We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aye!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway By the Sea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaway By the Sea
Save
You added Castaway By the Sea to your Saves list
545 West 5th, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oregon
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Aye!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Another vote for a good, good place. The terrific view from the enclosed deck of our spacious room included the coast, ocean, and a shallow, sandy harbor where all boats are craned off of and onto a concrete dock. The owner was friendly and accommodating. We'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
15
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is our second time here at the Castaway By the Sea. We just love the place. If you want to just sit back and relax watching boats lowered and lifted at the Port Orford dock. Look for whales which we were lucky to see or just looking out this is the place. Rockne the owner is great for information about the area. The rooms are big and comfortable and enclosed front porch. The walls are thin but the good outweighs the bad by far. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldermalsen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this motel mainly for the view and we were not disappointed as fas as that is concerned.

The motel itself however badly needs renovation. The furniture is old and damaged. The carpet smells and the matrass on the bed is wornout. The walls are paper thin. We could here our snoring neighbour as if he was in our room.

However, if you decide to stay here walk down to the harbour and visit the shed in the middle. This shed appears to be a restaurant that serves the freshest salmon you'll probably ever eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had a very comfortable room. A wee bit outdated furnishings but the view was awesome. Our room had an enclosed porch with a rocking chair to enjoy to view. The hotel sits on a cliff overlooking the small harbor of Port Orford. Even had a small deer wander up on the property to nibble on the flower bushes. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My fiance and I stayed in Port Orford for one evening. I would not have stayed in this hotel for more than one night. It smelled as though it hadn't been opened in months. It had that old, musty smell which permiated my nose as soon as we walked through the door.

It was clean but extrememly outdated. If you are only concerened about being close to the beach or looking at a pretty view out your window this may be the place for you.The door opens to the outside and when we went around back to take the wooden stairs down to the beach the stairs had a sign to take them at your own risk. Instead we chose to walk the long way down the driveway.

The proprietor is a nice guy and he has owned this place for many years. Surprisingly the bed was pretty comfortable but the pillows, sheets and blankets left something to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is impossible to not be overwhelmed by the view from the castaways. You overlook the working fish harbor and the pacific. You never get tired of it.
The units themselves are quit spacious and comfortable. Cooking facilities and a large fridge make an extended stay very doable. And the price is outstanding.

Room Tip: The first level rooms have a sliding door from the sun room to the outside. Very convenient and cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the castaway for one night and it was perfect. The guy who checked us in was nice, telling us where to go for dinner. The room was spacious, a little rundown, but that didn't matter. What mattered was the view, and it was amazing! A 2 minute walk down to a beautiful beach, a great restaurant on the pier and a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway By the Sea

Address: 545 West 5th, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.