We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WildSpring Guest Habitat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WildSpring Guest Habitat
Save
You added WildSpring Guest Habitat to your Saves list
92978 Cemetery Loop, Box R, PO Box R, Port Orford, OR 97465   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Orford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bend, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

My wife and I recenly stayed here for a wedding, and we had a fabulous time. The neat and clean cabins were tucked away in a small grove of trees, and the night-time peace and quiet were a welcome relief. We once asked for some additional wood for the fireplace and it was deliverd within minutes. The breakfasts were superb, as you are provided with an extensive menu choice the night before; nonetheless, Dean still adds in a special dish that fills you up for the morning hike. The spa is simple delicious, and the ocen view is spectacular.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    9
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
121
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at this resort for 1 night in August. Although the location and rooms are very nice, we were very disappointed by the lack of service and interest we got from the owners. For the money you pay for the stay, you expect more...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
Hi, we are so sorry you felt we were not attentive to your needs at WildSpring. We try to create as peaceful and relaxing an environment as possible, where people can feel completely removed from the real world. With only five units, we are very committed to our guests' wellbeing, and try very hard to make everyone feel taken care of.

We had this in mind when we planned all the details here, trying to ensure that we have what you need when you need it right at your fingertips. We are also available 24/7 by intercom and from our office to respond to everything from bringing wine to your cabin, advice on dinner, and arranging for incabin massages and guided hiking tours. But we also try to stay as unobtrusive as possible for our guests who prefer solitude.

Since we don't have many guests from The Netherlands, I remember talking with you the day before arrival when you called to book, explaining that since we don't have a formal lobby, we don't make our guests come all the way up to the office to check in. We put everything you need in a little checkin gazebo at the entrance with mailboxes that corresponds to the cabin. But I also suggested you call us on the intercom that's there to let us know you had arrived so we could come down, show you to your cabin and handle your luggage.

It was nice to meet you when you came up to the office instead. I enjoyed chatting with you, asked how you discovered us, and remember you said you didn't need help with the luggage and could find the cabin yourself. We always tell our guests to let us know if you need anything, and we would have been happy to respond to any request... but we never heard from you again.

At least we hope you enjoyed some of the special amenities we offer while you were here: The handmade dark chocolate truffles we leave as a surprise in your cabin, along with the fresh flowers. Or that you took advantage of all the free refreshments in the Guest Hall, including fruit, popcorn, juices and chocolate, as well as our library of over 500 DVDs for free incabin movies, plus games, books or music for your cabin's CD/iPod stereo. We also hope you enjoyed our breakfast buffet overlooking the ocean, with fresh baked muffins, freshly made fruit salad, and hot items such as egg puff with caramelized onions, peppers and chicken/apple sausage or French Toast Custard with warm berry sauce. Dean is very sorry, but he just can't remember if you actually came up in the morning or simply took off early. He always asks guests if there is anything more they need.

We hope you found places more in keeping with your expectations. Perhaps a more traditional resort is to your taste. WildSpring is an unusual place - quiet and serene - and some travelers are simply more comfortable with far more staff and people around them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Bliss encapsulates how you will feel when you stay at Wildspring. It is a magical place where Dean and michelle anticipate your needs and attend to them in seemingly effortless almost magical ways. We have stayed in many beautiful places but have never before found in the US a place of such peace with such care and attention to detail and comfort as Wildspring. It is a perfect place to unwind and get away from life's daily stresses. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

As part of a road trip we chose WildSpring very near the end of the trip to have some time to relax and unwind. It met and exceeded our expectations at ever level. The cabins are so cute and comfortable. The breakfast is outstanding. The grounds are amazing and the hosts are wonderful--attentive but somehow not intrusive at all. I can't say enough good things about this place.
If you are thinking of booking it and want to be in nature, but not roughing it then I would recommend this place to you. In addition, the owners make a real effort to have a small eco-footprint which makes the experience all the more rich.
Definitely make time to go in the hot tub/whirlpool (outdoors with ocean view!).

