taking up a table, despite the place being busy most of the time. I like the fact that the waitresses make eye contact and treat you like a person, not an obligation.

This is not a five-star restaurant with fancy dishes or posh atmosphere, but they get a five-star rating for doing what they do very well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips also viewed

Port Orford, Oregon Coast
Port Orford, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crazy Norwegian's Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.