We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms with excellent views and management hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway By the Sea

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castaway By the Sea
Save
You added Castaway By the Sea to your Saves list
545 West 5th, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great rooms with excellent views and management hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Travelled the Pacific Highway routes 1 and 101 South. Beautiful scenery and feeling a little tired after 4 hours driving we happened upon a sign out of the blue pointing us to the Castaway at Port Orford. went up to the check in area and the manager could not be more helpful. Offered us a two story room for a price 2/3 of that we paid the night before with 3 bedrooms for 3 people. Just below the hotel they have a lovely little restaurant on the dockside with freshly caught seafood called Griffs. A totally enjoyable overnight stay

Room Tip: Just ask for ocean view 2 storey accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel was a welcomed stop on our vacation. The proprietor was friendly and very helpful. He lent us a portable space heater for extra warmth and suggested some delicious places to eat. The room was clean, spacious and had a private sunporch. The views were beautiful. We stayed in early April so the weather was cool but if it were warmer the location would have let us walk to a variety of activities (dining, beach). I would stay here again and recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A small, older, hotel with great views from every room. Most rooms have their own sunporch from which you can watch the boats being launched at the port, and the whale spouting here and there. We have a totally relaxing two days in a comfortable room, which was clean and nice. Fortunately, we were there without next door neighbors for the first night, and the new arrivals settled in early, because I think the rooms are not as soundproof as one might wish. Can't beat the views, tho!

Room Tip: Look online--they have pictures of each type of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The south Oregon coast is gorgeous and my room had a wonderful view to take advantage of this. I stayed two nights and could easily have stayed longer. This motel is older, but it was clean and comfortable. My room was large with its own sun porch and carport. One of the best amenities is the area with the ice machine. It is very cozy with flowering plants, a collection of jigsaw puzzles, books and magazines to take back to your room, all making your visit more enjoyable. The host is helpful and friendly and has great knowledge of the Port Orford area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a secret hideaway that shares the most gorgeous views with you in your well appointed unit. Rockne is a great host and can fill you in on what to do. Also try Redfish Grill, it is amazing.
Port Orford is the perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed one night. The view was excellent. This is an old facility, but well maintained. The proprietor is exceptional. So helpful. The bed wasn't very comfortable, but it was clean and cozy. Probably the best view from a lodging on the Oregon coast. Didn't see any wildlife down by the water - missed seeing whales!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this by chance on traveling down the Pacific coast and was our favourite so we stayed 2 nights. The view is gorgeous and the port interesting where the fishing boats are lifted out by cranes. Griffs cafe on the port lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway By the Sea

Address: 545 West 5th, PO Box 844, Port Orford, OR 97465
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway By the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.