Overall I felt like this was more of a sanctuary then a resort. It was just what we needed at the end of a fun but busy trip!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at WildSpring Guest Habitat on our way up to Portland on the last weekend of March and again on our way back down the following weekend. This is a must stay. The cabins are wonderfully furnished and the Guest Hall has a full kitchen and a great view of the Pacific. Dean and Michelle a outstanding hosts and the breakfast is nicely prepared. WildSpring's rather isolated setting make for a quiet and serene experience. The hot tub/spa in the rain was fun.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We visited Wildspring on a road trip from Portland Oregon to San Francisco California, staying for two nights in the Anwynn cabin. Dean & Michelle clearly put a lot of thought and personal touches into decorating each cabin, the grounds (delightful eclectic sculptures and whatnot) and the guest hall. Breakfast was outstanding, probably among the best meals we had during the whole trip, especially the freshly made muffins and hot item each day. Loved the homey feel overall. The Wi Fi didn't work in our cabin and even though the literature suggested we could get a wi-fi booster we decided it would be more fun to sit in the guest hall for access. Did not try the hot tub but saw that other guests were really enjoying it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a tour of the Oregon coast. The upsides of Wildspring: very comfortably furnished cottages, in the depth of the woods giving a real retreat feel of getting away from it all; excellent and attractive common dining and relaxing hall with several individual tables including outside deck area and tables with lovely view of the sea; warm welcome from host who is unobtrusive unless needed; very good help yourself breakfast; eco friendly emphasis; very informative website which gives a true picture of the ambience of this place. The downsides: the cottages are very dark inside and the furnishing style Victorian so for someone who loves a light and airy feel (like me) they can seem gloomy, I felt that ours was crying out for a working fireplace to ensure a cosy and warm atmosphere, but I managed to improve it by switching all the lamps on all the time; there are no good restaurants nearby. In summary this is an excellent venue if you want a retreat style but luxurious stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Thanks so much for all the lovely comments about WildSpring and our website. We try very hard to provide an exceptional stay for our guests, including making certain the website accurately reflects the unique guest experience here, including lots of photos of our facilities, and the insides and exteriors of all our cabins.

Each cabin has a very different feel to it, and guests can pick the one that best suits their taste.

Barenton, the one you stayed in for example, gets less ambient light than any of the cabins, has rich dark woods, a burgundy Persian rug and some gorgeous antiques. It feels like a cozy romantic retreat, though as you mentioned, it also has plenty of lighting inside.

Raintree and Rosslyn each get lots of natural light and both have a very light and airy feel, with light and mid-toned woods, in a Craftsman-meets-Shabby-Chic kind of decor...Rosslyn has our playful, quirky art, Raintree a casual style. The other two cabins are also very different: Annwyn, with a Vermont Castings woodburning stove, feels like a small stylish Craftsman home, and Earthsea feels like French Provencial elegant. This is also explained in our website and so people know which cabin matches their preference.

And we're sorry you didn't find restaurants around here you cared for, either. Like every town, we have a variety of places to pick from, which we also explain in our website - listing all of them and describing their food and atmosphere. At Paula's Bistro, for example, her husband Kristof is the Chef - he is a Master Chef who cooked at Maxim's in Paris. Their food isn't fussy, but really good, with fresh local ingredients and an exceptional wine list. For more casual fare, Crazy Norwegian's was recommended in Sunset Magazine as having arguably the best fish and chips on the coast. Our guests consistently rave about both. And half an hour from here are a lot more restaurants in Bandon and Gold Beach.

One thing we're very excited about is a new restaurant opening in a few months, RedFish, overlooking Port Orford Bay. Fine dining and a full bar, 7 days a week, and it should be exceptional. We know the owners and trust it will one of the few places where the food actually lives up to the ocean view.

The next time you come through here and if you decide to come back to WildSpring, it sounds like you'd prefer Raintree or Rosslyn...and please feel free to ask us about any of the dining options around here. We always try to help our guests find what best suits them.

Thanks for taking the time to comment on us, we always appreciate the input and use it to continually improve WildSpring and how we communicate it to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WildSpring Guest Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WildSpring Guest Habitat

Address: 92978 Cemetery Loop, Box R, PO Box R, Port Orford, OR 97465
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WildSpring Guest Habitat is a small eco-friendly resort overlooking Oregon's spectacular south coast, offering luxurious accommodations in a peaceful, naturally beautiful environment: Five spa-quality cabin suites filled with art and antiques on five acres in a quiet forest. Guest Hall and lounging deck to relax and hang out, sculpture garden and open-air slate spa - all overlooking the ocean. Spa robes, massages, WiFi, walking labyrinth. Free breakfast buffet and almost 600 DVDs for free incabin movies. An Oregon Bred & Breakfast Guild member and Oregon Coast Birding Trail site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildspring Guest Habitat Hotel Port Orford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WildSpring Guest Habitat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.