We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, okay room, okay price, helpful owner!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway By the Sea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaway By the Sea
Save
You added Castaway By the Sea to your Saves list
545 West 5th, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Vancouver, Wa.
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nice view, okay room, okay price, helpful owner!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We were driving north, heading home, planning on going further. It was stormy, raining and windy, so when it got dark, we called this place, from a AAA book. The owner gave us a decent price, for a basic room. He gave us advice for a place to have dinner, and while we were gone, he went to our room and turned the heat, lights, and tv on for us! We hadn't even put anything in the room yet, just wanted dinner first! Very thoughtful!
The tv was smallish, but a new, flat-screen. Easy to see, as it's a smallish room! Wi-fi is free, but got kicked off a couple of times, but may be because of the storm.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Older 40's-50's motel that hasn't been updated for quite some time. Rooms were OK if you aren't looking for any frills. View from room was fabulous! Got to have fresh sea air and sound of sea lions barking outside. Probably the best motel in town (others looked much worse) Motel was quiet and we got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We purposely traveled down to Port Orford from Lincoln City for a Valentines Day weekend. We had a fabulous time! The staff was both friendly and helpful. He was the previous owner. Our room was a bit SPARTAN, but ....it was clean, warm and the view was to die for! We stayed for two nights; Geo-Caching & sight-seeing, after an event in Coos Bay. The weather was cooperative...Our breezeway/sun room/sun porch was stunning on a winters sun break afternoon. A good book and a bottle of Merlot' help to set the tone. It was extremely romantic, especially on a Valentines Weekend. We have zero complaints and plan to go back again and again. Remember...this is an older MOTEL...nothing 2010, but they do have HBO and WiFi. You won't be sorry, if your looking for romance....................

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

I would recommend this place for the view, but not anything else.

A friend had stayed here numerous times and invited us to go for the weekend. We were there at the beginning of Nov. 2009 for one night during a big storm. The view is amazing to watch a storm and see huge waves break on the dock. The views were even better the next morning after the storm passed and the sun came out. I think you can see something like 26 miles of shoreline.

It was great to sit in the enclosed sun room and bask in the sun while taking in the view.

Having checked out the website in advance I knew what to expect and the photos seem current.

It is basic, no-frills lodging. It was clean and everthing was functioning. Dishes, cutlery and cookware are supplied. Since you should do the dishes before you leave, dish soap is provided. However, you may want to bring paper towels or a dish towel to dry and help you clean up.

The bathroom fan was really loud and didn't really do much in venting steam.

We stayed in one of the upper condo units which have one bedroom downstairs and an open loft area with a queen bed and two twins. The queen bed is on the opposite side of the loft from the two twin beds, but there is no privacy upstairs. Bring a flashlight to navigate the narrow spiral stairs to go to the downstairs bathroom at night.

We found the bed to be hard and uncomfortable.

http://www.castawaybythesea.com/room/condo.html

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

This place is so outdated! Our room looked and smelled as if it hadn't been cleaned or remodeled since the 70s. From mold in the bathroom, disgusting carpeting, a tv from the 80s, and the most uncomfortable bed, we were disappointed. Great view of the bay, but most people in town were rude and only nice to locals. I couldn't wait to leave. So many better places to stay on the OR coast. Locked high speed internet, no password given.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast of California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

...for fear that you'll make it impossible for me to stay again. This is one of those places where I was prepared to be disappointed, given how nice the photos looked on-line. On the contrary, as soon as we walked in, we were disappointed that we hadn't booked this room for SEVERAL nights... Sitting atop a bluff, the room made great use of windows to provide a panoramic view of the sea and the working port below. The weather was gorgeous, but I couldn't help wondering how it would be to pass a rainy day and evening here, sipping wine in the enclosed glass porch and watching white gulls against the gray sky. Master BR downstairs, with a circular staircase leading to 2 more BR areas upstairs... Full kitchen...fireplace.... We will stay here again and again, I'm guessing. One warning: If you eat at the "Mad Norwegians"--one of the very few restaurants in town--be prepared for at least a 45 minute wait. Not sure WHY it takes so long to prepare some simple fish 'n' chips, but it does. Food was good, though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This is a PERFECT spot if you are looking to escape somewhere quiet and enjoy the beauty of the ocean. It is a jewel and so nice to find a small place that is not overly commercial and pricey. It's true the rooms are average, but they are certainly adequate, and do have their own charm. The bed was very comfy and the room was clean. Since there was a coffee maker, somehow we expected that there would also be coffee, cream, etc. The manager gratiously did provide them when we asked. He was very helpful in recommending local excursions. The room smelled musty upon arrival, but that disappeared after we aired out the room. We had a delicious fresh fish dinner at "Griff's", on the sea port below. One could walk there, although the walk back up hill might be difficult! All in all, if you want an AFFORDABLE place to stay, with a 100 % GUARANTEE of an ocean view, and don't expect a 5 star resort with all the bells and whistles, I would definitely recommend the Castaway very highly. The ocean view is breathtaking, and we spent our two evenings on a bench overlooking the ocean, watching the sunset. By the way, we were entertained the second evening by a whale(s), playing, spouting away and diving, for about 3 hours. Even in June! This was the highlight of a two week tour of Oregon!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway By the Sea

Address: 545 West 5th, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.