We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, low-key hideaway with amazing view of ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway By the Sea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaway By the Sea
Save
You added Castaway By the Sea to your Saves list
545 West 5th, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quiet, low-key hideaway with amazing view of ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This is a PERFECT spot if you are looking to escape somewhere quiet and enjoy the beauty of the ocean. It is a jewel and so nice to find a small place that is not overly commercial and pricey. It's true the rooms are average, but they are certainly adequate, and do have their own charm. The bed was very comfy and the room was clean. Since there was a coffee maker, somehow we expected that there would also be coffee, cream, etc. The manager gratiously did provide them when we asked. He was very helpful in recommending local excursions. The room smelled musty upon arrival, but that disappeared after we aired out the room. We had a delicious fresh fish dinner at "Griff's", on the sea port below. One could walk there, although the walk back up hill might be difficult! All in all, if you want an AFFORDABLE place to stay, with a 100 % GUARANTEE of an ocean view, and don't expect a 5 star resort with all the bells and whistles, I would definitely recommend the Castaway very highly. The ocean view is breathtaking, and we spent our two evenings on a bench overlooking the ocean, watching the sunset. By the way, we were entertained the second evening by a whale(s), playing, spouting away and diving, for about 3 hours. Even in June! This was the highlight of a two week tour of Oregon!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

The owner is rude and charged us more than the price quoted for the reservation. He did not want our dog to stay there even though we had told them about the dog when we made the reservation. He insisted that we vacuum before we left and called us on Valentines Day night to remind us! The room was not very clean in the beginning. The internet is available only on one computer in the office.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogue Valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We have been going to the Castaway since 1982 when it was not even called the castaway( think it was called Neptune)
We try to go there at least twice a year. We have never had a bad experience at the castaway and have nothing but fond memories
that will last for years to come. The views from the sunroom are
breathtaking. We can sit there for hours and watch the ocean and the activities going on at the dock. The owners go out of their way to make sure you stay is everything it should be. We usually stay in the condo at the end. We would recommend the Castaway to anybody that wants to getaway and just relax and forget about lifes problems
Richard and Debby VanDerPuil

  • Liked — The kitchen with everything you need
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

The view from the sunporch was amazing. We had our breakfasts (brought in our own) out there and with binoculars watched whales feeding. The port is fascinating to watch, too. The room itself wasn't great. The bathtub looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months and we had no hot water after 10:00am. When I asked the woman in the office, I was told that we (Unit #3) shared the hot water tank with not only at least 4 other units, but also with the hotel laundry! We should take our showers either very early or very late in the day. Other than having to plan our relaxation around the laundry schedule, it was a nice stay. The scenery just can't be beat and other than myself being cranky about an ice cold shower, every person that we met in the town was super nice.

  • Liked — The View!!!
  • Disliked — Dirty Tub, no hot water
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed at the Castaway by the sea Lodge for 3 days. We had a fabulous time!! It was clean, comfortable, very quiet and best of all very private. The view was AMAZING! Thanks for making our vacation so relaxing!!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

No frills here--what you really get is a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean right outside your door. We stayed in the "Deluxe" room which isn't at all. The beds are comfortable; the room was clean and quiet. Nothing but the sound of wind and surf. The TV has cable; there is no coffee maker, but you can get coffee from the office starting at 8:00 am. There is a soda vending machine and ice. There are magazines and novels to read in the ice/soda machine room. No restaurant on site. Our room was "pet-friendly" and the pet area across the driveway is extensive, possibly acres. This room reminded me of what motels probably were like in the 40's and 50's. If you are searching for the "real deal" without a bunch of amenities, this one is for you.

There are newer suite-type rooms on this property which I understand have kitchenettes and are good for larger parties and families. We may try those next time.

  • Liked — The view and sound of the surf.
  • Disliked — No coffee in room and no on-site restaurant.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

Everything here was average but the view. The problem was that you couldn't open the windows on the little porch. We wanted a breeze and to smell the ocean. We were just crashing here, but it was a shame.

Have breakfast at the Paradise in town, awesome deal. Spend some serious time on the coast from here south. It's amazing.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Old room. Couldn't open windows.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway By the Sea

Address: 545 West 5th, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.